We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every visit gets better and better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sanibel, Fl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Every visit gets better and better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We LOVE the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous! The staff is spot on, from valets and bellboys to front desk. All seem to be greatly invested in YOUR wonderful experience at the property.

The waterfront rooms are a must have. Open the sliding glass doors and experience the sounds, breeze and spectacular sights of Monterey Bay.

Room service food is not like the cold cardboard at most hotels, it is prompt, hot, delicious and elegantly served. If I had to choose a last meal, it might be the eggs Benedict with the finely cut crispy potatoes, a side of ripe local fruit and a little pot of perfectly brewed coffee.

Schooner's Restaurant is terrific with spectacular views and outdoor dining on the bay. The Spa is world class. All of this right next to Big Sur! My recommendation, GO!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,958
    379
    105
    60
    30
See reviews for
646
1166
76
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Absolute luxury in a most stunning property. Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa absolutely deserves the number 1 Trip Advisor spot. Delightful staff and service was second to none. Schooners restaurant was superb. We look forward to returning here again in the future but would definitely stay longer. Congratulations to Management and staff on making this as sensational as it is.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years back on a trip up the coast. This is a special hotel and one that you would never forget visiting. We were awakened by the sound of Sea Lions in the morning which was amazing along with the views. The service was top and the spa also, overall a supreb place

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Monterey Plaza this past weekend. The property is located right on the water overlooking Monterey Bay. Fantastic views, and great watching the otters and seals play in the ocean. The rooms are great, beds comfortable and nice decor. Schooners restarant has great food for all. My daughter had a blast. We ventured over to the Aquarium which is a short scenic walk along cannery row. This hotel is perfect for a Monterey get away.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at this hotel (our third visit). Without exception, the staff members were polite and helpful. We ate both lunch and dinner at the restaurant. The food was delicious. We visited the spa each day, enjoying both the workout area and outdoor pool. Finally, the massage was excellent. We would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

exceptional staff, exceptional facilities. the restaurant was exceptional as well. they do not over look a single detail. they are uber friendly and resourceful. thank you so much for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: our room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasanton
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I took my daughter to the Monterey Plaza and the Monterey Bay Aquarium over the February 1st weekend. In short, we had a blast. She loved the ocean view room, the sea otters playing in the bay below, the giant luxury robe and - most of all - the breakfast room service that arrived in 20 minutes (promised in 25 - don't think I've ever had room service arrive that quickly!).

We ate dinner on Friday night at Schooners, the restaurant onsite at the hotel, which I highly recommend. It doesn't feel "touristy" at all (unlike the rest of Cannery Row). Menu is heavy on fresh seafood (which we loved), and we sat outside for the first part of dinner (until it got too cold).

Really can't point out any flaws in the Monterey Plaza. Great hotel, kid-friendly, easy walking distance to the Aquarium. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.