We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just had a mother-daughter birthday celebration over the weekend. I had stayed at the hotel since it opened numerous times over the years for business and pleasure but hadn't been back for a few years. I had forgotten how wonderful it is! The staff couldn't had been friendlier. The rooms are clean and beautifully-appointed. The beds are very comfortable and the sheets are divine. The comfy bathrobes are a very nice touch. We had a room with a view of the bay and enjoyed listening to the surf at night. The room was spacious and the bathroom a good size as well. We had two breakfasts and a dinner at Schooners and couldn't have been happier. We are regular visitors to the area and have a lot of favorite restaurants but were glad we opted to stay in and go to Schooners on our first night. The fish was fresh, the side dishes delicious and the service and ambiance were stellar. Our meal was actually superior to a famous restaurant we dined at the following night. We enjoyed drinks in the lobby listening to the pianist one night. The immaculate health club was one of the best in recent memory - dramatic water views and state-of-the-art equipment. Next time we plan to have a spa treatment and soak in the beautiful spa. The location is quite convenient for enjoying the stunning waterfront. We took several long walks, a surrey ride and a bike ride. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,058
    393
    108
    61
    30
See reviews for
668
1,239
78
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel is situated at east end of Cannery Row, away from the crowds. Excellent location, good food and service. Ocean view room was perfect. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for a night this week. (We had enjoyed our honeymoon at this hotel two years ago.) What a FABULOUS hotel in an idyllic setting. What could be more picturesque!!! Wonderful, well appointed rooms, stylish, immaculately clean rooms, and fluffy towels, comfortable bath robes, and room amenities, great staff and service - and of course, the location with one of the greatest views! The rooms with a full view are pricey - but for special times, worth every penny. We will be back. This hotel is one of my all time favorites - especially for a romantic getaway! Thank you.

Room Tip: You can request rooms with a larger balcony - and of course, rooms with a view are a must for this a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very comfortable and beautiful hotel. Staff are all very friendly and accommodating. Lots of little extras to make guests feel welcome and special. The spa is very relaxing with gorgeous views. The food in both restaurants was great. Loved having Peets coffee instead of the usual brand. Rooms are very clean with all the needed amenities. I would highty recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are wonderful - the hotel has great deals in the off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

First of all, I wanted to personally thank Necessiti and Armando in the Lost and Found for their follow up in finding our shirts we accidentally left behind in our room. What a wonderful team who cares!

Our corner room view was amazing with the windows directly facing the water! Stunning!!! The personalized service with our anniversary celebration amenities was a nice added touch to their attention to details. I only wished we had a huge bath tub to enjoy in the room.

The vanity area next to the bathroom made it very convenient for the ladies to get dolled up. The Schooners restaurant was delicious and our servers were extremely friendly too.

We will definitely share with family, friends, and return back to the beautiful views of Monterrey Plaza!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Monterey Plaza Hotel is fantastic and it's situated so well you can walk one direction to the aquarium & shops and the other direction to the wharf and you're not at either end with a long walk, perfect! Also the decor is luxe but comfortable and the staff must have excellent working conditions & training because everyone is so friendly, relaxed and helpful (or they know how to hire people who are that way naturally). If you sign up for their emails, you will get great discount offers and that would be a good time to try them out if you need to be watchful of your money. Sitting in the great room off the lobby, gazing at the ocean with your beverage of choice and taking in the sea air is relaxing when you're not out on their Plaza area, which has a a dolphin fountain and huge fire pit and restaurant outdoor seating etc. Someone gave me a Woodside Hotel group gift card and I used it to help pay for my stay-the best gift! Being by the ocean here and at this property is healing and healthy and relaxing (even with families).

Room Tip: If you can afford an ocean view room, great, but staying in any room works because you have the who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a great hotel! Service was first class, the rooms were gorgeous, clean comfortable. We had a wonderful. romantic and breath taking view of the ocean on our patio, right on Monterey Bay! The hotel staff was impressive in their level of service. Definitely got the correct amount of service for the price. Had all of the amenities one would need. No need to walk anywhere if you don't, the car service was plentiful. I will definitley be visitng again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.