We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Serenity at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have stayed at the Monterey Plaza many times over the last 25 years, 1st time in 1987 when under a different management. The hotel provides a wonderful experience, didn't want to leave, with very well appointed rooms and attentive staff. The location can't be beat and there is nothing better than being lulled to sleep by the sounds of the sea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,831
    350
    100
    58
    29
See reviews for
587
1090
75
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the years and it's a lovely place. You can often get great deals if it's not High Season and some include Aquarium tickets. Always ask!

My 2 caveats are these: 1)They have a very nice Fitness area and outdoor hot tub which looks out on the Bay but can only be used if you are 18 or older. I understand the rationale for this, but since we have 2 teenagers, it was a negative for us. We would have liked to have known this beforehand. Apparently there is a Sports Center in town which families can pay to use, but that was inconvenient. We had looked forward to working out and hot tubbbing together so it was a bit of a disappointment.
2) The restaurant was being remodeled when we were here so I shall try to be kind about the food. The breakfast was good, the lunch so-so. We had one dinner with service so bad that we ended up laughing about it, because it was so ludicrous. The Manager did come over and apologize and gave us free desserts so he did try to do the right thing. I can't really assess how it would be under normal circumstances, but I am just giving you fair warning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
95448
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our second visit to the Monterey Plaza and just as lovely as our first visit. A view of the Bay where we spotted playful sea otters. Impeccably cleaned with pleasing colors and amenities. Everyone used our name so it was very personal. A pleasant walk to the Aquarium along Cannery Row. The hotel limo took us to and from our restaurant so I didn't have to try to drive. Wow.

Room Tip: Bay view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Professional, friendly and personalized service - a great value. Stayed in ocean view accessible king with balcony due to other postings and was definitely worth it. A lovely, sun-warmed room was very appropriate for a December visit and we had a beautiful view of the plaza and bay. The room and furnishings were immaculate and we were completely at home. The staff made us feel very welcome and took the time to ask questions so that they might help us with our activities - without us needing to ask. Definitley will return.

Room Tip: You'll need to ask for extra pillows. I'll pass this on to others - get an oceanview room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here a few nights over the Christmas holiday. It's in a great location for walking everywhere. Far enough away from Cannery Row but close enough to walk to Aquarium and restaurants at the wharf. The hot tub was amazing looking our over the Pacific. The rooms were very nice but overall the place is somewhat tired. The housekeeping staff comes twice a day...the ladies work really hard. Make sure you tip these gals people!! Tons of valet and bellman...long lines at the desk. I can't really put my finger on why it seems tired.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great service except for checking in, we had to wait for our room to be available--beware that 4 pm is check in time! Other than that, fantastic! Nice room, nice bathroom, a bit small, but nice. Can walk to everything in town. The Spa was nice--we should have been hanging out there more--but oh well! Schooners, had really wonderful food, we has our fill of delicious crab!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel and spa. Staff was friendly and nice and we felt like "guests!" this is our 3rd annual post-holiday trip to Monterey Plaza hotel and we always have such a great time . The Spa is fanatastic - Martha was so welcoming and friendly - offering suggestiong to make our visit relaxing and made us feel special. Sara was an amazing massagage therapist and the treament was a terrific treat! We dined in Schooners for lunch and dinner and it was very good - the servers were friendly and recognized us from the previous day - it was just very comfortable and welcoming.
Can't beat the location and the ocean right there - so beautiful from the rooms and to take a good walk around. We will make next year the 4th annual for sure!

Room Tip: rooms over the plaza patio area are a little more "noisy " in that you see/hear people usi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.