We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip with some personal time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Business trip with some personal time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is one of my favorite and most memorable stays. Beautiful location, very convenient, walking distance to nice shops, stores, and restaurants. Beautiful dedicated walking and biking path that stretches miles along side ocean views. As you're walking make sure to take pictures, lots of beautiful scenic ocean views, you see whales. If you are able, make sure to get an ocean view room with full patio access. It feels like you're sitting on top of the ocean. At the hotel restaurant and from our room patio you can see the otters eating. I can watch them for hours, where one otter was very entertaining. During our stay we saw Paul Allen's (co-founder of Microsoft) yacht 'Octopus' docked close to our hotel with a helicopter parked on it. Beautiful hotel, nice staff, and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get ocean views with full balcony. We left our patio doors open during our sleep and the loud sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    396
    111
    61
    30
See reviews for
678
1,248
79
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel sits directly on the Monterey Bay, and has great outdoor spaces to enjoy the water. I especially LOVED the binoculars in my room, which allowed me to view seals, cormorants, pelicans, and even a seagull eating a starfish. My room furnishings, bedding and bathroom were contemporary, and exceptionally clean. My plan included breakfast at the Schooner's Coastal Kitchen, which was fresh and delicious both mornings, and the service was very good. There was light rain, and this hotel is a little bit farther away from Cannery Row than some others, so I had to drive everywhere, instead of walking. A couple of minor drawbacks: they initially didn't tell me that on top of my room rate, there was a $25 mandatory resort fee - but it did include valet parking; from the lobby, I had to go down to a lower level, walk through the hotel and then back up in another area to reach my room, which was cumbersome; they charged my credit card for a one-night "Advance Deposit" at the time of reservation - a full month before I arrived.

Room Tip: Half the fun of this area is being able to see the Bay, you need to request (and pay extra for) a Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The service we received during our stay at the Plaza was exceptional. From the moment we arrived, the valet was professional and eager to please. We were checked-in promptly and quickly assisted by a professional at the bellhop counter named Johnny Segovia. He provided us with a map and several recommendations for local tourist attractions and made it his priority to ensure our stay would exceed any expectations. The ocean front room was beyond expectations and the hotel's restaurant, Schooners, was stellar. Without a doubt we will return.

Room Tip: Ocean front room is a must! Waves crashing and sean lions barking, beautiful sounds to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Beautiful Hotel & view of the ocean magnificant...
Staff was very helpful & friendly.
First night there, front desk had Chocolate covered strawberries & champagne delivered to our room for our Anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for Ocean View Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Due to a remodeling project @ home- we 'locals' were forced to 'move out' for a couple of nights. First -tried Hyatt Monterey ...DO NOT!!! rude, overpriced, dirty etc Spa? ha! Did I say RUDE??Rude on the phone, rude in person, abrupt ANYWAY - we tried the Monterey Plaza Hotel. Amazing. and this IS a real SPA/resort. On the waters edge -beautiful inside and out. WONDERFUL, pleasant staff, lovely rooms. All going out of their way to make your stay comfortable.Restaurant staff -the same (Schooners). Again - we live here and have for many years. Ate @ Schooners BOtH evenings.Excellent!Who knew? Well, we do and so will all of our friends and family. And thank you to Mark in reservations! A joy. Felt like a mini vaca.(unfortunately -no time to use the amazing spa. Next time and there will be a next time!)

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of a room facing the couryard - just as lovely as the rest. And quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa is a great place to relax, enjoy the crashing waves and a beautiful resort. The outdoor fire feature is just perfect to cuddle after dinner. The indoor fire place is a great place to read a good book and enjoy a glass of wine.

Room Tip: If you like loud waves ask for a first floor room ...a little less of nature ask for an upper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed 1 night at the Plaza.

Check-in was great. It can be a little confusing getting to your room (it involved 2 elevators, and 2 long hallways- not a huge deal).

I had an ocean view king with a small balcony.

THe room was fantastic! Great bed, very nice decor. The balcony had 2 chairs, and a small table. It was small, but it was great sitting out there in the morning with coffee. Also, great to sleep with the sliding door open and listen to the ocean (they have sliding screens to keep out the bugs!)

Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful.

My only complaint is the gym/spa. You have to pay for access (either a la carte, or resort fee). The hours were somewhat limited (which was a bummer). Also, I believe they had precor equipment (I think Life Fitness is better/nicer, but maybe just my opinion). Overall it was ok, but not as nice as I expected when having to pay for access to it in addition to paying for the room!

The one great thing about the spa is the location on the top floor. THere is an outdoor seating area with 2 whirlpools overlooking the ocean! (but again, I think they close at 8pm!)

Location: FANTASTIC for walking. On the south end of cannery row (away from the noise), but a very quick walk to restaurants, bars, etc. The cannery row brewing co was only 3 blocks away. You can also walk to old town Monterey, which was about a 15 minute walk.

All in all, I think the Plaza location beats out the Intercontinental (north end of cannery row), and the Marriott (in old town, not oceanfront).

Great stay!

Room Tip: It might be worth it to pay for an ocean front room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.