We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Everything about this place is awesome. First, I travel a considerable amount and don't think I have ever experienced better service anywhere. From the valet parking attendants when we drove up to the bellman at check out, everyone went out of their way to be helpful. We ate in the restaurant, we used the spa, we visited the coffee shop, we asked for directions and EVERYONE we encountered was just as helpful as could be.
Second, the room was great. We had a balcony room overlooking the water and thoroughly enjoyed the sounds of the waves crashing and the sea otters below. The room was super clean, a decent size and very well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby. Some reviewers commented about the property being noisy but we did not experience that at all, even with two weddings going on.

Third, the spa. Wow. We floated out after our wonderful and relaxing treatments and really didn't want to leave. We stayed and enjoyed the hot tubs and sauna and watched the sunset. The view was really, really nice.

This hotel is in the perfect location. We were able to walk down Cannery Row and do a bit of shopping. We also found a few good restaurants for breakfast and lunch nearby outside of the hotel. We didn't need to move the car at all.

I can't say enough about this place. It was outstanding all around, starting with Andrea and reservations who booked the room and our spa treatments for us. Thank you and I honestly cannot wait to return. This is service the way it should be done.

Room Tip: If you can, book a room over the water, preferably one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,864
    358
    101
    58
    29
See reviews for
604
1103
75
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was traveling to Monterey for a conference at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. So I figured why not make the commute simple, so I booked a room at the hotel. Upon arrival, the friendly bell staff assisted in taking my luggage to the room. To be specific, the gentleman's name was John. He gave a detailed explanation of the all the amenities the hotel had to offer including but not limited to spa treatments, workout facilities, campus layout, and even his favorite dish at the restaurant downstairs. He suggested Angry Prawns. Believe me, and his suggestion... They were outstanding. A classical touch of chili and garlic agonized every taste bud. Throughout my stay John always made a point to go the extra mile.

The room had a spectacular view of the bay and every morning it was peaceful to watch the sea otters frolic upon the kelp beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My company had a sales meeting at the Monterey Plaza. First, they did an excellent job with the meeting, every aspect was handled in a unobtrusive and professional manner. No glitches.

The hotel itself is low key, yet very attractive. The views over the Monterey bay are spectacular and since the hotel literally sits directly on the water, there is plenty of wild life to see (and hear...the seals were very vocal). The service was friendly and efficient. The food was very good.

It was a great place for both a meeting as well as a couple getaway (my wife accompanied my on this trip).

The location is perfection. For golfers, there is Pebble Beach and a number of other courses in the vicinity. For the outdoors types, there are hiking trails and hidden beaches (Pfieffer for one) that are major attractions. Simply a beautiful, bountiful area.

The only slight glitch is catching a cab on a friday morning. Cabs seemed to run a bit late on a rainy friday morning...which is a busy time. But, no big deal.

I should also note, that there are numerous restaurants in the vicinity ranging from casual to upscale.

A great place.

Room Tip: If you want a great view of the bay, choose suite 1301/1302. It's a corner suite that provides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I just got back from a 3 day stay at the Plaza. Just like our previous stays everything was excellent. The hotel staff has been the same for many years and it is nice when you arrive and they remember your name. Susan in reservations was an absolute pleasure to work with, she handled our request and was able to get us our favorite room, she took care of spa reservations for us so we had one less thing to worry about. The ocean view rooms with a balcony are great. You can have the doors to the balcony open at night so you can listen to the waves. We have been going to the Plaza for over 6 years. It is by far our favorite hotel on the coast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My adult daughter and I planned a Mommy-Daughter weekend in Monterey because we won't be together during the holidays. I cannot say enough good things about our hotel, The Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa! The service was 5 star PLUS! Everyone was so friendly and helpful! Our room was incredible with gorgeous views of the bay! The concierge went out of his way to get restaurant reservations for us and arrange a shuttle to transport us! The Schooner Restaurant was delicious for both lunch AND dinner. The piano bar was perfect for a nightcap! Amazing entertainment! The bike path is nearby for an early morning run (for my daughter) or walk (for me!) This hotel was THE BEST! I will dream about coming back again!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel several times before in an ocean view room. This time we could not get an ocean view, so we took the inland view. The room was up to hotel standards, but I really missed hearing the waves at night and the seagulls in the morning. (I tried hard to get an upgrade but they were sold out.)

We really missed the Duck Club restaurant! They remodeled and changed the Duck Club in to Schooners, which is an extension of their bar. It was a more causal atmosphere.

Make sure to rent a bike and a kayak at Adventures by the Sea which is right across the street. If you go kayaking, go in he morning when there's no wind and the wildlife is active.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is absolutely top of the line! The furnishings were exquisite and the views were absolutely breathtaking. The bed was also outstanding! I had the best night's sleep I've had in a while. I was treated like royalty, and every staff member went out of their way to be accommodating. They were also extremely professional and have that "can do" attitude. I definitely plan to make it a priority to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey
Luxury, Pool, F...
Show More
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 53 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#4 of 53 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 53 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.