We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, relaxation & luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Views, relaxation & luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Enjoyed an indulgent weekend at the Monterey Plaza Hotel with my waterfront room and balcony. Room was luxurious, spacious and so comfortable. I could spend hours watching the kayaks and boats from my balcony.

The spa has a fabulous roof top outdoor jacuzzi with water views, outdoor terrace and fireplace. It is the perfect place to relax before or after a spa treatment. Speaking of relaxation, the massage was amazing. The masseuse managed to relieve all of the sore muscles while leaving me relaxed and ready for a nap. The fitness center has views of the bay and is a nice place to exercise if you are feeling energetic.

The hotel has lots of outdoor space with several levels of plazas with lots of seating to enjoy the views. At night there is a fire pit and comfortable seating. The restaurants have delicious menus and a nice selection. You could spend your entire time visiting Monterey at the hotel and not want to leave -- and have a phenomenal time relaxing. It is close to Cannery Row, the Aquarium and walking trails that lead all the way to Pebble Beach.

Room Tip: Go for a water view room - it makes the stay so much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    396
    111
    61
    30
See reviews for
678
1,248
79
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay! The room was nice and clean .... THE VIEW WAS THE BEST!!
Being local we usually do not stay ..but let me say it was well worth it !!! I would also say if you love wine you should stop by Carmel Ridge Tasting room.. The Syrah is to die for and many of the local restaurants do not charge cork fee to take your favorite bottle to dinner :) OR 2 ....

Room Tip: did not use pool or spa we were visiting with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We come to Monterey for the weekend a couple a times a year; it's beautiful, not too far (a couple of hours for us), very unique and -- the key for me -- Laguna Seca is the venue for some superb "Track Days". We have stayed in several hotels around here (you can check out my review of the one just up the street right here on TripAdvisor) and the Plaza is by far the best in every possible way: the Views are jaw-droppingly beautiful (nothing like waking up to a beautiful sunrise right off your window; there is plenty of great wildlife just off the window too: birds, seals, otters), the rooms are nicely sized, the restaurant is excellent, the service superb... It is expensive and the decor a little dated (new LCD TVs though) but it is worth every penny and to be quite honest the decor matches the vintage feel of Monterey as a whole, i.e. good vintage. Lots of History to this place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean view, for sure. And if you splurge, for a bit more get the corner ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Monterey Plaza Hotel was phenomenal! It was beautiful and our room overlooked the water. We left our door open at night to hear the water and the seals. I felt I was in another country. Every encounter with the staff, from the front desk to the valets to the waiters was exceptional. They want to make your stay perfect. We love our food and both restuarants were very good. The room, a king with balconey, was very very nice. I'm pretty picky about accomodations and these were outstanding. The robes, were a nice touch! Thank you TripAdvisor! I used your info for each outing and it was spot on!! On this trip it was just my husband and I (51 yrs old). It was perfect!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Fantastic quality hotel, great views and wonderful service.

Pros:
Friendly, helpful and polite staff. Amazing views from the hotel, we opted for the sea view upgrade which we would highly recommend. If you do not chose this however there are plenty of places in the hotel/bar where you can catch the view, including a heated fire pit outside with sofas.
Beautiful, but small roof top spa with jacuzzi
Free valet parking and free Wifi.
Great restaurant with knowledgeable staff and interesting menu.

Cons: None

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Everything about this hotel states Comfort. The rooms are generous, beds are extremely comfortable, and the hotel services (and staff) are professional, warm, and knowledgeable. Our concierge staff members were among the best I've experienced, always wanting to make sure our questions were answered, always willing to give special tips for first-time visitors. The bellboy that took our luggage was also knowledgeable, friendly, and able to give us some helpful hints.

The hotel property photo doesn't lie. It is really that amazing of a view. The location has to be among the best in Monterey.

A couple of helpful hints:

* The hotel has only valet parking, which we found very convenient, but may not be so to others.
* The location of the hotel is in Cannery Row, with an easy and pleasant walk to the Wharf in one direction and the Aquarium in the other.
* The hotel does not have a pool.
* The fitness center offers good equipment -- above the average hotel (free weights, specialty benches). The fitness center has a great view of the bay, so you can be on the treadmill while watching and listening to the sea lions.
* The restaurant Schooners offers good, solid food. A bit overpriced, but not any more than most hotel restaurants. And the views are worth the $$.

Our room location wasn't great -- 1412-1416, right over the service truck entrance and overlooking a not-so-nice empty lot. Avoid it if possible; I will when I return, and will definitely pay the extra $$ for the ocean view. That's really the only reason I didn't give the property five stars.

A few suggestions -- I was disappointed that there were no lounge chairs on the deck. I would have enjoyed reading a book with that view in the background. Also, we didn't see any mention of the resort fee; at $25, it wasn't a big deal, but I just don't like surprises. We were told it was for use of the spa (which we didn't plan to use) and other services. It was, however, an appropriate fee for the valet service, and the valets were another wonderful part of the experience. I also found the spa prices to be a bit high compared to other resort properties I've visited, so elected not to use them.

All in all, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and plan to go back.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Driving down from San Francisco we needed a hotel for only one night,we checked Trip Advisor and came across this hotel.The reception we got from Front of House,Valet,Bell boys through to Staff at Schooners and Piano lounge was superb.
The room we had was well appointed with little touches,such as bathrobes,and excellent bed linen,bath towels.
The bed was one of the most comfortable we had ever slept in.
It was a pity we could only stay one night,We would highly recommend this to everyone.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.