We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stouffville
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for 2 nights. Check in fast & friendly. The bellman helped my husband to get a tee off time at either Pebble Beach/Spy Glass Golf Course. Since booking the same day you would have thought that would be impossible but they acquired a time for him. The car was always there before we were. So friendly & helpful. While my husband was golfing I went to the spa floor, a must!!! Two hot tubs; firepit & lots of sunshine. There is a cold water canteen with lemons/limes. The girls from the spa came out & told me I could get a drink or a menu brought out & they would place the order for me. That was also available. The spa services were great, I had a manicure. As soon as I entered the spa room a hot pack for stress was placed on my neck during the manicure. The rooms were extremely clean, including the bathroom. The balcony (good size) overlooked the bay and a sitting area which I enjoyed later to read a book. One restuarant Schooners, we had breakfast both mornings, amazing. We had a great waiter obviously he loved his job!!! I wish I knew his name. Lots of shopping & restaurant, but we arrived late & most were closed. Alway Johnny Rocket Diner & it was great! Definiately we would go back!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony overlooking the bay & leave open at night & listen to the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing! I love hearing reviews where our guest's have gotten to experience so much of what we offer here at the Monterey Plaza. Can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    397
    111
    61
    30
See reviews for
679
1,247
79
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oakland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our two night stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel was positively delightful. My compliments to whomever it is that trains the staff. Each and everyone, from concierge to housekeeping, was courteous, helpful and extremely friendly. The property itself is spectacular. Rooms are very nicely done and the ocean views are spectacular. Meeting rooms for the business part of our trip were well staffed and very comfortable, Location lends itself to lots of exploration: Monterey Bay Aquarium, fabulous restaurants nearby, including those in the hotel, biking, golf, and lots more. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa for 3 days/2 nights. We traded a room on the street side to the much partial oceanview for $75 more, what a difference! This side gave us a commanding view of the bay and the local environs. The rooms are nicely-furnished and beds are very comfortable. There's only one restaurant on the premises, Schooners, but it is excellent and highly-recommended. There's a Starbucks for a quick breakfast sandwich that is OK, nothing special. The staff is relatively well-trained and courteous. Check-in was easy. The rooms are medium-sized, not too small. It was very nice opening the window and hearing the seagulls and ocean waves. The smell of the salty air was invigorating and relaxing. There is a large seating area with a gas fire that makes for a very nice, cozy place to sit and relax while enjoying the view of the bay.

Overall, a very pleasant stay.

We did not avail ourselves of the spa services but saw many people going there.

Room Tip: Get a partial or full oceanview room. Avoid the street side facing Cannery Row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Even if you don’t work out, go to the roof top spa and sit outside by the two hot tubs and fireplace, for a great view and to soak up the sun. We got upgraded to an ocean view room and loved it. The bedroom and bathroom were top quality. With the windows open we could smell the ocean and hear the waves crashing against the shore beneath us. Binoculars are provided to watch the otters, sea lions, dolphins, and various birds. We saw the sunrise out our window at 7 a.m. and a beautiful full moon at night. There is free valet service, and they park your car in a garage across the street. Call ahead your car will be ready when you get to the entrance. The location is convenient to walk to Fisherman’s Wharf, Cannery Row, The Monterey Aquarium, and lots of shops and restaurants. The only thing I didn’t like was the pillows – they are like a pile of clay.

Room Tip: If you don't like the smell of the ocean or the sound of the waves, don't get an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband is disabled and dealing with cancer. Our stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa allowed him space to enjoy his grandchildren, the bay's wonderful seafood and time to rest. While he rested, the family enjoyed the beach, the bike trail and many other ammenities of Monterey. The staff handled all of our needs with grace and kindness. Thank you for a memorable get away for us all. The Tribbles

Room Tip: Beautiful sunrises from east facing view rooms. Great views of the bay and wildlife out the north e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a conference this past weekend. Actually, two conferences, mine at this hotel, his downtown. Everything was 5 star. The service was pleasant, attentive and unobtrusive. The room had a bay view (they modestly called it "partial" but the bay was visible from anywhere in the room. Lounging areas, and especially outdoor patio areas, were so lovely it was hard to come back inside for the conference business.
Easy walk to anywhere along Cannery Row and easy and beautiful walk to downtown Monterey. Made a 3 day conference feel like a 2 week vacation. Ahhhhh......

Room Tip: The slightly higher price for a water view room is totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington,Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom suite and had an amazing time the location is spectacular the view the room the customer service food spa everything was AMAZING!! I would stay there 10 times over!! Extremely pleased!! It was my besties 40th they brought us complimenatry fruit cheese and wine and catered to our every whim! The customer service was remarkable!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, come back visit us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.