We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Monterey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best in Monterey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for four nights and wish it could have been more. The staff was very helpful. The parking attendants were very friendly and efficient. We had no difficulty getting our car in and out when needed. An added benefit that we were not expecting was free parking for our guest who was staying for the day. She arrived and we weren't sure where she could park her car, as we were planning on using our car to drive to Carmel and Big Sur. The attendant let us know that she could park in the hotel garage without charge. A welcome surprise. The hotel is located right on the water within walking distance to most of the major attractions, including Fisherman's wharf and the Aquarium.which are a must see. We chose to stay in one of the Garden Patio rooms located in the Spa building thanks to a previous reviewer's recommendation. Thanks for that tip! . It was a great choice for us. We sat outside our room each morning and evening enjoying the quiet and beauty of the spot. Our room was in a corner of the patio, The patio rooms had no water view but we had lots of opportunities to view the water from the many different areas of the hotel property. The room itself was very clean, lovely and large, the same size as the waterfront rooms, but a lot less expensive. The comfortable bedding made for a great nights sleep. Being in the Spa building had an added benefit for me as I used the fitness center, located in the building ,early each morning. The fitness center was large with enough equipment that there was no wait. The views of the water while working out were a bonus! Needless to say if we are going to be in the area again we would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are looking at other hotels because this is too pricey think again. The rooms in the Spa bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,413
    451
    124
    68
    32
See reviews for
824
1,422
87
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MEXICO CITY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The rooms were great and the staff so very helpful. The beds were WONDERFUL. The rooms were really elegant. The location is ideal. The restaurant was so-so. There seemed to be only one waitress for the entire area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa this weekend. We went to celebrate my 40th birthday and all I can say is that the hotel was FABULOUS!!! The staff was friendly and helpful from the start of our stay to the end of our stay! The hotel even sent a special birthday gift to our room! Our room was clean, comfortable, and had the BEST view! We had breakfast and dinner in Schooner's Kitchen and Bar and it was delicious both times, with excellent staff who made sure everything was to our satisfaction. We had went to the Vista Blu Spa for several treatments and loved every second we were there! Again...the staff was amazing the entire time! We can't wait to go back, this hotel is amazing and the staff made sure our stay was perfect!!

Room Tip: We had an Ocean Parlor which was a corner suite with 4 balconies directly over the water. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I'm happy that you were able to experience all aspects of our hotel during your stay, especially our amazing staff! I'd like to wish you a happy birthday and thank you for choosing us your destination hotel. Come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

loved this hotel, we arrived without a reservation and were so happy to find this place.
location is great and the hotel is beautiful. sat outside at the firepit with wine the last night
we were there. Great location and rates. the staff could not have been more helpful.
ate at scooners one night and the food was fabulous. We will be returning.

Room Tip: 3431 across the street was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived at this hotel in our hire car on the last part of our holiday. I'm sure the intention is to be helpful but actually I felt rushed to get out of the car so that it could be moved to the hotel parking down the road. Once inside the check in was efficient but so much information was reeled off so quickly that I couldn't take half of it in.

We had booked a room without sea view. This turned out to be across the road via the walkway - it was quite a long walk from reception, about as far as you could go. We were very happy with the room - it was large with a nice mirror area just outside the bathroom. The bed was huge and very comfortable. From our window we could partially see the sea across the road but we mainly overlooked cannery row. We did not experience any noise at night.

The weather wasn't great during our two night stay, a little afternoon sun but not enough, mainly cloudy and chilly. The back of the main hotel building didn't appear to get any sun during our stay, only the annex on the left hand side. A sea view would, in our opinion, have been a waste of money, because without the sun the view wasn't particularly attractive.

The hotel is within walking distance of all the attractions in Monterey but a couple of nights was enough here. We did get an invitation to a wine reception in the spa which was pleasant though we struggled to find our way there - there's a sign outside the building but once inside there are no directions to the spa.

There were lots of business events taking place during our stay and I think this is where the hotel is concentrating its main focus.

Room Tip: More likely to enjoy the sunshine in the building on the left of reception overlooking the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We got a room on the fourth floor to be more quiet but the patio plaza level acts as an echo chamber and shoots all the sounds, even regular conversations up to these upper rooms. If you want to sleep with the doors open it makes it too loud because of that. Otherwise very nice rooms and service. Good workout room but only opens at 6am. Service very nice. Schooner restaurant pricey and we had a moldy smelling area that ruined my meal. Don't let them seat you in back left corner!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear KW2011,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the Trip Advisor community regarding your most recent stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Feedback from our guests always provides the details we need to improve on our service and product quality.

We pride ourselves on the premier service and accommodations that the Plaza is known for and when we fail to meet our guest's expectations, we do not take these matters lightly. I would like to apologize for the excessive noise you experienced throughout your stay and any inconvenience this may have caused. I have also taken note of your issue with a foul odor in our dining area. I have looked into this issue personally and it has been addressed. Again, I apologize for these issues and also thank you for the positive remarks you provided regarding your recent stay.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President / General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our second visit to the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa and it does not disappoint. Service by everyone was again outstanding...friendly and professional. (it's a fine line to walk).

Because our trip was unexpected and our reservation was made last minute...the hotel was pretty well booked, so the room we were given had no balcony BUT a lovely garden/patio view. The room itself was absolutely spotlessly clean. (details details!). WiFi worked perfectly and I was able to use my iPad to stream movies, music etc with no problems. We ordered a lovely dinner brought to our room...My husband had chicken speciality and I had the steak with all the trimmings. Both excellently prepared. I have serious food allergies, but kitchen staff handled all our special request with no problem.

We used the Spa (really lovely services & views) WiFi (works perfect) Valet parking (which is so convenient) so we have no problem with the resort fee. To be clear, I wish there wasn't one...but since there is, I'm glad you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#4 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
2.2 mi away
Unscripted Monterey Bay
Unscripted Monterey Bay
#38 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.