We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

While traveling the CA coast with my friend, we stopped here to enjoy the spa. The views are breathtaking and the spa is supurb! This is a relaxing place for a get-away with the girls or a romantic place to enjoy with someone special. Just a short walk to the quaint downtown, go to the Monterey Bay Marine Sanctuary or do some wine tasting. This is a socially responsible hotel, which makes you feel as good as going to their spa! Don't forget to enjoy the sea lions just off your balcony!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room choice here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,902
    367
    103
    58
    29
See reviews for
625
1128
75
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a beautiful, luxurious hotel that literally sits on the ocean. We stayed here with our 5 and 3 year old and I was a little worried that it might not be the best place for kids, but I didn't have to worry about that. We pulled up on the day we arrived and there were a lot of staff helping everyone unload their luggage and valet their cars (the valet fee is already included in the resort fee that you have to pay, so you might as well park here). We arrived early and were able to check-in even though our room wasn't ready yet. They took down my cell number and said they would call me when the room was ready. That allowed us to leave all our luggage there and take a walk down to the aquarium which took about 10 minutes or so. The hotel itself is quite stunning from the beautiful lobby to the classic, elegant rooms with extremely comfortable beds. The main restaurant has panoramic views of the ocean. We ate breakfast there and the kids even spotted a sea otter who was swimming in and out of the water. The restaurant had a kids menu with crayons, so that was a pleasant surprise. Overall, I think I would enjoy coming back here with just my wife, so that we could experience the spa and other adult friendly amenities, but I wouldn't hesitate to bring my whole family back here either. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our stay was excellent, my family enjoyed the city and the hotel. This was very nice amd we liked it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

This was my first experience at this hotel and I can't wait to go back. The grounds and rooms were beautiful, clean, and had views that would take your breadth away. Everyday we saw otters and seals from our ocean view room which I would highly recommend. The staff were professional and very helpful. They treated everyone like a VIP guest! I don't think I would ever consider staying anywhere else in the area!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience! It's nice to hear we've got another loyal fan, can't wait to welcome you back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

WOW. A terrific property in every way. Our partial ocean view room and lockout ended up being over the ocean with views in three directions. The location was fantastic, right on Cannery Row with bike and jogging trail, sea lions, otters, spa, fitness, easy access to 17 mile drive and Carmel, 10 minute walk to Monterey pier! You cannot ask for more, service was great, too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I had chosen this hotel in part to celebrate our 50th but also to join our son as he played in the Audi Quattro Golf tournament at Pebble Beach and Spanish Bay. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Besides being so close to so many "things to do", the hotel service was really great. Special thanks to Concierge Hillary who resolved a medical supply issue for us when our Illinois provider couldn't. Schooners is a great place to have a drink on the deck or a meal. The fitness center is one of the better ones I've used at any hotel. The hotel staff, however, sets this hotel apart from the rest. Our room had a balcony overlooking the bay and on our last morning, we saw the SUNRISE over the bay, what a memorable stay at this Mediterranean style facility.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the bay and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Our staff is our best asset! Thanks so much for recognizing them and happy belated Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I brought my girlfriend here for her birthday weekend getaway. The place has great ocean front rooms and is located on the quiet end of Cannery Row, the opposite end from the aquarium. We were treated very well from valet parking to turn down service. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We booked a room with a balcony overlooking the bay and there's a family of otters that hang out in the kelp bed in the view of the rooms and the rooms have binoculars to watch them with!

The hot tubs, steam sauna, and gym room are quite nice with great views on the top floor. It is time well spent relaxing, the turn down service is quite a nice touch as well. You can order a couple drinks and service will bring it up to you.

We had breakfast at Schooners restaurant in the hotel and with great views all around, and the food is pretty good too. The omelets and blueberry cinnamon french toast with orange juice was good.

Everything is a short walk away, there's a great little Indian place down the street, a movie theater, shopping everywhere, and lots of activities just in the wharf a few miles away and some great parks and paths in Pacific Grove to jog. It was really difficult to leave and can't wait to return! Don't be afraid to walk the streets and shops a block up from Cannery Row, there are shopping malls, sushi restaurants, and a movie theater all there if you just look up from Cannery Row.

Room Tip: If you can wing the price, I highly recommend the deluxe room with ocean view and balcony. Having th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.