We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Anniversary Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted a quick weekend away. We go to Monterey often for day trips but have not stayed for a weekend in many years. We wanted an ocean view, and close to restaurants so we did not have to drive, this hotel fit those criteria, knowing we were paying the price for these amenities. The hotel is impressive and the front desk was friendly, I had noted that we were celebrating our anniversay on our reservation and the agent acknowleged it at check in. We had room 2417 over the water with a view and a small balcony. Soon after arriving a bottle of Champagne and Chocolate Strawberries arrived, with congratulations on our anniversary, a very nice touch.The room was nice sized and well appointed. Our balcony overlooked the area where outdoor weddings were held and while there we saw 2.
Although there is a coffee pot in the room, we expected there would have been fresh coffee in the lounge areas in the morning but there is not. A coffee shop is attached to the outside of the hotel. Our room was one that had adjoining doors to rooms on both sides and we were hearing the other guests talking in the morning and evenings thru the doors. In the evenings there is a pianist playing in the lounge area which is very nice. All in all it was a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,233
    416
    117
    62
    32
See reviews for
741
1,319
80
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel/view, lovely room, staff very friendly.

Quiet expensive though spent about 1000 euro for 4 nights .
Have to pay for breakfast separately on top of that which was about 40 dollars when you include tip.

In short its an excellent hotel but you just need to be aware that you're going to spend quiet a lot

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for a couple of nigths on a weekend getaway from San Francisco.
We had a room booked without a bay view and got offered an upgrade for $100/night to a bay view room. We took it and although it pushed the room priced up from what I class as pricey to downright expensive the view was pretty much worth it.
We were on the 4th floor overlooking the plaza and the bay. This meant we had a bird's eye view of one of the 2 wedings on the plaza on Saturday afternoon.

We tried out the spa, My wife had a massage and I just lounged on the roofdeck reading.

Dinner one night was in the main Schooners restaurant and the next in the bar. Both good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere, great setting for conferences

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AOL.COM
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just driving up to this fabulous venue is breath taking. From the moment we were greeted by the suave Bell Staff and upon checking in to our fantastic room, the experience was tops.
Thank you Monterey Plaza for your consistent quality and attention to detail and for yet another memorable rendezvous in paradise~ The Plaza definitely does it right!

Room Tip: check out the Coastal Kitchen's Salmon mole or the short ribs~ YUMMMMY
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel earlier this week. We paid what I considered a huge amount of money for two queens facing the water. The hotel was nice but our room was one level above the plaza - which is open to the public. Our room looked out on what seemed like an old ruined building unless we looked left to see the water.
For what we paid I expected to be out over the water and much higher up.
Or at least away from the people wandering the plaza looking up at us as they came and went.
Disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are facing the water ask to be higher up or further out toward the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear LIkestoTravelNJ

Thank you for taking the time to write and convey your compliments and concerns to us following your recent visit to the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive comments from our guests. We are very pleased to learn for the most part you found the staff and service to your expectations.

Personalized service at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa is our primary goal and we are gratified to learn when we are successful. Everyone strives to maintain a high quality of service for all of our guests.
However, we were disappointed to learn you were dissatisfied with the location of your ocean view guestroom. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay with us. We would be more than happy to place you in a room higher than what you had most recently stayed in as long as the request is made and there is availability. Again, I apologize if your expectations were not met.

We sincerely value each guest that chooses to stay with us while visiting the Monterey Peninsula and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,

John V. Narigi
Vice President and General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for just one night on way to San Fran from Southern California. It was a great room. Nice beds double queens. The kids loved the room service. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The restaurant was so good. we loved it and the kids too. Definitely eat there no reason to wander far. The coffee shop had great croissants and coffee excellent too. We did Kayaking and visited fisherman's wharf here. Too much for an overnight stay so plan two days. The hotel is pricey though we paid over $200 night. The hotel has some renovations going on so we had a few detours to get to the room no big issue. Very very good service

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.