We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, wonderful hotel! Could stay forever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful, wonderful hotel! Could stay forever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days recently at this wonderful hotel in Monterey, California. I think we could have stayed much longer! Our room was wonderful, large, and had just an incredible view of the ocean. We could watch the amazing sea otters from the room! The dining room was also just wonderful. Every meal that we had there was just perfect and the service was terrific. It's so nice when you stay at a hotel and the staff remembers your name if you have a request or if they just happen to be sharing an elevator or see you elsewhere in the building! The warm, cozy feel of the resort is just perfect. The setting of the hotel is just amazing!

I am a big fan of the Aquarium in Monterey and you can easily walk there from this hotel. Cannery Row is just an OK spot to walk - kind of like saying you walked down Broadway in NYC but it is still a vital part of the community. We were originally supposed to stay at the Marriott but changed our minds at the last minute. What a great decision. When we saw the Marriott it was a typical large, boxy hotel geared more to conventions and large groups than to the individual traveler or family. We just fell instantly in love with the Monterey Plaza. Absolutely no complaints of any kind - just a wonderful, perfect stay that we wished would never end!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front! Also ask if they have any breakfast included packages available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,024
    391
    107
    61
    30
See reviews for
661
1,219
76
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were really looking forward to this hotel, because it was voted top 25. We booked a ocean view room through Expedia. When we got to our room and looked out the window, it was facing a large ugly building. If you looked to the left, there was a beautiful view, so I couldn't argue with them that it wasn't an ocean view room. I would request that your room is facing the ocean and not this awful, ugly building. Room was clean, and very nice. Service was good.
Spa looked awesome, I wish I had more time to take advantage of it. Very loud music was playing outside our room, but it stopped by 9:20 pm, so I thought that was reasonable. I would definitely return, and recommend to a friend, but would ask for a room in front of hotel. If you could spurge for a balcony, I would do it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is my Fav for Monterey Bay, Always stay here! Service , Rooms, Location, Love this place ,so do My girfriends and so do my kids! can not wait till Summer to go back... Every Year we plan to go in the summer and September , so I am there twice a year...Love it !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The service at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa was outstanding, from the moment we pulled up to the moment we checked out. The room was beautiful and the setting was magical. Our balcony was directly over the waves and we were able to see dolphins and sea otters. We hated to leave our room it was so enjoyable. Definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, go for the Ocean View with Balcony, it's totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from 3 nights during the last weeked in February. The facilities were very good and the service even better. They have clearly made service the number 1 priority of the staff -- and they've pulled it off more so than any place we've stayed in quite a while. While everyone bent over backwards to make sure our stay was first class, three examples stand out. While chatting with the bellman after arriving at our room (with a spectacular view of Monterey Bay and a nice balcony from which to enjoy it) he asked what brought us there.

My wife mentioned that the trip was an anniversary present to me. 5 minutes later another member of the staff arrived with a complementary bottle of champagne and chocholate dipped strawberries.

On our last morning we ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Half-way through our waiter asked how we liked the food. Uncharacteristically I commented that it was "ok" in an unenthusiastic tone. No "sorry about that" in reply. He genuinely wanted to know what was wrong. The problem - a bone dry omlett. He insisted that he bring a new one out. I had eaten about half of what had been served and really wasn't too excited about giving it another try, so I managed to convince him I was fine. 2 minutes later he returns with a bowl of fresh fruit and didn't charge for my breakfast.

At checkout the valet was very busy, and when we arrived our car hadn't. While we only had to wait about 5 minutes for the car (I've experienced much worse), he genuinely appologized at lease 5 or 6 times.

The facilities were clean and comfortable. Not 5 star level but still very nice. We didn't try the spa but did eat 1 dinner and 1 breakfast in the restaurant -- dinner was very good, breakfast was (as noted) nothing to write home about. A great location. Nice that it is at the start of Cannery Row (you miss a lot of traffic as a result) but within very easy walking distance.

Only negatives were the Friday night outdoor wedding reception with loud music until about 9:30, a little confusion about the restaurant and beds that were a little soft for my taste. One had recently closed, remodeled and renamed but there was still signage in the hotel and info in the room about the closed restaurant. Not a big deal at all.

We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a bay (ocean) view room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We decided to take a last minute trip to Monterey and indulge a little on our hotel.

Upon arrival, we were promptly greeted with two friendly faces offering assistance with our luggage and arranging the valet for our car. The check-in process was very speedy and friendly as well.

We selected a double queen bedroom with ocean view and we were so very happy! The views were amazing and the feather top beds were super comfy.

The hotel's dining option is Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar. Every table has a view of the water and the service was just as impeccable as we had been enjoying since our arrival. Our daughters enjoyed the near-bottomless Shirley Temples at dinner! The menu could be considered on the pricey side and vegetarians will need to get a little creative if they arent in the mood for their one vegan dish of pasta in marinara. The food was fresh, perfectly prepared and we left full and very happy with the meal. A party of 5 = 200.00 with two cocktails and tip for dinner. Breakfast was just as amazing with unlimited OJ and freshly prepared food.

We simply didn't want to leave - every staff member is smiling, friendly and happy to serve the hotel's guests. It made me realize that it is actually possible to go to a known tourist destination and get good customer service!

Yes, it is a little higher on the scale of hotels in Monterey. But it is absolutely worth it. I will never stay anywhere else when I come back for a visit.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth every penny! We had guests on either side of us, we never heard them and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous waterfront hotel! Incredibly kind and helpful staff! Beautiful room, great dining and cafe! Need out for the evening, look no further than leaving the lobby and your front row Of cannery row. Gorgeous sights, pretty lights. Highly recommended stay! Will definaty be back! And with friends ;)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.