We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops in Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Corte Madera, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tops in Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from 3 nights during the last weeked in February. The facilities were very good and the service even better. They have clearly made service the number 1 priority of the staff -- and they've pulled it off more so than any place we've stayed in quite a while. While everyone bent over backwards to make sure our stay was first class, three examples stand out. While chatting with the bellman after arriving at our room (with a spectacular view of Monterey Bay and a nice balcony from which to enjoy it) he asked what brought us there.

My wife mentioned that the trip was an anniversary present to me. 5 minutes later another member of the staff arrived with a complementary bottle of champagne and chocholate dipped strawberries.

On our last morning we ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Half-way through our waiter asked how we liked the food. Uncharacteristically I commented that it was "ok" in an unenthusiastic tone. No "sorry about that" in reply. He genuinely wanted to know what was wrong. The problem - a bone dry omlett. He insisted that he bring a new one out. I had eaten about half of what had been served and really wasn't too excited about giving it another try, so I managed to convince him I was fine. 2 minutes later he returns with a bowl of fresh fruit and didn't charge for my breakfast.

At checkout the valet was very busy, and when we arrived our car hadn't. While we only had to wait about 5 minutes for the car (I've experienced much worse), he genuinely appologized at lease 5 or 6 times.

The facilities were clean and comfortable. Not 5 star level but still very nice. We didn't try the spa but did eat 1 dinner and 1 breakfast in the restaurant -- dinner was very good, breakfast was (as noted) nothing to write home about. A great location. Nice that it is at the start of Cannery Row (you miss a lot of traffic as a result) but within very easy walking distance.

Only negatives were the Friday night outdoor wedding reception with loud music until about 9:30, a little confusion about the restaurant and beds that were a little soft for my taste. One had recently closed, remodeled and renamed but there was still signage in the hotel and info in the room about the closed restaurant. Not a big deal at all.

We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a bay (ocean) view room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,403
    449
    124
    68
    32
See reviews for
821
1,415
86
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We decided to take a last minute trip to Monterey and indulge a little on our hotel.

Upon arrival, we were promptly greeted with two friendly faces offering assistance with our luggage and arranging the valet for our car. The check-in process was very speedy and friendly as well.

We selected a double queen bedroom with ocean view and we were so very happy! The views were amazing and the feather top beds were super comfy.

The hotel's dining option is Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar. Every table has a view of the water and the service was just as impeccable as we had been enjoying since our arrival. Our daughters enjoyed the near-bottomless Shirley Temples at dinner! The menu could be considered on the pricey side and vegetarians will need to get a little creative if they arent in the mood for their one vegan dish of pasta in marinara. The food was fresh, perfectly prepared and we left full and very happy with the meal. A party of 5 = 200.00 with two cocktails and tip for dinner. Breakfast was just as amazing with unlimited OJ and freshly prepared food.

We simply didn't want to leave - every staff member is smiling, friendly and happy to serve the hotel's guests. It made me realize that it is actually possible to go to a known tourist destination and get good customer service!

Yes, it is a little higher on the scale of hotels in Monterey. But it is absolutely worth it. I will never stay anywhere else when I come back for a visit.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth every penny! We had guests on either side of us, we never heard them and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Gorgeous waterfront hotel! Incredibly kind and helpful staff! Beautiful room, great dining and cafe! Need out for the evening, look no further than leaving the lobby and your front row Of cannery row. Gorgeous sights, pretty lights. Highly recommended stay! Will definaty be back! And with friends ;)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Location,food and service were all superb...will definitely go back. The service was higher and more authentic than expected. The room was spotless and needed nothing.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Monterey and was very looking forward to have breakfast at Duck Club Grill. Very disapointing that they closed it down. The menu are the same but the service was a let down. I would not go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_V_Narigi, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
I sincerely apologize that this guest was not aware of the Duck Club Grill closing. We did make a strong effort to reach out and inform our guests of the newly opened Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, and Duck Club closure. I also apologize that this couple did not enjoy their dining experience. We do pride ourselves on our service. With the new restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar, we realize we still have some things to do and appreciate the feedback.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President / General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Excellent customer service overall. Starting from Valet, front desk to concierge. Excellent customer service is why we chose to stay at the Monterey Plaza & Spa Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. We stayed for a Saturday night and had spa treatments on Sunday. The rooms were clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We also received massage and facials. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#4 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
2.2 mi away
Unscripted Monterey Bay
Unscripted Monterey Bay
#38 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.