We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wild Plum - for people who enjoy food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wild Plum

The Wild Plum
731 Munras Ave # B, Monterey, CA 93940
831-646-3109
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 261 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Southampton, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Wild Plum - for people who enjoy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you want fast service and quick take away food, then go to a take- away, if you want to enjoy fresh food served in a cosy atmosphere then this is definitely the place to go for breakfast. We were staying in Casa Munras across the road and had read good reviews about this place. It was obviously a popular choice as we had to wait for a table for four but it was well worth the wait. The fresh fruit cup was eXactly that - fresh with a good selection of exotic and local fruit, and the toast made from freshly baked bread. Our friend who is a coffee connoisseur even thought that it was the best coffee he had ever had! Be warned if you opt for the omelette hope you have a healthy appetite! Don't let the negative reviews put you off - its worth waiting for freshly prepared, good quality food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    82
    18
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“best chai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had breakfast here and the service was excellent. I also got a large cup (bowl) of chai that was delicious. Very good. Recommend this when other places are crowded.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Homebaked pastries and muffins galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We picked up a takeaway breakfast from here as it is located opposite our hotel, Casa Munras, and we were spoilt for choice at all the wholesome, organic goodies on sale. Blackberry empanades, strawberry muffins, the cinnamon rolls looked gorgious, heaven

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast at the Wild Plum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had breakfast at the Wild Plum, it was delicious, it is in the downtown area but not along the main highway, it was around the corner from Denny's. Small cafe/bakery with delicious breakfast, & lunch choices. Homemade items, bread. I ordered a ham scramble with veggies...It came with some home made toast bread, a generous scramble, fresh fruit. Nice presentation, eclectic environment. Service a little slow, and he did not refill coffee, but, their was a pot on the back wall so we refilled our own. Reasonable price for the amount of food, and you could buy a few bakery items. My breakfast was about $8.95 for my designed omelet, with Virginia baked ham. My husband ordered a Southwest Omellet with Avocado, salsa, it was tasty, $8.95 and toast, and fruit. All in all, it was a nice neighborhood with some parking off to the side of the buildings. We went on a Sunday morning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Truly excellent though nontraditional huevos rancheros! Slowness of service others have mentioned was bearable on a Sunday morning, and compensated for by friendly staff and a cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Plum also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to The Wild Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wild Plum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.