We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad but Not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly "Westwind Lodge")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Not Bad but Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had to stay in the Monterey area whilst our apartment in Carmel was being refurbished. As a Choice Privileges member I tried a number of Choice linked hotels, so as to increase my membership points and status. We moved to this hotel from the much superior Comfort Inn. The first room we were given smelt of cleaning fluid and bleach, it was foul. We had to argue to get a move to another room. This should not happen, especially when the smell was so strong.The second room was OK but still smelled of bleach. The room itself was clean, but it was much smaller than the aforementioned Comfort Inn. The breakfast was OK. Overall if you want to stay in a Choice Hotel, I would stay in the Comfort Inn in Monterey, it was nicer, bigger and more attentive staff than this hotel.

It wasn't bad, but other hotels serve the customer better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    70
    56
    27
    23
See reviews for
53
85
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape cod, ma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at this clarion for 2 days. Room small but clean with micro frig and coffee maker. Coffee maker broke and they promptly brought up a new one. Location is good . Walked to dinner and town. Room wasn't ready as we were early and we came back at 3 and it was done. Breakfast was great. The hotel feels cramped not really a good place to sit outside. Small Area near pool was dirty with grubby chairs needs refreshing. It did not have a gym or laundry which I like and had inside pool- not a fan. It's a good price for what you get but would have loved to relax outside

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here for the first time during our annual trip to Monterey. We stayed six nights and it was our best stay ever in Monterey, The manager and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the excellent breakfast and the convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My fiance and I were in Monterey for a weekend trip and stayed in the honeymoon suite. The decor is a little dated with gold fixtures and early 90's pastels but the room was clean and quiet and the fireplace, jacuzzi tub and candles made up for it. We loved it! During the day you can hear noise from the kids in the pool but we were out most of the day so it didn't bother us. We would definitely stay in that room again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night en-route down the PCH. Both rooms were spacious and clean. Front desk were helpful and accommodating. Request for quiet room was honoured and we all slept well, which is always a priority. Well placed for sightseeing. Breakfast was adequate.
Monterey itself, a little 'fairgroundish' and disappointing. Not much old charm to be found.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on March 11 for several nights and I like it the first three nights I was there. The bed was very nicely made and comfortable. The room was cleaned and organized. I had a cottage room right behind the front desk office. it has a small patio with one chair but nothing special. The inn has a heated pool and Jacuzzi which is nice. When I first swam in the pool I got my eyes stingy because of so much chlorine in the pool but recovered the next day. The room had deficiencies such as a big stain in the bathroom wall right next to the toilet which I informed the front desk agent Diana. The Jacuzzi jet were not working at all after I was told it had jets. I was disappointed. The cabinets in the bathroom are outdated and kind of gross. The breakfast is not as nice as the one right next door which is quality inn. They should have a microwave in the breakfast room so guests can heat up their milk as I like to heat up mine. When I asked the breakfast attendant to heat up my milk she was rude and said "no we don't have microwave here" without going out of her way and finding other ways to please a guest. This is not customer service at all to me. They need to change this practices. Overall I like the inn which is rare to say. However when I revisited Clarion on march 20 and stayed in the same cottage as last time I was very disappointed to find out that the same issues I related to Diana in my first stay about the stain in the bathroom was still there? really? when a guest gives you constructive comment you as a hotel need to follow up and complete the task. Most of all take it seriously otherwise other guests will complaint about it. That's why you have maintenance people working there to do their job. But other than that I had a good stay. This is a nice hotel overall. I took pictures I will be posting soon.

Room Tip: Most rooms are nice and updated with flat screen tvs and very clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My family wanted to stay in a hotel with an indoor pool. Monterey doesn't have many hotels with an indoor pool feature. Their pool was fabulous! It was very warm, and my girls loved it! The room was decent, felt a little cramped. The pool made our stay worthwhile though. We will definitely stay again if we are traveling with the kids.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 1046 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly "Westwind Lodge")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Monterey
Clarion Monterey
Monterey Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.