We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our home away from home. Having been raised on the...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stevenson Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Stevenson Monterey to your Saves list
The Stevenson Monterey
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    146
    97
    25
    15
See reviews for
98
154
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Affordable with pleasant staff, however, the stains on the chair and the carpet in our room made us feel uneasy. The room had been cleaned nicely but the stains were unsettling. The last bathroom update was obviously many years ago with cultured marble counter and yellow tile. I really think that anyone in the obese category would have trouble using the shower, etc in the small bathroom. We were on the 2nd floor.
The parking is limited and one must not have a large vehicle to navigate either the underground garage or the few available spaces ground level. Come in a small vehicle or on a motorcycle. Our mid-sized SUB was a tough fit.
Easy walking distance to many things. Great staff. Quieter than you'd think given its location above a gas station at a 3-way intersection but the A/C fan provided good white noise. Ok mattress.
One is in Monterey for a variety of excursions so hanging in a motel is not high on anyone's agenda. This one will suffice for a brief stay but don't expect anything but most basic amenities like hair dryer, ironing board, coffee pot. They did have a safe. No m/w; no fridge. The toilet paper roll spare had a flower made out of toilet paper on it. Really, it did. We opted for Denny's over the breakfast offerings due to bad coffee and carbs. Saw the pool used twice in the AM so wondered if it was heated or just brave people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for a review that found us affordable with a helpful staff. We apologize that there were any stains in your room and we are attending to that immediately. We have 13 parking places on the ground level and over 27 spots in the garage with a 6'4" clearance. Our pool is now heated and is heated from Easter until the end of October. Our bathrooms all have new floors and fixtures and on the third floor we have all newly redecorated bathrooms and guest rooms. All rooms were completed in the last 3/4 years and were designed by a designer. Queen pillowtop beds are in every room and are found to be very comfortable by even the most discerning of our guests. Any amenities beyond shampoo, conditioner and lotion can be found at the front desk for free. Half or our rooms and all of our 2 bedded rooms have refrigerators. The coffee and tea is available 24 hours in the lobby and the continental breakfast does include hard boiled eggs and yogurt, as well as waffles,muffins and more. We do have 40+ restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf and Monterey Beach all within a short walk. Our staff takes great pleasure in giving a concierge style approach to all your questions and needs. We do have a great location from which to discover Monterey on foot. No other lodges are this close to all of downtown Monterey. Our Amana A/C's were installed in 2006 and many properties do not have A/C. Please feel free to come and visit us again. WE do have many repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room was clean with comfortable beds and very nice reception. We stayed there for one night and couldn't use the pool, but it seemed very nice for a sunny warm summer day. It is a bit far from downtown and you need to go by car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your fine compliments about how clean we are, how comfortable the beds are and
how nice the reception was. We are actually in downtown with over 40+ restaurants within 3 blocks and Fisherman's Wharf only a 12 minute walk away. Please visit us again. We are
the closest lodge to downtown Monterey and we have free wi-fi, free continental breakfast,
and free parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

All monterrey's hotels are concentrated on Munras Avenue but this Travelodge seems to be the closest to Main street leading to the Wharf (Calle Principal) which is convenient !
The view isn't very nice, you have an immediate vis-à-vis on a gas station but no noise issue.
There is a Denny's just across the street, open 24/7 !
The room was OK, clean with large beds, decent TV set, the AC worked well but the bathroom was very small.
You feel the room could use a little refurbishment so don't expect much.
Free parking, wifi, a swimming pool (which is nice for a Travelodge), breakfast included and free coffee and juices all day.
It was really unexpensive and exactly what we needed for a night stop on our way to the 17 mile road and Carmel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for a very kind review. We appreciate your comments. Welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#26 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#20 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#30 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#29 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro, El Cantaro, Paprika Cafe, and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stevenson Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.