We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Stevenson Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Stevenson Monterey to your Saves list
The Stevenson Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    121
    84
    23
    15
See reviews for
76
127
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borculo Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I found this hotel on no notice. We drove into town without reservations. We found this hotel to be quite affordable. The hotel is in easy walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and the rest of the downtown. The staff at the front desk were very courteous and helpful with information about the area. We were going to take a drive on the Pacific coast highway and the gentleman at the front desk gave us some nice tips about the drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank for yet another great review. Many folks have discovered our affordable, very handy location by walking in. Yes you can easily walk to Fisherman's Wharf and downtown. Most lodges in Monterey won't tell you that it is not so easy from those properties. Our front desk staff has many more years experience than most hotels or lodges in town. They act like concierges. We look forward to your return visit to Monterey. We have air conditioning, 100% non-smoking, free wi-fi,
free continental breakfast with waffles and free parking. We also have a seasonal pool heated to 82 degrees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I had a wedding to attend in Monterey. The wedding was near the wharf and we wanted a place within a 20-minute walk. Of course there are quite a few hotels in and around downtown Monterey. We first booked at a $260+ a night hotel right in town. Then we found the Monterey Downtown Travelodge. It was almost half the price and only a few minutes more walk so we had to check it out. After checking tripadvisor and other reviews we decided to try it.

What a pleasant surprise! We were expecting clean and basic. What we got was clean and basic, and also large, very comfortable bed, and more than adequate bathroom and shower. It included free wifi and continental breakfast.

Since it is on the corner of Munras and Abrego, we expected lots of traffic noise...and there was. But it went away completely when we closed the window. Then we discovered the only negative for us -- the HVAC was only one speed and quite noisy. Since we prefer fresh air, we opted to keep the window open. That did keep it cool and fresh, and the traffic noise subsided as the evening wore on.

We did not experience the continental breakfast provided because we have a favorite café downtown that serves FABULOUS breakfasts.

All in all, the motel was clean, rooms were large, facilities were fine, lots of free parking, and staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely recommend this motel as a base for all your Monterey activities.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be about equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review. We will let it speak for itself. Welcome back
anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I expected more being it was a Wyndam property. No Q -Tips or Kleenex. I itched all night, no weather stripping around door. However, it was within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf. Rug was ratty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I see you were very satisfied with the service and location. We do indeed have Kleenex in every room and weather stripping is in the appropriate areas around the doors. All carpets and room renovation are less than 4 years old and we have renovated all rooms with the most recent 15 rooms just this June on the 3rd floor. Please come back and try some of our newest rooms and look for our brand new exterior paint job too! Don't forget we have free wi-fi, free continental breakfast and much more;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The wife and I spent 3 days in Monterey.Hotel was a great location for the activities we did. The breakfast is pretty good. You can make your own waffles and coffee and juice available 24X7. The room was very clean and the staff were always very friendly. The only cons would be the EARLY morning wakeup by the garbage truck (Gas station next store) and the shower head being really low and the trickle of water coming out. I'm sure it is to try and conserve water. I'd recommend if you just want a clean place with a free good breakfast at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for a great overall review noting our great location that is clean with a free, good continental breakfast, at a reasonable rate. We do have friendly staff in ever department
with free coffee, juic and tea 24x7. The refuse disposal trucks do come at different hours and not always early. Fortunatley we do have double-paned windows in every room. Don't forget our free wi-fi, underground parking and swimming pool. You specifically gave us high marks on being clean, good service and a good value. We weclome you to come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro, El Cantaro, Paprika Cafe, and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travelodge
Monterey Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stevenson Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.