We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Stevenson Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Stevenson Monterey to your Saves list
The Stevenson Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Would like to give a Good score rather than average but TA doesnt allow me to!

Husband and I stayed for 3 nights earlier this month - good size room and nice to see an effort to recycle being made .Comfy bed and decent storage - room was very clean
Continental breakfast was one of the better ones we had during our entire holiday - being able to make toast was great ( the bread was lovely)
Location is good - but noisy however we were prepared for the noise and it was quieter once he buses stopped.
Glad to see from a previous review that they are resolving the issue with the low shower heads- I was fine but my 6ft 3 husband struggled slightly, however low shower heads seem to be a theme in the USA !

Its close to all services and an easy walk into Monterey

Overall - great value for money - would stay again

Room Tip: Not sure if any rooms would be away from the road noise - but you could ask !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for an overall great review. The value you received here is what tends to impress most guests. We have been “green” for sometime and recycling is part of that. Our Pillowtop beds give us a lot of positive reviews as they are just plain, great sleeping systems. Our double-paned windows help with any noise. Yes you can walk from here to everything from restaurants and bars, Traders Joe’s, pharmacies, coffee shops, Fisherman’s Wharf and the beach. We will see you on your return visit and be sure to ask for the 3rd floor where things are a bit quieter and we have the newest rooms there too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    129
    88
    24
    15
See reviews for
82
135
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Sated here completely by chance simply because we were too tired to look for anything else. so glad we did. Eric who checked us in was fantastically helpful and polite. His recommendations for places to eat all seemed good and the one we selected was excellent for seafood. The room was fine and the Queen Bed comfortable. The shower was efficient enough ( if a bit low for tall people) and although the breakfast area is small and gets very busy we had a good breakfast before setting off again. There is sufficient parking both at ground level and underground. With a late checkout time of 12 noon and a quite inviting pool all for $89 per night this is fantastic value. So glad we stayed here and not in one of the expensive places in Carmel we considered.

Room Tip: I think they are probably .all much the same but we were on the top floor which was nice ( although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We really appreciate your comments about our great value and a good quality sleep. All of our front desk gives great eating recommendations based on what you want. Our all around value is one of the best in downtown Monterey. And Fisherman’s Wharf, the beach and over 40+ restaurants are all a short walk away. You do not have to drive and park from here. We welcome you back when you return, but reserve in advance during the summer so you can have the room you desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Everything was good and parking was very easy. Room was big enough, but may be small for a family. Very easy walk to downtown. I have no complaints. If you are looking for a great hotel on a budget, I would definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for a very high rating and the great compliments. We are one of the most affordable downtown properties in Monterey that has free wi-fi, free continental breakfast, free parking, a apool and underground parking. Come back and try our newest rooms, recently completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The staff at this hotel was excellent. Eric was really good about places to go and see. He knew his way around the city which a lot of hotel staff don't always know. The other staff was just as friendly as him. I wish all the staff at hotels were just like this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for these very positive comments. We do have a well trained, guest friendly
front desk. We do try to give our guests the best experience possible. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The middle aged guy at the front desk was a tad grumpy and offensive "people who make reservations on Expedia are idiots". Breakfast included stale muffins along with typical continental menu. Yes, room was clean and location perfect. There is underground parking, which may prove to be a challenge with a full size truck. There were only 8 on grade compact stalls. Bed sheets were clean but felt as though they have passed their usefulness they were starting to pill.

Room Tip: Try a different motel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments about room cleanliness and the location being perfect.
I apologize for any unprofessional comment. That would be an unusual situation for us.
We will make sure all of our front desk staff is aware of this and positively responds
to it. We cut our muffins fresh everyday. Parking wise we have 13 spaces on the 1st floor and 27 below where there is a 6’4” clearance. We do inject new new linen up to 3 or 4 times
a year. Please feel welcome to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Monterey Downtown Travelodge last weekend and enjoyed it very much. Our room had recently been remodeled and was clean and roomy. We had a new flat screen T.V.
The location is right in the center of town and a short walk to Alvarado street.
Oh yea, free breakfast is nice too.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review. Like you, many of our guests enjoy walking
downtown to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail just 12 minutes away.
Glad you enjoyed one of our newest refurbished rooms with new bathrooms. These are quickly becoming popular with our repeat customers. For your added pleasure we kicked off this morning with our newest addition to the continental breakfast....waffles! Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro, El Cantaro, Paprika Cafe, and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travelodge
Monterey Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stevenson Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.