We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the most pleasant of hotels” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Stevenson Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Stevenson Monterey to your Saves list
The Stevenson Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gwent South Wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“not the most pleasant of hotels”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in the Downtown Travelodge for one night as part of a two week trip around California and out of all the hotels we stayed in this was my least favourite. The surrounding area wasnt particularly pleasant and neither were the rooms. The pool was tiny and overlooking the main road and the carpark. Not very appealing!!
Location wasnt particularly great for what we wanted, nothing was really in walking distance except Denny's and a Gas Station!
The man behind reception was however very friendly and pleasant and was happy to help with enquires that we had.
If I were to return to Monterey again i'd definately choose different accomodation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for a review that compliments our front desk. I would like to note that we have over 45 restaurants within 3 blocks, Fisherman's Wharf is a flat, 12 minute walk away and all of Monterey's Historic Adobes with their beautiful gardens are on that same path. The Monterey Bay Aquarium Shuttle is 2 blocks away and runs every 10 minutes all day long. We have free wi-fi, free continental breakfast, Pillow top beds and have been recently refurbished with the help of a talented designer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    122
    84
    23
    15
See reviews for
76
127
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms/4 adults for last minute weekend trip to Monterey in end of June.

Very short walk to restaurants, bars and shops. Since we were checking out on our day to the aquarium we drove to cannery row instead of catching the free trolley. I imagine the walk there would take 15-20 minutes- and be lovely. Wish we stayed two nights so we could have enjoyed the pool as it looked fun. Small, but not crowed. And 8 feet deep!

Happily surprised with room quality. Updated room, comfy bed and adjoining doors to rooms. Carpet felt recently shampooed and was a little damp so we wore sandals in the rooms until it dried. Iron smelled musty so check that before stinking up clothes.

Friendly staff and decent continental breakfast of juices, coffee, baked goods, yogurt, cereal, fruit and boiled eggs.

Free underground parking and staff informed us of additional parking if lot was full (due to being 100% booked) which it was not.

Will add this to my Monterey rotation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. The pool is now heated to 81 degrees
and July 4th in Monterey is great witha parade, 3 bands on City Hall lawn
and all justt a few blocks away. Wish you could have stayed. Craig Smith, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

They are all very friendly, and helpful. The rooms are just what you need, and the beds are very comfortable. Does what it says on the tin. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We appreciate your kind comments and positive words. Our staff works hard to give great service, at a good value in one of the best locations in downtown Monterey. We look forward
to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Visited on 5/5/2012 for the first time and was very happy with my stay. Staff at the front desk was both friendly and helpful, and the breakfast included with the room was more than adequate. It is a great location for seeing downtown Monterey. It's nice to have free parking in that area, but drive around behind the hotel to access the underground parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for a very positive review. You liked our free parking and our continental breakfast. Our location is just a 12 minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf, the Ocean Front Rec Trail and
Monterey Beach. Because we have just 51 rooms and a 24 hour front desk, we try to excel
at personal service to each guest. All the front desk are mature professionals who enjoy meeting and interacting with travelers from all over the world everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have stayed in other hotels in this area. I usually stay at 3 or 4 star hotels. Well, with the economy the way it is, I decided to stay here. First, I was greeted with a friendly smile. The room was very clean and the decor was really nice. The bathroom was slightly small, but very clean. I am not used to getting free WIFI and breakfast. This usually costs me about $30.00 a day at the hotels I stay at. The breakfast was pretty good. I had boiled eggs, muffins, juice, coffee, toast and cereal. The best part was that I didn't have to drive much. I left my car at the hotel and walked a few blocks to downtown Monterey, then over to the warf. I kept walking along the ocean trail and found myself at Canary Row. What a beautiful walk! I then rode the bus back to the downtown hub and walked 2 blocks back to the hotel. So this hotel saved me about $60.00 a day just for its location, breakfast, WIFI, etc. I also saved because this hotel was much less than the hotels I am accustomed to staying at. I felt that the experience I had was excellent for the cost. I also can say that there are some fantastic restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. Check out the Wild Plum for lunch! I also want to say that the beds were pretty comfortable. I sleep with ear plugs when I travel, so I got a great night sleep. When all is taken into consideration, this was a great choice for me. Another good bit of info is that Trader Joe's is 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 302. It was perfect for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the highest rating possible in every category. Your positive,detailed review revealed your walking knowledge of our great neighborhood. You discovered and liked the Wild Plum restaurant across the street and the Trader Joe's down the block. We have over 40+ restaurants within 3 blocks and Fisherman's Wharf is a 12 stroll away. Our housekeepers are experienced and well trained, as is our front desk. We offer consistency in every way and enjoy welcoming visitors from all over the world every day. Come back on your next visit to magical, beautiful Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

ONCE AGAIN....my mother & I would like to express our gratitude to the owner & staff, for making our 5 day stay very comfortable, clean, secure, & hassle free. The bedroom area of our room was very clean, the desk & dresser were also very clean, & the linens smelled fresh. The bathroom area was exceptionally clean as always. Your beds are actually more comfortable than my own personal bed that I have at home!

The continental breakfast that you provide for your guests is excellent. My mother just loves the exceptionally large & fresh assortment of breakfast goodies that you have on hand. Plus, you also provide clean tables to sit on & eat. Really nice touch.

And....we have noticed that the owner cares enough to be standing out in front of the office during the morning hours, greeting the new guests & bidding farewell to the departing guests. Just knowing that the owner cares enough to make himself available to his guests, is a personal touch that we really appreciate. Bravo!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for the kind and positive words. All of our staff has a great service attitude
with many years of experience. Our comittment to excellence sets the stage for the kind of
experience you have had as a regular customer. We believe that the hotel experience you have
is much more important than anything else. WE enjoy communicating directly with our guests
both before, during and after their stay. Our new web site at www.montereytravelodge.com
provides you with the menus of over 90 restaurants locally and many photos of the entire
area. Those that discover find one of the hidden treasures of information we provide.
Thank you for being one of great repeat guests who reinforces our comittment to great
customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

A very decent, quiet and comfortable stay. Very helpful and efficient staff at reception. At the very second I checked in, I got a city map and help on how to get around. The nice and friendly staff just make me feel at home. Sleep was good with more than enough supply of pillows (I believe there were 5-6 of them). Breakfasts were good, simply nourishing - oatmeal, muffins, cereal, hardboil eggs, fruits, hot drinks and so on.

I forgot some items when leaving at a hurry but am very grateful that the staff took care to have the items shipped.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for a very positive review. You liked our bed, our breakfast and more! We are the closest
lodge to downtown Monterey and Fisherman's Wharf. Our guests who walk a bit discover one of our finest attibutes....our location and proximity to all the restaurants that Monterey offers. And the beach is only 4 blocks away. We are the closest economy-priced lodge to everything in downtown
Monterey. No other lodge is closer to it all than us. That is why we have so many repeat guests.
Whether it is the Big Sur Marathon shuttles nearby, the car auctions during Classic Car Week, or
those walking a few blocks to the Conference Center and having tremendous savings over the
host hotels downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro, El Cantaro, Paprika Cafe, and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travelodge
Monterey Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stevenson Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.