We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place, clean, safe!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2050 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Sonora, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute place, clean, safe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed here Sun -Thurs. was very cute with all the flowers. Furniture was updated, bathroom was very clean, and breakfast was great. I turn fan on at night so didn't hear much noise. If you are going on a weekend check what's going on at fairgrounds which are right behind hotel. There were concerts going on so was very loud, ended around 11pm. Also airport is right there but think planes only durin the day, smaller airport. Parking was tight but always found a space. Good place for the $$. Carpet could have been cleaner, door had some space between. Just a few little things. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: I had a queen, no pet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Denise W,

I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our brilliant and vibrant flowers. Our maintenance team does a wonderful job keeping our grounds beautiful for our guests. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our diverse breakfast options. We try hard to have something for everyone! I will speak to the housekeeping staff regarding the carpet, thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I am pleased you had such a great stay and look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Janea E.
Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    102
    64
    7
    6
See reviews for
75
106
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stayed here last night for the First City Music Festival, which was right next door. I had discovered this place as a friend and I stayed next door at the Ramada but needed a room for Sunday night and Ramada couldn't work with us on a good price. I walked next door to Comfort Inn and met Mala and she informed me that there was a room for $119 a nite, perfecto! Mala was very courteous and friendly. She even offered me to have some of their breakfast but I had plans. BTW - their breakfast has scrambled eggs! Next door at Ramada has a "make your own waffle."

The room was 218 and it's the best of the bunch because it's a corner hotel room. The inside was spectacular, looked like there was some modernization. Because of my stay, I'll be curious to see if other Comfort Inns are run the same way.

Room Tip: room 218 is the room to get, corner room towards back of the hotel and upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear John M,

Thank you for your review and your positive mention of our guest services agent Mala. Our staff prides themselves on being friendly and helpful in every way possible, so I’m delighted to hear our team member left such a favorable impression. I am delighted she was able to assist you in room reservations!

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Warm Regards,
Janea E.
Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Place was nicely equipped, nice clean accommodation, very convenient location; We stayed here to cover Monterey Bay and Carmel along Monterey Penensula. Easy access to the Freeway and convenient to restaurants and sundry restaurants/pharmacy to cater to basic needs for kids/family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Arun,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Monterey/Carmel! Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor. We do our best to provide everything a guest will need while traveling. That is why each of our rooms comes with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and hairdryer for every guest. We want you to be comfortable and only think about one thing…exploring beautiful Monterey! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again!

Best Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Comfort Inn Monterey Bay is nice and clean, I and my daughter like the spa when we return from the views. there are 2 warm spa and 1 hot steam unit. The location is very convenient and close to the 1 highway.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear 海珊 龙,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Inn Monterey Bay. Our housekeeping staff works so hard to make sure that our hotel is nice and clean for every guest. I am thrilled you were able to sit in our nice warm spa after sight seeing it is a perfect way to end a day!

We hope to see you in the future!

Safe travels,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a quality time with our grandsons in the pool area! The room is clean and neat. It was close to our son's house in Del Rey Oaks and the beautiful beach of Monterey. The price was right. We will definitely come back when we visit Monterey next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear RebekaFF,

I’m so happy you were able to come to Monterey to visit your son and grandsons! There is nothing more important than family and making those precious memories with the ones you love. Monterey has a vast selection for fun for all ages. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for reviewing your visit with us!

Best Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The comfort Inn in Monterey is a nice hotel to stay at for a few days while visiting Monterey and the surrounding area. The rooms are comfortable as are the beds. There is a nice continental breakfast in the morning. The folks at the front desk are very helpful and friendly. The hotel also is near restaurants that are a bit cheaper than those on Cannery Row in Monterey. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Daniel S,

Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending our property to others! That is truly the greatest compliment you can give us. Guest service is our number one goal so I am pleased the front desk was helpful and friendly. I am delighted you were able to enjoy Monterey with your family! There are many more things to see in Monterey, so please come back again!

Safe Travels,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Exceptionally friendly and accommodating front desk got me a room several hours before the 3 p.m. check-in time. The room was clean and neat. The bathroom was immaculate with modern plumbing that worked fine, except for the sink's plug. Had to remove the plug from its fitting for the sink to drain. The durable room safe had a user-friendly digital lock. The large (42"?) flat screen TV worked fine, but was not connected to HD service. Analog TV programs were stretched to fill the 16:9 aspect ratio screen. WiFi Internet signal was strong and reliable, but D/L speed was about 1.5Mb/s (good for email). I had a room in front of the covered entrance and office, which was relatively noisy from vehicle traffic on Fremont St, but not a significant issue for me.

The breakfast room was spacious and included outdoor seating. Fresh scrambled eggs, fried sausage patties, fresh fruit, cereals, milk, juices, coffee, cook 'em yourself waffles, etc. were provided for a hearty meal, 7-10 am.

The Monterey Bay Coastal Bike Trail was a convenient bicycle ride about ½ mile north on Casa Verde Way from the hotel.

Room Tip: A room in the middle of the property will be furthest from vehicle traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear WiFi_wanderer,

Our staff prides themselves on being friendly and helpful in every way possible, so I am delighted to hear they were able to check you in early. Thank you for recognizing the hard work of our housekeeping team. They work so hard to make sure everything is immaculate for each and every guest. I am thrilled you enjoyed our hearty continental breakfast. Especially this time of year our outdoor seating is so pleasant. I am pleased you were able to enjoy a nice bike ride on the Monterey Bay Coastal Bike Trail.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Best Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Address: 2050 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in Monterey, Comfort Inn Monterey Bay offers clean and comfortable rooms that include a free hot breakfast serving eggs,sausage,hot freshly made waffles in 2 flavors, fresh fruit,cereals, pastries and much more. Hotel amenities include Jacuzzi and Sauna. Free WIFI. Micro/Fridge in all rooms. Walk to restaurants. Minutes to Fisherman's wharf, Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row. Within 2 miles to beaches and golf. Call hotel for additional information on our Package offers such as the Aquarium package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.