We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price and Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2050 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Price and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well we were going down to Monterey Bay for the day so we needed to book a room for one night. A lot of the rooms were booked because of the PGA golf tournement at Pebble Beach which we had no idea was going on. We found a room at the Comfort Inn for a great rate so we decided to book the room. When we checked in the person working the front desk was very polite and welcoming. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable, the bathroom seemed a little dated compared to the rest of the room but it was clean. They have new televisions in the room and the beds seemed to be new as well. So maybe they are starting to remodel the rooms. As a plus Wifi, parking, and a hot breakfast are all included. The breakfast bar included bagels, various breads, cold cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, eggs, sausage, and waffles. Its vary rare now a days that you get a breakfast with your stay so that was a huge plus. All in all I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our hotel, rooms, amenities and our complimentary breakfast. We are especially glad that you are going to come visit Monterey and stay with us again. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    102
    64
    7
    6
See reviews for
75
106
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Chose this hotel because we belong to Choice Hotels and and found most Comfort Inns comfortable and reasonably priced.and I had enough points for 2 free rooms for one night........and was not too far from the Monterey Bay Aquarium( which was the reason for our overnight stay.) The rooms were large.....very clean .....comfortable beds and jet tub.....Breakfast room was small but the young man runnin g it kept everything supplied as items ran out.....hot food was hot !!!!!!!! /the grounds were lovely with lots of flowers growing. There was airport noise but didnt bother us........staff was pleasant and helpful. We would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We appreciate your recommendation and choosing our hotel. Also more important you got a FREE night by being a CHOICE Privileges member. Thank you also for recognizing our hard working breakfast attendant. We are proud of our team at the Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed on the way from SF to LA. There are a number of hotels close to each other. Paid 68$plus 10% tax. Really happy with the room: large, king size bed, quality linen, big toilet, big flat screen.
There are 2 hot tubs outside and I think a swimming pool. 5 minutes drive from Monterrey sea side.
Highly recommended if rate similar to what I paid in early April.

Room Tip: Breakfast room is very small but with a reasonable choice. Come early for breakfast or do a takeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel.Monterey is an ideal stopover when one drives from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We appreciate your business and feedback. We do strive to provide value by offering many amenities that are complimentary such as WIFI, Hot Breakfast, Free Parking. Just FYI We do have the Hot tubs but do not have a pool. We do have a heated pool at our sister hotel, Comfort Inn Monterey By the Sea which is 3 miles away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Will be our favorite when we stay in Monterey. We stayed in several motels on this street and thought it's the best so far. Friendly staff, decent size rooms, not too noisy considering it's between busy streets. The bathroom is rather small, and very small closet but not an issue for a one night stay. Very comfortable beds. Egg, sausage and the usual breakfast items I have to admit though the breakfast room is rather small with additional 2 tables outside. For the price,
location and service, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Mid section on the south row will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are so happy that we are now your FAVORITE place to stay! Considering you have many choices in Monterey, we appreciate your business and are glad that we were able to serve your lodging needs in Monterey. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Everyone here seems helpful, including the front desk and breakfast crew.
The rooms are nice, with hd tv's heating systems, and wifi.
Theres an amazing hot tub and spa thats verrry nice
And finally waking up to eating some nice old fruit loops was fun, and my girlfriend was very happy. Best stay or $55!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Our hot tub and sauna area indeed are a perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing and were glad you enjoyed fruit loops from our many choice at the complimentary hot breakfast buffet. We appreciate your feedback and for staying with us. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay after a minor mix up at another accomodation location service was fantastic. The room was large and bed was comfortable, bathroom could use a little bit of an update but it was adequate for one nights stay. The breakfast was more than adequate with cereals, juices, various breads, pastries, yoghurt, waffles and fruit provided. A short drive to the underwhelming cannery row, and del monte shopping complex had a grey variety of eateries, markets and retailers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I am glad we were able to meet your lodging needs in Montere and provide you with PERFECT service!!!!! Our guests have many choices to stay in Monterey and we appreciate your business. Thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a cute older motel. I loved the full breakfasts they offer. My one complaint is the high price of $25 a day for having a small dog with us. $10 or $15 a day would be sufficient. The room was clean and I liked the bathroom. Loved all the flowers outside the rooms. Very convenient and easy to find. Hot tub area is enclosed and looks a little creepy. Overall, a good place for stay for a couple nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are glad that we were able to provide you with a good value at our comfort inn and that you enjoyed our many amenities and outdoor flower beds. Our pet friendly fee for our designated pet rooms go through a deep clean after departure thus the extra pet fee. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Address: 2050 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in Monterey, Comfort Inn Monterey Bay offers clean and comfortable rooms that include a free hot breakfast serving eggs,sausage,hot freshly made waffles in 2 flavors, fresh fruit,cereals, pastries and much more. Hotel amenities include Jacuzzi and Sauna. Free WIFI. Micro/Fridge in all rooms. Walk to restaurants. Minutes to Fisherman's wharf, Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row. Within 2 miles to beaches and golf. Call hotel for additional information on our Package offers such as the Aquarium package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.