We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2050 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Southrn California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very Nice for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Clean, older establishment, with evident effort taken to update & upgrade. Lots of plugs - a pleasant surprise. The room had an overall fresh feel, and the carpet was incredibly clean. Amiable staff. The only down side - the sound of planes flying overhead, apparently in the flightpath of the nearby airport - not for the faint-of-heart!

However, the price seemed exceedingly reasonable for the overall quality - I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologies for the sound of planes. At least being small, Monterey Airport has fewer flights coming in and out of the airport.
We look forward to serving you in the near future. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    64
    42
    5
    5
See reviews for
51
68
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a very cheap motel so we didn't expect it to be amazing as we were just passing through. The young lad behind the counter was very helpful and gave us an internet rate even though we were walk ins. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a pretty poor selection. Good motel to stay at if you want somewhere cheap to stay, I wouldn't stay here for a long period of time though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We value our guests opinions as it helps improve upon our services. I am glad you were able to get a good deal. We offer the best deals via our hotel website and by calling hotel direct. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were traveling up the PCH and decided on this place pretty much the day of after reading a few reviews. We were given a really good rate for a weekend, especially with my AAA discount. The room was fantastic: Clean, large, and good amenities--including a large fridge (great when you're traveling!). And we really enjoyed the very clean sauna and hot tub, especially since there was no one else there using it when we wanted to! The breakfast was beyond what you would expect (when you expect nothing more than the usual crummy stale pastries and thin orange juice): Hot, tasty, plentiful, and always staffed with someone very helpful. We were offered cereals, eggs, yogurts, fruit, sausage, english muffins, and do-it-yourself waffles. Even the coffee was good!
One caveat: They're not exactly walking distance to touristy things so staying here without a car might not work for you.
I'm so glad we found this motel and hope they keep up the great job they're all doing. What a great find this was. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
THANK You for your 5 star Rating! We will continue to keep up the great work from room standards to breakfast to helpful staff and beyond! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Didn't have a plan for my impromptu stay in monterey and this was my second stop...it looked so inviting flowers little tables out side to grab sun and read a paper just what i wanted..i checked in score came w breakfast n hot tub n sauna for cheap!!! Went into the room and again great newer flat screen tvs, new very clean bathrooms..can't say enough even eggs waffles and sausage..this is my new retreat in Monterey can't wait to bring my family next time....shhhhh its our secret

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
So glad you found your hidden retreat at our Comfort Inn. Especially all the amenities and services at NO ADDED COST! Yeah for the pocket book. We'll keep it your secret retreat! Thanks for your business and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Cal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

An older property with a very attractive outside area. Rooms were satisfactory. The morning breakfast was available on 'real' plates with 'real' silverware, something I have not seen at any of the 'value' locations. The woman monitoring the breakfast area was quite pleasant and did a good job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you your kind words. We value all of our staff and our breakfast ladies do a phenomenal job. Using silverware and china at breakfast does help with our "Green" efforts without increasing room rates! Hope to see you on your return trip to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

affordable place, clean, not in the middle of too much traffic and right near the fairgrounds. They have a buffet breakfast with variety that includes real food to get your day started,not fancy but adequate..I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We are glad you were able to enjoy our comfortable rooms and our location in Monterey which is close to many attractions and venues in Monterey including spectacular beaches. We look forward to having you stay with us on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

A rain storm broke just as we were passing through Monterey on our way to camp at Big Sur, so we decided at the last minute to stay in Monterey overnight because no one likes to set up camp in the rain. Thank goodness we are in the internet age! We were able to go online at a Starbucks and find a place at a bargain price that would also take our dog. Usually, I have found that there is a surchage of $25-50 for each pet, but at the Comfort Inn, pets stay free! Our room was basic but comfortable, and most importantly, very clean for a pet designated room. There was no trace that other dogs had stayed there before. I would just warn that the toilet has a very strong flush that is quite loud and might be starling to a dog or young child.

The complimentary breakfast was more than satisfactory with hot items like fresh waffles, sausages and eggs, and the other usual breakfast items such as toast, bagels, and cereal. I would call this Comfort Inn a great discovery. The only people who could be disappointed are people expecting luxury accomondations at bargain prices. And just because it is dog friendly doesn't mean they have to have a dog run for you too. Go around the block just as you would at home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We are so glad we were able to accommodate last minute reservation for you and your family. We do also accommodate pets under 40lbs in our pet friendly rooms for a small pet fee. And thanks for noticing that there are no traces of pet being in room as we deep clean our pet rooms at departure. Hopefully you don't hit any more storms and if you do keep Comfort Inns in mind!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Address: 2050 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Bay 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in Monterey, Comfort Inn Monterey Bay offers clean and comfortable rooms that include a free hot breakfast serving eggs,sausage,hot freshly made waffles in 2 flavors, fresh fruit,cereals, pastries and much more. Hotel amenities include Jacuzzi and Sauna. Free WIFI. Micro/Fridge in all rooms. Walk to restaurants. Minutes to Fisherman's wharf, Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row. Within 2 miles to beaches and golf. Call hotel for additional information on our Package offers such as the Aquarium package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.