We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely romantic, convenient, and awesome staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save up to 20% now!
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco
1 review
“Extremely romantic, convenient, and awesome staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

This is a delightful inn to stay. It is right on the beach at Monterey. The views are incredible. It is quiet, the staff is most accomodating, and overall, full of romance. It is convenient to walk Cannery Row, the Aquarium, travel to Carmel, the 17 mile drive and just plain wonderful. Very comfortable and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    262
    58
    31
    21
See reviews for
128
1,077
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

I feel in love with the SpinDrift the first time I saw it and it keeps getting better.
I dont even consider looking for somewhere else to stay.
Im relaxed, happy, comfortable, and spoiled there.
I have had many friends go on my word of mouth and they love it to.
It is a true gem and I plan on going as often as I can.
I could just stay in the room and be happy.
Its just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

For sheer pleasure in Cannery Row, you will find no better stay than the Spindrift. The ambiance, comfort of the bed and view are incomparable. The staff are friendly, the breakfast is served in your room and the fireplace sets the mood.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno-visalia ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

When they say ocean view theyre not kidding i could drop a rock from my window into the water at high tide people walking on the beach waves on the rocks gulls they put binoculers by the window for you. wow its got wow.

they said its from the twenties but its nice fresh new linens and fresh paint they said a renovation and they bring you breakfast in your room what a great getaway i felt so refreshed

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Paid for a oceanfront king (2 sides of windows and window seat). Got an "upgrade" with one set of windows, no window seat, 1st floor with noisy neighbors above and on sides, and beach below is now a park with many screaming children. Anytime we needed anything (no glasses in room) it took multiple requests. Was supposed to be a relaxing weekend for our 20th anniversary -- ha.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofIOM, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2009
Feedback is always welcome and considered to be of significant value to our business. We apologize for the guest’s disappointment in room assignment. In reviewing the guest’s reservation, we found that the guest booked a Deluxe Ocean View King room. The guest was assigned one of our largest Deluxe Ocean View King rooms that has an additional step-down seating area in front of the ocean view window that allows for a table and two chairs instead of a window seat. In addition, we are sorry that the guest encountered problems with service as well as noise from the beach that impacted their stay. Let me assure the readers that the guest’s comments have been shared with our staff in an effort to improve guest service.

General Manager
Spindrift Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Our first pleasant surprise was an upgrade to a corner king room on the ocean. The staff were very helpful and outgoing. The morning breakfast serviced in the room was excellent. Also nice to enjoy the wine and cheese in the late afternoon. Overall an excellent one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

My husband took me here fro my 40th bday. We registered sight unseen...which can always be tricky. But were were pleasantly suprised. The room was very nice with a fireplace and view. The room was nicely appointed and ther service was excellent. The location is central to Cannery Row and the beach is right out back. The only downside was the fact that they charge additional for the wireless internet, which is pretty standard now and usually free for a room in this price range. But all in all we plan to make regular trips back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.