We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic unexpected visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic unexpected visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I had been planning a trip along the California coast for my husband, daughter and I. We drove up from San Diego to our first stop in Monterrey. The Spindrift was not our hotel of choice, but upon finding out I messed up the dates of our reservation for the other hotel they referred us to the Spindrift. We had no idea of what to expect but we were just happy that they had a room available for the night.

Upon arriving we were greeted by a very friendly valet attendant and an even friendlier check in desk. Every staff member we encountered on our stay was fantastic and as nice as can be. The lobby was very quaint and charming. We were shown to our room at the end of the hall on the second floor. I could not believe how awesome this room was. It was a corner bay front room. All of the windows fully open to get the fresh sea breeze. There was a small beach right below our window where lots of kids were playing in the surf.

The special details provided at this place really made staying there an experience to remember. In the room they provide binoculars so you can view the wildlife. They have wine and cheese in the lobby in the evenings. They brought a little vase with a rose to the room shortly after check in. They provide complimentary continental breakfast delivered right to your room. There was a fireplace in the room, but we did not use it. My favorite part was the window seat and the fact that the windows fully opened.

Our one night at this hotel was not enough. I wish we had cancelled the reservations at the original hotel and stayed here another night. I could have spent all day sitting in the widow seat staring out at the bay. We saw sea lions, otters and tons of birds from the window. It was truly one of the most memorable parts of our trip.

Room Tip: Splurge for a bay front room, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    259
    58
    30
    21
See reviews for
125
1,068
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I ALWAYS stay at Marriotts, but took a chance on this hotel.
It's good to take chances sometimes.
From the warm and welcoming check in, to the overall hospitality of the housekeeping staff, an incredible experience.
The room was one of the most quaint and unique rooms I've stayed in.
In the heart of Cannery Row, you can beat this beautiful hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience. We are all delighted that our intimate location and attentive staff were able to leave you with such a memorable stay. Due to our size we have the luxury of offering our guests a more personalized experience and are truly thrilled that you felt this. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

For our anniversary this year we spent some time in Monterey. Since it was a special occasion, we decided to stay at an inn that was a bit more expensive, but highly recommended(by Trip Advisor visitors).
Our time at Spindrift was fantastic! We had a room on the fourth floor overlooking the bay. A great decision (by my wife).
The service is impeccable, the management is extremely courteous, the location perfect and amenities superb. We highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Try for the fourth floor, great views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronado
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a very bad experience at the Spindrift Inn. When I booked, I had asked about noise from Cannery Row, and I was told 1) that there was an ordinance banning noise after 10 pm, and 2) that the rooms were soundproof.

We arrived on a Friday night for what was to have been a 3-night stay. The staff were welcoming and helpful. Our 4th floor room was small but cozy; the bathroom was also small.

The night was a nightmare. Music blared until past midnight, and bass made the room vibrate. There was absolutely no chance of sleeping. Hotel residents or staff banged doors throughout the night. There was also hammering from somewhere starting at 5 am,

In the morning we checked out; the staff found us rooms at a nearby hotel--which was even more expensive.

Very, very disappointing.

Room Tip: I do not know if there are any quiet rooms in this hotel
See more room tips
Green Features: Whatever else this hotel has or does, it cannot make up for a ruined night and ruined next day.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We are very appreciative of your review and disappointed that your stay was less than restful. Cannery Row is a very vibrant community and we are sincerely sorry that the information shared did not accurately describe the environment. In 2013, we did install double pane windows to provide a more comfortable guest experience by minimizing exterior noise transmissions. Guest comfort is a top priority of ours and we are very sorry that noise continued beyond reasonable hours. In response, we have reviewed with our onsite security to try to prevent future noise disturbances from occurring by contacting the nearby establishments if the noise levels seem to be inappropriate. Thank you again for your feedback as it is truly valued and will be used to help us improve.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlake oh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Spent two nights at. Spindrift and was overwhelmed by the hospitality. Starting with the wine and cheese when we arrived through breakfast in bed, the staff could not do enough for us. We recommend staying two nights to benefit from the full ambiance of the inn and Cannery Row. Also, it is well worth the upcharge for a room overlooking the bay. It was very relaxing sitting with the window open listening to the waves lapping and watching the f lames in the gas log fireplace. Spindrift is definitely on our list to visit again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Spindrift In for one evening this past week on our way to Washington. The hotel is located on Cannery Row and the shoreline of Monterey Bay. Upon check-in, you are greeted by a valet, in our case Michael. Very nice and helpful young man. He brought our bags to the room, explained all of the room features, and parked my truck. By the way, they have a cheese, cracker and wine serving upon checking in in the late afternoon, early evening. Decent wine and good cheeses. If you have never been to Cannery Row in the evening, it is very noisy (in a good way) and active. Our room overlooked the road, which I would not recommend if you need to catch an early night's sleep. You can close the windows, but there is no a/c. If you need quiet, pay the extra and get a room on the other side of the building overlooking the bay. The room is relatively small, but comfortable. Two easy chairs and a wood burning fireplace, which would be great for a winter stay. An additional bonus is that there is a roof top deck with tables and chairs for relaxing during the happy hour. We actually enjoyed the busyness of the street and the many sea gulls....cover your head if walking in the morning. All in all, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The noise level from the street can be annoying until about 10:00 PM. If so, get a room over lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place is really nice. Right on cannery row so good for bars and restaurants. Don't pay for valet parking because you can park on street for free nearby. We had a street view, which was good but the sea view was better. Only criticism is that the roof terrace is bare and should be developed as a bar. Stay for 3 nights.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.