We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wine Reception
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We vacationed at the Spindrift last week (Nov 2013) as a part of our California coast Babymoon. It was wonderful. It was a great location, walkable to shops, restaurants and the Aquarium. Our room was clean, bed was SO comfortable and we loved the wood burning fireplace. Staff was very friendly. We highly recommend it and it lives up to the 'most romantic' title.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe king. Worth the extra price for a corner room with a view, we were able to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    250
    57
    30
    21
See reviews for
117
1,041
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were on a PCH road trip and in town (with no prior reservations). I usually stay at Marriott property's and we were just going to stay at the Marriott in town. However a deal popped up on Expedia for Spindrift; it had great reviews and a great last minute price deal ($169) so we went with it.

I travel a lot for business and am a bit of a hotel snob, so I was nervous to stay in a property that I was not familiar with.

WOW, I was very pleasantly surprised. It was right on the beach, had great views of the bay and Cannery row and it was so charming. We had a second floor corner room. It wasn't really a suite, b/c it was just one room, but it was spacious and quaint all at the same time. Big fluffy comfy bed with canopy, vaulted ceilings, fireplace with 2 large comfy chairs, multiple window seats, fridge and bar area. And Aveda toiletries in the bathroom. The way they had the room laid out with the different areas (and especially the area with the fireplace, flat screen TV, chairs) it felt like a suite. I'm not into romantic "foofy" / flowery type hotels; but this property was great and it all worked. I would classify it as a luxury boutique hotel.

The staff was fantastic and very accommodating. We liked it so much that we almost booked a second night, but we needed to move on in order to keep with the timeline of our PCH road trip.

Another plus: complementary breakfast delivered to your room in the morning. I highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor all have vaulted ceilings. We had a corner room/suite and it was very spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently for one night and are planning a second stay very soon. Hotel is absolutely so quaint, all staff so helpful and friendly. Wine tasting before dinner an absolute treat. We loved having breakfast served to our room. Beds are so comfortable. We absolutely recommend this place!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a somewhat challenging review to write because I truly have mixed feelings about this place. On the one hand it was a good location on cannery row within easy access to attractions. On the other hand the staff of this place did not have their act together. The many frustrations started with the card keys that would not work. Once the card key did work it turned out that the room was not ready. Finally once I was given access to a room, things were smoother. The room itself is gorgeous with a fireplace, large comfortable bed, and a good view. The parking also proved to be quite an issue. When I called the hotel to book the reservation they advised me that they offer valet parking for > $20 or self park for fifteen. Upon my arrival they informed me that self parking equates to me finding a city garage at my leisure. As it turns out there are quite a few garages with varying rates and I did not appreciate having to spend the extra time to remedy this issue. Speaking of remedying this issue, the hotel offered no recourse for my troubles and inconveniences. Bottom line is that it’s a generally decent place that is poorly managed.

Room Tip: may not go smoothly…
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

So glad we opted for a sea view room. This was simply the most lovely hotel room we have ever stayed in.

Nice touches, such as real log fire (which we embarrassingly set fire alarm off with, not a problem for the understanding staff), binoculars and breakfast in bed.

Wish we had stayed longer than 2 nights, will definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here for one night as a stopover on the drive down Highway 1 from San Francisco to Santa Barbara and wished I could have stayed longer. I paid extra for a room with an ocean view and it was definitely worth it, the view was fantastic and it was so nice to be able to open the window and hear the sea right below you room.

The room was very well decorated with a very comfortable bed, and the complimentary breakfast provided to your room was excellent. The only slight downside is that there was no obvious parking near the hotel so I had to use the valet parking, but this was very reasonably priced compared to some other places I stayed.

I stayed in 12 hotels during my trip round the US and this was one of the very best, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a room with an ocean view, it's definitely worth the expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great spot to stay while in Monterey. This old building has plenty of charm and a great staff. We booked a room the night before we arrived for $169. Some of our friends had stayed here before and told us about it. We got a room that faced the main street and it had a small balcony. The room was setup so you don't see the bathroom or front door when lying in bed. The wood burning fire place makes it feel like a room in your house and not a hotel. A mini fridge and snacks are provided in the room but are an extra charge if you indulge. The complementary breakfast that is delivered on a silver tray in the morning was great. It enabled us to relax and not run out for breakfast. I would advise any of my friends or family to stay here if they are in the area.

Room Tip: We really liked the view of the main street. I think I would pick it again over the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear zvelivis,

Thank you for your kind review of the Spindrift Inn. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your Cannery Row view room during your stay. We think the comforting touches, such as our warm fireplaces and our complimentary breakfasts, are truly a welcoming treat for our guests. It means so much to us that you would recommend our hotel to your friends and family. I can’t wait to welcome you back for another wonderful Monterey experience.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.