We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wine Reception
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The reserved space outside the hotel, the reasonably priced valet parking and the thoroughly pleasant and helpful staff all helped to ensure our arrival and transfer were handled very efficiently. We had a most interesting and well appointed room with a large balcony overlooking Cannery Row. The breakfast delivered to the room was certainly more than good enough and the return of our car carried out promptly. The location and facilities are first rate. Unless you are terminally curmudgeonly I am sure you will love it here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    251
    57
    30
    21
See reviews for
118
1,041
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

First the location is fabulous. We had a corner bay room view which was gorgeous as was the room. I would have liked more shampoo conditioner as we were 2 but you could ask for extra. My first gripe was the description of honour bar that suggests a bar in your mini fridge. No only water and coke which you pay for . My second gripe was the lack of any drinks available in your room Often after dinner and with the lovely rooms and views it would have been nice to have been able to have cognac cocktail drink in your room (you could buy a bottle or enjoy the complimentary wine at 4). My third gripe and most important was the simply appalling breakfast. Delivery of it is very noisy I expect because everyone asks for the same time. The toast arrives soggy unappetising. The jam is in cheap pre-packed canteen containers. the juice is horrible and its extraordinary that in California no effort was made to give a a fresh juice What should be offered is fresh juices a beautiful basket of hot toast croissants danish etc which look and taste nice with maybe a flower. The fruit plate was indifferent. The whole thing lacked thought taste and was below the standard of the rooms and what you would expect The staff were helpful and non intrusive.

Room Tip: the corner rooms with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Situated right in Cannery Row and a short walk from the bars and restaurants. On arrival we were offered a glass of wine (the hotel has a free wine and cheese service every evening before 6pm). Check in was effortless and we were soon in our room which overlooked the sea. The rooms are very comfortable, especially the bed. There are fireplaces in each room that are gas fired to light but with a supply of logs. Breakfast is included and is room service only so breakfast in bed is the way to start the day. I would highly recommend this hotel, its very good value, the staff are very warm and welcoming and the location is superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - they are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My sisters & I were planning a trip to see the Monterey Jazz festival.
We stayed at the beautiful shabby chic Spindrift Inn. From the moment we walked in we were warmly greeted by Paul, a manager there. He treated us like we were old friends, and recommended the restaurant next door, that was fabulous! I loved our room, we were on the 4th floor with an amazing water view. Our huge room had a real wood burning fireplace, soft comfortable beds,and pecky cypress ceilings.We left the windows open to enjoy the cool air, and listen to the sea birds, and seals. Continental breakfast was included in the price, and delivered each morning to our room.
The staff could not be more accommodating from the free valet parking, to finding us "honey" for our coffee. If I could afford it, I would retire & live in that fabulous room!

Room Tip: Absolutely get a room with a water view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle towels, gas& wood fireplaces. I wasn't aware of any extraordinary practices/
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Arrived without Hotel reservations in Monterey. Saw that Spindrift Inn gets good reviews so decided to walk in and ask for a room. Luckily the had one.
Every member of the staff was so nice. They all have genuine intrest in your well being at their property. Also the complimentary wine and cheese served from 4.30 to 6 pm in the lobby was a cool perk. Met some nice people there.
The rooms are not really my style. It's more like visiting your grandmother. But whatever something different. Good change of pace from all the stays at W's and Gansevoort's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Spindrift and loved it. Enjoyed the four poster and having breakfast delivered exactly as you asked and when you asked for it. Sitting in front of the fire eating our breakfast and looking out over the ocean. Wow, cant be beat.

Sleep quality was great as well, cracked the windows and heard the waves all night, but it was very quiet otherwise, so a perfect sleep.

loved it.

Room Tip: go for the ocean view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This charming hotel provided beautiful ocean views, in room log fires, coffee maker, fresh in room breakfast and attentive staff, perfect stay thank you. The easy access to Cannery row and valet parking (charge) was ideal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.