We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save up to 20% now!
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Situated right in Cannery Row and a short walk from the bars and restaurants. On arrival we were offered a glass of wine (the hotel has a free wine and cheese service every evening before 6pm). Check in was effortless and we were soon in our room which overlooked the sea. The rooms are very comfortable, especially the bed. There are fireplaces in each room that are gas fired to light but with a supply of logs. Breakfast is included and is room service only so breakfast in bed is the way to start the day. I would highly recommend this hotel, its very good value, the staff are very warm and welcoming and the location is superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - they are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    262
    58
    31
    21
See reviews for
128
1,077
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My sisters & I were planning a trip to see the Monterey Jazz festival.
We stayed at the beautiful shabby chic Spindrift Inn. From the moment we walked in we were warmly greeted by Paul, a manager there. He treated us like we were old friends, and recommended the restaurant next door, that was fabulous! I loved our room, we were on the 4th floor with an amazing water view. Our huge room had a real wood burning fireplace, soft comfortable beds,and pecky cypress ceilings.We left the windows open to enjoy the cool air, and listen to the sea birds, and seals. Continental breakfast was included in the price, and delivered each morning to our room.
The staff could not be more accommodating from the free valet parking, to finding us "honey" for our coffee. If I could afford it, I would retire & live in that fabulous room!

Room Tip: Absolutely get a room with a water view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle towels, gas& wood fireplaces. I wasn't aware of any extraordinary practices/
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Arrived without Hotel reservations in Monterey. Saw that Spindrift Inn gets good reviews so decided to walk in and ask for a room. Luckily the had one.
Every member of the staff was so nice. They all have genuine intrest in your well being at their property. Also the complimentary wine and cheese served from 4.30 to 6 pm in the lobby was a cool perk. Met some nice people there.
The rooms are not really my style. It's more like visiting your grandmother. But whatever something different. Good change of pace from all the stays at W's and Gansevoort's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Spindrift and loved it. Enjoyed the four poster and having breakfast delivered exactly as you asked and when you asked for it. Sitting in front of the fire eating our breakfast and looking out over the ocean. Wow, cant be beat.

Sleep quality was great as well, cracked the windows and heard the waves all night, but it was very quiet otherwise, so a perfect sleep.

loved it.

Room Tip: go for the ocean view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This charming hotel provided beautiful ocean views, in room log fires, coffee maker, fresh in room breakfast and attentive staff, perfect stay thank you. The easy access to Cannery row and valet parking (charge) was ideal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you want a great getaway from the Vegas heat, come here. Allegiant flys direct. The Spindrift is on the Row and on Canny Row's only beach. Bed & breakfast style. Room 208 is the best. Walk out onto the Row for handy shopping and hopping. The Aquarium at one end and diving at the other. Great walking path along the old railroad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had one night in Monterey on our road trip honeymoon and we were extremely impressed with The Spindrift Inn. The staff were so helpful and polite and our room was amazing. We had a fantastic view over the bay and a lovely fireplace which we made the most of as it was a stormy cold night when we were there. Due to the storm we were unable to do our whale watching trip the following morning but our fantastic night at the Spindrift definitely made up for it. The staff helped us the following morning by booking us tickets to the aquarium instead and dealing with our luggage for us after check out so we could get there early and the Mustang was all packed and ready to go when we returned.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.