We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Cannery Row” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save up to 20% now!
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
“Paradise on Cannery Row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you want a great getaway from the Vegas heat, come here. Allegiant flys direct. The Spindrift is on the Row and on Canny Row's only beach. Bed & breakfast style. Room 208 is the best. Walk out onto the Row for handy shopping and hopping. The Aquarium at one end and diving at the other. Great walking path along the old railroad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    262
    58
    30
    22
See reviews for
128
1,077
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had one night in Monterey on our road trip honeymoon and we were extremely impressed with The Spindrift Inn. The staff were so helpful and polite and our room was amazing. We had a fantastic view over the bay and a lovely fireplace which we made the most of as it was a stormy cold night when we were there. Due to the storm we were unable to do our whale watching trip the following morning but our fantastic night at the Spindrift definitely made up for it. The staff helped us the following morning by booking us tickets to the aquarium instead and dealing with our luggage for us after check out so we could get there early and the Mustang was all packed and ready to go when we returned.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The inn is charming and romantic with fireplace and cozy bed. Everything was clean and the continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese were a nice touch. We really enjoyed the rooftop garden with spectacular views. This is a romantic hotel with good service and is a good value overall. The location is very convenient right at cannery row, not far from the aquarium and plenty of restaurants. We also rented bikes and rode the path to 17mile drive. This is a beautiful track along the coast with breathtaking views. You can make stops for photos and its a great way to take in the historic "drive".

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, Ca
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at Spindrift Inn for the second time (stayed last year at the same time). We were not disappointed. The room was great. We like to have a balcony to sit and drink our wine while people watching on Cannery Row. It is so relaxing. Our room (211) has a sauna, but in our two visits we have never used it. The location of the hotel is perfect! We can easily walk to the Monterey Bay Aquarium or along the beach to see the sea otters and sea lions. The desk is very helpful. They have discount coupons for bike rentals and two day aquarium tickets. The only negative is the parking situation. We always say we are going to park up the street past the aquarium (where parking is free). However, we always get lazy and end up parking at the hotel ($21/night).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place was awesome! My baby and I had a quick romantic stop in Monterey and decided to stay overnight at the Spindrift Inn, and what a great choice! The rooms have a classic coastal decor with the added benefit of a sexy fireplace to warm two bodies up on a cold Monterey night! The view of the bay is wonderful, the staff was friendly, and we will most certainly return again!
One added benefit for avid seaglass hunters: the small beach just below the inn has some very rare colors if you have a good eye. We were able to find several reds and one very coveted orange!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had stayed at the Spindrift in April for our anniversary, and simply loved it (as described in my other review).
This time we had a room on the street side instead of the corner bay view room. We actually enjoyed this room just as much. It has a nice balcony overlooking the action on the street. It's a perfect place to sit with a drink and watch the lines of people and traffic pass by.
We enjoyed the wine happy hour from 4:30 to 6:00 p.m. - a very nice touch by the hotel staff. Thank you!
One think we were concerned about was the traffic noise, but this turned out to be no problem. By 10:00 p.m. the traffic was already slow, and we didn't hear anything all night even with the doors open. NOTE: The Spindrift does not have air conditioning. It's not needed with the Monterey weather. So when the weather is warm, you'll want the doors/windows open to get that nice breeze.
Only other thing to add is that the service by the staff, valet, and housekeeping is excellent all the time. You are always made to feel that you are an honored guest.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquebogue, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The spindrift Inn was delightful.We had an oceanfront room with a working fireplace.The view of the sea otters wrapped in kelp right outside our window was amazing! Breakfast is delivered to your room at the time you choose.Complimentry happy hour daily and even a rooftop seating area to enjoy.The hotel is within walking distance of everything attraction in Monterey.The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: You must get the oceanfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.