We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical seaside room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wine Reception
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Glendale, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magical seaside room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Spindrift Inn for our honeymoon, and it was everything we could have asked for in terms of romance. Our room overlooked the bay from the top floor, and we could see seals, otters, and all sorts of birds every day. The beach directly outside the window is great for searching for pebbles and tidepooling as well. We loved going to sleep in the plush canopy bed each night with the wood-burning fireplace going and the sounds of the ocean outside. The complimentary continental breakfast each morning was delicious. The hotel is close to many restaurants and to the aquarium. While cannery row outside the door is a bit touristy and busy, get an ocean-view room and you'll be in an oasis away from it all.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the ocean--it's worth it Fourth-floor rooms have the best view, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    250
    57
    30
    21
See reviews for
117
1,040
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I enjoy staying at hotels that are destinations in and of themselves. The Spindrift Inn defines that to a"T"! We rarely travel in the summer season and when we do it is to escape the heat where we live for a few days. The king corner room we request is the perfect relaxing "vacation" without leaving the room! A better ocean view and ambiance cannot be found!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wow, what a pleasant surprise. From the outside, and if you didn't read any reviews beforehand, you would never guess how great this place is. The staff knows the art of customer service. The rooms are very quaint, clean, and lack nothing. The location is optimal.

Room Tip: Book early for an ocean-view room. Cannery Row is a bit noisy late night but things do quiet down at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

First , the staff is fantastic. They are very friendly without being condescending. The bedroom and bathroom are clean. Breakfast is brought to your room each day. View is good but the public beach below can be very loud. There is a very nice window bench to sit on and enjoy the view.
The one drawback is way too much furniture in one small space. Besides the king bed and 2 nightstands there are 2 overstuffed chairs/ottoman & a small table and 2 chairs. I think that if they put a small table between the 2 overstuffed chairs and do away with the small table and chairs it would be enough.
We did this trip on a moments notice on the drive to Monterey and tried to book on our mobile phone. No rooms were to be had however upon calling the reservation number we were able to book a room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our rooms on the ocean were beautiful. The view and room layout is superb. The staff was extremely friendly and our rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is in the middle of all the action but was very quiet. Would definitely get an ocean view. There are several nice restaurants in the immediate vicinity and the aquarium is only two blocks away.

Room Tip: Get your tickets for the aquarium at the front desk (discounted rate).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Room was warm & cozy with comfy overstuffed chairs and automan in front of wood-burning fireplace. Can see water from chairs. Large flatscreen TV over fireplace. Can sit in window seat and watch the bay with the binoculars they provide. Room could use some repainting (paint chipped here and there) and the good size table in room (for breakfast and playing games) was a little worn but the room has a very warm feeling to it. Very relaxing. Breakfast delivered to your room at time you request was good. The feather bed needed to be refluffed as it was flat at the sides and had hump in middle. That's really my only complaint. Staff all very kind and polite. Location great for walking Cannery Row and close to many good restaurants and the Aquarium. Valet parking. Will go back again. Good value.
Nancy J

Room Tip: When staying on/near water it is good to bring a little fan to drown out seagulls at night. Not sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the third floor of Spindrift Inn in June 2013. Our stay was memorable. The staff were friendly. The view outside the window, overlooking Monterey Bay, was marvelous and the in-room breakfast (coffee, tea, fresh fruit and juice, toast and bread) was also good. The beds were comfortable along with the cozy fire place. It was very convenient to walk to the Aquarium and have dinner at nearby restaurants (for that we recommend Fish Hopper while friends recommend Old Fisherman's Grotto). Valet parking and WiFi were efficient as well.The only issue we had was being complained about making noise for people downstairs. Yet, the floor squeaks even though we walked very gently. Overall, we’d love to visit Spindrift Inn again. No wonder it is ranked top out of all the hotels in Monterey.
我們住在三樓 - 斯平德里夫特星2013年6月。我們的住宿是難忘的。工作人員很友好。觀窗外,俯瞰蒙特利灣,得神乎其神,並在客房內享用早餐(咖啡,茶,新鮮水果和果汁,烤麵包和麵包)還不錯。伴隨著溫馨的壁爐,床很舒適。這是非常方便,走路到水族館和在附近的餐館吃晚飯(我們建議魚料斗,而朋友推薦老漁翁的石窟)。代客泊車和WiFi是效率well.唯一的問題,我們已經被抱怨樓下的人製造噪音。然而,地板尖叫聲,即使我們走得很輕輕。總體而言,我們很樂意,再次訪問斯平德里夫特酒店。難怪它位列在蒙特雷的所有酒店。

Room Tip: Choose the room facing Monterey Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.