We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer for life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Customer for life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I felt very comfortable and at home. Best service I have had in a long time. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable. Excellent location, close to many attractions. Very reasonable price for all that you receive!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,129
    255
    57
    30
    21
See reviews for
120
1,057
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I never got to have a honeymoon. So after being invited to a beach wedding in Monterey, we decited to make a weekend of it. We looked around and came across spindrift inn. Great reviews and wanted to try it our. Our experience at the hotel was great. We got a room over the ocean which was amazing. We did however have a not so good experience with a person with house keeping. It was a little disappointing start of our stay as we had just arrived. All I'm all. It was a great experience and I'd recommend anyone to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Doormen/valet, front desk, and all staff very friendly, which really makes a difference. It doesn't seem fake or pushed. Be sure to bring money for tips, as all of the helpful workers deserve it.

The Spindrift did not strike us as a place to bring the kids. It is a place to reconnect and enjoy a romantic experience. Rooms are fine - smaller than their commercial hotel cousins - but comfortable and with character. We had a balcony with ocean view and a fireplace. Perfect romantic setting to relax and enjoy a fine glass of wine. Later a fun place to do some people watching on Cannery Row. Note, we did stay on the other side of some bars that can get a little rowdy. Did not bother us since we were on the other side, but something to be aware of when you visit.

Beds & pillows comfortable. Bathroom spacious enough and well lit. Decor is classic and maybe not trendy or to everybodys taste, but fits the building and boutique's romantic setting and the building has little wear and tear. Nice rooftop overlooking either the ocean or Cannery Row - fun to enjoy as the sun is setting. You select from the breakfast menu and they deliver at no extra charge! And ask about their wine and cheese tasting in the early afternoon. :)

Within walking distance of the usual suspects on Cannery Row. This was our first stay here, and if we return to Monterey, the Spindrift will be our hotel choice again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms and rooms facing away from the bar scene down the street are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stumbled onto this place and fell in love. We will certainly be coming back. Beautiful, central location - close to shopping, beach, nature walks, etc. Warm and friendly staff. Great value.

Why does Trip advisor require a minimum review length - this is lame...

Room Tip: get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, CT
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Downtow Monterey along Cannery Row is pretty touristy but if you'll be there anyway, try the Spindrift Inn...it's wonderful. This was our second stay and we just love the ocean front corner rooms. The rooms are very nicely decorated and quite comfortable: great bed and linens, 2 comfortable upholstered arm chairs with a shared ottoman, window seats and a set of binoculars. It's more like a the private residence of a friend who knows how to do it right than a hotel room.
From the comments I've read, not everyone likes the continental breakfast. If you're looking for a big, cooked breakfast - bacon, eggs, etc - go out for breakfast. But if you might enjoy a light breakfast in the privacy of your own room, give it a try.

One tiny disappointment: It sounded like there was a family of baby elephants upstairs from us so next time we stay (and we certainly will), we'll ask for a top floor room.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper or just like a quiet room, ask for a top floor room. There are hard w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in Monterey which was perfect for exploring the 17 mile drive, Carmel & Point Lobos State Park, Pacific Grove and of course Cannery Row. Took other reviewers advise and booked a deluxe corner ocean view king. Arrived on Friday evening after driving down from San Fran: what a delight to drop the car with the valet ($21 daily) and be greeted with the daily wine and cheese reception. Up to the room and every expectation is met: large Victorian themed room, great views, 4 poster princess bed & fireplace. Seals and dolphins in the bay just off the beach, fantastic. Continental breakfast in room most enjoyable. Cannery Row is a busy place but the room is a real refuge and I would not stay anywhere else. Ocean rooms a must for the views and quiet.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, Ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is our 4th time at the Spindrift and ea time has been great. The Room is large enough to be comfortable but cozy and warm. The ocean is outside your window and the view of Monterey harbor is grand. The afternoon wine and chees is the best. You get to meet fellow guesta and talk about things in and around Montery or life in general. The staff is very friendly and knowledge and willing to help with most any request. Highly recommend the Spindrift Inn for any stay in Monterey

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.