We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue, but for a specific kind of experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ocean View from $240
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely venue, but for a specific kind of experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently stayed one night at the Spindrift Inn. There were many things we liked about this place. The room had a fire place, which added to its cozy and romantic feel. It was beautifully decorated/appointed with a very large balcony overlooking Cannery Row. It was a real pleasure to "live in it" for our brief stay. We were also pleasantly surprised by the sound proofing; even though it overlooked Cannery Row we heard nothing of the outside noises even on a busy Saturday night. Breakfast in bed/in the room is standard here, and this was a nice touch. The staff were very attentive. One of the clerks greeted us with a "welcome home" each time we came in, and this little courtesy made a big difference. The location itself - right on Cannery Row - could be a plus or a minus depending on whether you want to be in the thick of the action in the district or you want a slower and quieter pace and view of Monterey Bay. In retrospect, we would have preferred the latter as Cannery Row had too much of a touristy and contrived feel about it. A few things that were less than ideal: breakfast itself was disappointing in terms of choice and quality; very standard fare that wasn't imaginative. Room service is exorbitantly expensive and there is no kitchen on site; food must be brought over (including breakfast) from a sister hotel down the street. There was no parking associated with the hotel, and valet parking was an extra $20 a night. Overall, it was quite expensive for what we got - $250+ a night for a relatively small room. This was more than we paid anywhere else on our Northern California vacation, including the winelands. If we were to go back to this area I would shop around for a smaller B&B experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    251
    57
    30
    21
See reviews for
119
1,054
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My mother and I took a girls trip just for the night and picked the Spindrift because of location and value. We booked a cannery row view because of price. They have valet parking for 21.00 a day with in and out privileges. The staff was welcoming and professional. We asked for a balcony room and we got one with a wrap around porch, view of Cannery Row and peek at the ocean, very nice. Very quiet. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious. The bed was very comfortable as well as the chairs in front of the fireplace. Everything exceeded our expectations EXCEPT the fireplace. The directions for lighting it with gas were simple but even after following them the wood would not light. I retried the next morning and the room became very smokey and set off the smoke alarm! I was done! I would definitely recommend this hotel but don't count on using the fireplace.

Room Tip: If cost is an issue the Cannery Row view rooms are still very nice but ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Surf crashing beneath your windows, waking and falling asleep to the subtle sounds of the sea.

Incredible attention to detail and wonderful caring staff.

Close to aquarium and restaurants .

Well worth the visit and the upgrade to an ocean view room.

Would return if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Peter Z.,

Thank you for your review of the Spindrift Inn. I am so glad you found that our hotel helped make your Monterey experience a special one. I, too, believe that our caring staff, the gorgeous views of the ocean and Cannery Row, our excellent location, and the little details of the Spindrift Inn are all things that set our hotel apart. We hope to see you again when you return for another wonderful Monterey Bay adventure.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at the Spindrift during our honeymoon trip from Vegas to San Francisco and can honestly say that it was one of the highlights. It's a beautiful hotel with gorgeous rooms and a fantastic view. The staff are lovely and helpful too. I would definitely recommend staying and asking for one of the rooms overlooking the water. A magical experience for sure!

Room Tip: Choose a sea front room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Spindrift Inn is located right in the heart of Cannery Row. The staff is excellent and having the valet parking was a big plus. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the street and enjoyed the hustle & bustle while we sipped our wine. Yet the room was very quiet with the door closed. Your within walking distance of excellent food. The hotel made reservations for us at The Sardine Factory which turned out to be our best dinner ever! This will be "our hotel" from now on when visiting Monterey.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Frank D.,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Spindrift Inn. I’m so glad to hear that our staff met your expectations. We’re pleased to be affiliated with the Sardine Factory, which is lauded as a local favorite and has won TripAdvisor’s Award of Excellence. It’s great knowing you had such a superb experience dining with the Sardine Factory! I’m also proud to hear that our amenities, including optional valet parking, great views, an excellent staff, and much more, were able to make your stay that much better! Thank you for making the Spindrift Inn your hotel while staying on the beautiful Monterey Bay.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked the King Corner Suite, it was just as the pictures depicted it. Bed was soft, fireplace was warm and the view spectacular! We will definitely be booking this again. Thank you to all if the staff for being so accommodating and making us feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Needed a room for the night and decided on the spindrift. Great location service was exceptional, clean rooms with great views. The fireplace made the room very cozy and romantic. Withe windows open you could listen to the sound of the ocean and seagulls. We would not hesitate to stay next time We are in the area

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.