We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELL LOCATED ON CANNERY ROW GREAT SERVICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“WELL LOCATED ON CANNERY ROW GREAT SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed just one night here on a trip along route 1.

The hotel is right on the beach and well located in Cannery Row, its quaint, not like the usual hotels we stay in.

Valet parking available I think it was about $20 dollars a night. Check in easy, staff polite and helpful, our room wasnt ready as we arrived early but luggage stored while we went out

The porter was helpful, knowledgeable about local restaurants

The room was fine, had a window seat which was nice to look out at the view and read. A log fire we didnt use, and the breakfast was delivered to the room

There is a daily cheese and wine in the lobby which is great, opportunity to snack and enjoy wine and talk to other guests

Would have liked another night here

Its not plush like the 5* hotels we usually stay in, but its clean, well located and the staff are great. Its just the right sort of hotel for the location. Would stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    242
    56
    29
    21
See reviews for
116
1,017
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We got a room on the 4th floor, water side for two nights. The only rooms with balconies are on the street side, which I don't quite get, but our room had a window seat and two of the windows opened to let in the ocean air and the sound of the waves. When you looked down you could see that the beach came all the way up to the building. I loved to sit and watch the waves. The decor was nice, the single rose in the vase a classy touch. The service was stellar. Each afternoon they serve wine with cheese down in the lobby and the woman who poured the wine was awesome. They included a continental breakfast and delivered it to the room, which was nice. Also nice is they are within walking distance of many restaurants and shops.

Now for areas I feel they could improve. The breakfast choices were nothing special but ok. One request is to say what kind of muffins, yogurts, and toast there is to choose from. Also, I ordered yogurt one morning and it was light yogurt which contains an artificial sugar so I didn't eat it. The desk in the room had an edge that was really scuffed up. I don't get how they could pay attention to little details in some areas and yet not take a touch up pen and spend a minute hiding the scuffs. Also, one other small detail is that we asked for silverware one evening when we picked up food for dinner. The staff was great about getting silverware for us but when we got to the room we saw that the utensils were plastic. This hotel has signs about how concerned they are with the environment and yet they hand out plastic utensils? Also, their garden rooftop - we went up there and sat in some chairs to soak in a bit of sun and read. There is an obnoxious contraption the hotel has placed on the roof that is supposed to keep birds away. It makes a really loud, abrasive noise. I covered my ears each time and ended up leaving because it was so disruptive. And if hotel management reads this I want you to know that there was a big seagull sitting on the rooftop and the noise didn't bother the bird at all! A few basic changes would make this place a five star resort but for now I have to give them four.

Room Tip: get a room on the water side unless you'd rather people watch then fall asleep to the sound of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were travelling from Australia and hired a car to drive from LA to San Francisco. We took the coastal road and gave ourselves 2 days to get there. Not sure where we were going to stay, a few people had mentioned Monterey. We drove along Cannery Row looking for a nice spot and once we walked into the Spindrift Inn we knew we'd be happy to splurge a little for one night.

It was quite pricey, but we had free wifi, a gorgeous quaint room with gas wood fire and ocean views. There was a complimentary breakfast delivered to our door in the morning, and we got to request the type and time. The bed was to die for, so comfortable! After a long day of driving we had the best sleep we'd had in a long time.

It is in an excellent location with lots of nice restaurants very close by. Staff were very friendly and more than happy to help us. Wish it was closer so we could go more often.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. From the minute we drove up the staff took very good care of us. We were in 403 with a great view of the ocean and small beach. There is a nice window seat and binoculars provided. We spent a lot of time looking at the sea otters. The bed was very comfortable and it was so nice to have coffee and then breakfast delivered. We also really enjoyed the fireplace which added to the romance.
Great location and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Mi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've never stayed in a B & B, but this is what I would imagine one to be like! From the moment we walked in the front door, past the fireplace where guests were gathered having wine and cheese (a daily ritual), we were greeted by a nice lady at the front desk who checked us in quickly and efficiently. We were shown to our room (only 45 rooms total) on the 4th floor and entered into a quaint, small room, decorated in tiny flowers on the comforter, with big pillows. A wood-burning fireplace with a flat-screen tv above it. Wooden windows that actually opened up! A small, but effective bathroom, complete with a dry-sauna. Our room faced Cannery Row, which was lovely at nights with the street lights shining. The only negative being on the Cannery Row side of the hotel was that the delivery trucks came through about 5:30 a.m. but it only lasted a few minutes. A continental breakfast (complimentary) was delivered to our room each morning, on a silver tray, at the time we requested. You can choose what you'd like to eat! The entire staff at the hotel was pleasant, friendly and accommodating. The hotel's location was central: you can walk to numerous restaurants, running/walking trail one block away, the ocean on the other side of the hotel, the aquarium (great!) was 2 blocks away, with many unique little stores up and down Cannery Row. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We liked the Cannery Row side of the hotel, but if you want a view of the ocean, ask for the ocean s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Definitely coming back in this place & we will recommend to our friends & Relatives. Great location & very convenient to Monterey bay Aquarium, Ghiraldelli, Restaurants & Stores.
We stayed 2 nights we had a great experience & the staff are AWESOME!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is such a neat hotel in a beautiful place. We absolutely loved having the fireplace in our room...just be careful lighting the logs so the smoke doesn't come into the room like it did us...the smoke alarm going off was really embarrassing. The windows open out to the beach below where you can watch otters playing in the surf. Walk to The Fish Hopper restaurant next door and enjoy a delicious steak on their heated porch overlooking the sea. The wine and cheese hour held in the lobby was a nice touch with yummy cheese and crackers. Strangely at around 3am the mexican restaurant next door decided to start construction which woke us up and kept us awake for a while, but this had nothing to do with the hotel and in hindsight should have called downstairs to them and see if they could do something about it. My only complaint was that the beds weren't so comfortable; they put a feather topper on top of the mattress and all the feathers were bunched in the center of the bed so I literally had to roll over a lump of feathers to snuggle with my husband. Great ambiance, great location, so so bed...but a great end to our honeymoon trip down the coast.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view...it is worth it. Use your AAA discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.