We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance Defined!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wine Reception
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Anaheim Hills, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romance Defined!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 17th anniversary this weekend at the Spindrift Inn and having spent at least a dozen previous anniversaries there, it continues to be remarkable! The rooms are highlighted by the wood floors, cozy down bed linens, wood burning fireplaces, and the window boxes that open to a breathtaking view of the bay. On one of the days we stayed in our bathrobes and didn't leave the room until dinner time. We rushed through dinner and headed straight back to our cozy romantic retreat. Each night as we returned from dinner, the staff would greet us with "Welcome Home" and we truly feel at home at the Spindrift, minus the kids, the dog, the traffic... We can hardly wait to return “Home” next year...

Room Tip: The Bay View Rooms are the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    250
    57
    30
    21
See reviews for
117
1,041
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My Husband and I loved our stay. A wonderful room - one the best we have stayed in, and we have stayed at quite a few hotels! Our room overlooked the sea and the combination of the view framed by the window seat, the high ceiling, the fireplace, very comfortable beds and the thoughtful items such as binoculars, food items and all the other small things made it feel decadent yet homely. We did not pre-book the room, we were walk-ins and arrived late on Friday night after driving all day (purely so that we could eat at the Whaling Station Restaurant!) so struck lucky with this hotel.

The staff were very welcoming, friendly and always greeted you when coming into reception. I really appreciated their complementary breakfast service - it was so nice not to need to leave your room and had everything on the menu you could want.

We only intended to stay one night in Monterey but stayed on for two just because the hotel was so nice. We visited the Aquarium in the morning and found ourselves walking through the throng of tourists back to the hotel to enjoy a peaceful, relaxing afternoon sea lion spotting in our room rather than walk around the town! After all... who needs anything more!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms overlooking the sea, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here i June while on a road trip with my gf as a stopover before going back home. We got a corner room facing the Canary Row and the room was very comfortable! There is a fireplace that works with a flat screen TV above it.
We really enjoyed the bed, although soft, had good support.
One can see that the room, and especially the bathroom is a bit dated, but it does not matter because it has so much ambiance and style to it.
The staff at The Spindrift Inn are most welcoming!
Would stay again:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst travelling from San Francisco to Los Angeles. On entering the building, the lobby is immediately impressive and inviting, with a large fireplace and comfortable seats in the atrium. My booking was processed quickly and efficiently by a friendly member of staff. We opted for the valet parking, which while perhaps a little expensive, is a useful optional extra that is convenient and hopefully more secure than parking elsewhere.

The room, like the rest of the hotel, was finished to a high standard. Like the lobby, it has a cosy feel to it, and included a fireplace. We were in one of the rooms facing Cannery Row which don't provide the great ocean views that some of the rooms do, but that wasn't a problem.

Wi-fi is free, but it did require reconnecting quite often, which was a little annoying, but understandable. Breakfast is brought to the room, which is great, but I thought the breakfast could have been better. It was more like a light snack than a proper breakfast.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is comfortable, the rooms well equipped, and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights to kick off our honeymoon road trip down the PCH. The Spindrift is very convenient for a short stay since it is right in Cannery Row. The rooms were quiet and well furnished and the staff was very helpful. The atmosphere was great and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel isn't in the best condition though. The window sill in our room was broken and we were without hot water both mornings (it was luke warm). The silver platter breakfast was a nice touch, but contained the basic items you would find at a much cheaper hotel's continental breakfast. Overall, we enjoyed the stay, but would choose to stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Congratulations, mjogger, on your wedding! At the Spindrfit Inn, the romance of our hotel is one of our proudest accomplishments, and we are so glad we got to be a part of your celebration!
That being said, please know that we will be starting a whole-hotel upgrade of our windows, starting December 1st. The new windows will be of a modern, double-paned variety, and will provide improved insulation for the rooms. During the installation, the framing of the windows (including the sills) will also be improved, and we hope that you will consider a return trip so that you can experience the improvements for yourself.

Thank you, again! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about the Spindrift Inn, which has become a regular destination point for the occasional "weekend getaway." There are a couple of favorite rooms; one on the ocean side, where you can hear and see the waves crashing beneath your window while enjoying the spectacular sights of Monterey Bay, and one on the street side when you want to sit on the balcony and enjoy people watching and the hustle of Cannery Row. The staff has always been very accomodating with our requests. Regardless of the location of your room, you will always find it extremely clean, cozy, and comfortable... a little bit of luxury on Cannery Row.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The beds are divine, the rooms are divine, the complimentry breakfast is divine, the complimentry wine in the foyer in the afternoon was divine, the location is divine, the service is divine.

We arrived at Monterey and found this gem in the most wonderful location in Monterey.

I am all for location for a hotel and the quality. This one is excellent.

From the 'Welcome Home' greeting when you come back to the hotel, the cosy lounge room with a fireplace in the hotel room, the most comfortable beds and pillows, the romantic bay window with the most amazing view of the water and beach... why on earth would you stay anywhere else in Monterey.

My family loved this hotel and this wonderful seaside town.

Room Tip: Oh, a water view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.