We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wine Reception
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Hollister, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

spindrift in is such a comfortable hotel, pictures on website are actually true.. our room looked just like the pictures. we had a canery row view which was amazing.. most comfortable beds ever, breakfast served in room in the morning. valet parking a little high $21 nite but well worth it. Never had to get our car while we were there. walked everywhere. great restraunts, bars, all around us. I will definatley stay again, hopefully in near future and try the ocean view rooms.. Fireplace in every room. i cannot say enough about this hotel. love it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    250
    57
    30
    21
See reviews for
118
1,041
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at Monterey Inn for 4 nights at end of September. Hotel was inviting and staff made you feel very welcome each time you returned. The wine and cheese in the early evening was most welcome. Our room was on 2nd floor and had really comfortable bed but it was just so noisy, every time the room above flushed the toilet the noise of the water woke you up. The bathroom was small and could do with some renovation to bring it up to date, water didn't drain out of bath fast enough so you ended up standing in water while having a shower. Would stay at this hotel again but only on the top floor.

Room Tip: As for a room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you want to just kick back and relax this is the place to go. With an ocean front room you can sit on the window bench, open the windows and totally enjoy Monterey Bay. All the rooms have fire places and very comfortable beds. The complementary continental breakfast is just right to get your day started. The complementary wine and cheese in the lobby, in the late afternoon, gives you chance to meet some of the other guests and share in nice conversation. The hotel is only about a block from the Monterey Bay Aquarium and right on Cannery Row.
My wife and I have stayed at the Spindrift several times and plan on returning. A great place to spend your time in Monterey.

Room Tip: Ocean veiw rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conn.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for a couple nights recently and loved it! We had a corner king deluxe suite. It had a fireplace and nice flat screen tv above it with a VERY comfy bed! The location was right in the heart of Cannery Row so it was perfect to walk the street area with all the restaurants and stores. We celebrated our 25th anniversary here and everyone made it so special. We received a little box of chocolates from the hotel with a nice card. The valet parking was very convenient (although not complimentary) and the afternoon wine and cheese hour was very nice. We loved everything about this hotel! It's well worth the money. Especially for a special occasion. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The deluxe king corner room was beautiful and worth the money. It had a gorgeous view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The location of this hotel is it's greatest asset. We were able to park the car and walk, bike and kayak to see everything. We rented bikes nearby and biked 17mi drive. The daily in room breakfasts were such a treat and the choices were healthy and helped jump start the day. The hotel arranged kayaking in the bay with Adventures by the Sea, which was a fantastic way to see everything in the bay and learn lots. They also recommended a wine tour company which guided us through the River Road region. The daily wine receptions were fantastic (solid local Syrah) and we took our wine upstairs to the room top terrace. The fireplace was also a great touch! Overall, the hotel was typical of an older hotel, but the service and location really helping to set it apart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I recently went to California for a two-week trip, and just happened to schedule a night at this hotel because I've heard from so many people how wonderful Monterey is. Well it just so happens that this one night was the best night of the entire trip - I wish we had stayed here the whole time!

We had signed up for a street-view room, but they were overbooked on that level room and therefore upgraded us to a sea-view. I literally cannot explain in words how great of a time I had here. It was sparkling clean with a gas burning fireplace (they also have wood burning, but we happened to get a gas one), beautifully renovated large bathroom, nice amenities (aveda products), and fine linens for the bedding. We had a large window overlooking the beach and pier, and you could open the windows out to the ocean.

Tip - They have a wine hour in which you can try different types of wines and cheeses. We took ours up to the rooftop deck which had a beautiful view, a rose garden, and it smelled like a campfire (in a good way) because of all of the wood burning fireplace chimneys.

The best part of the stay was that in the morning, they bring you breakfast in your room and you can open up the large windows and watch the wildlife. We saw seals and sea lions sleeping and playing on the rocks just off the beach. They were hilarious to watch (they kept pushing each other off the rocks when the tide came in), really cute, and the hotel provides binoculars so you can get a better view. We also saw sea otters floating around and just to top it off a couple of dolphins were jumping in the little cove outside our window. It was so nice to sip my tea, and just relax for a while taking in the beauty of Monterey from the room. Make sure to bring your camera!!!

We will definitely be back, and this time for longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good location but it is on Cannery Row so there are a lot of tourists walking around (us too!). I highly recommend getting an ocean view room. It was great! You can open the windows and hear the waves. The room had a fireplace which worked great. Beds were super comfortable. The complimentary wine and cheese was great! We took some of it (along with a cooler) up to the sun deck and just sat, drank, ate and looked out on the ocean in the late afternoon. They also have a good complimentary breakfast. We stayed here on our anniversary. Service at the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.