We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Cannery Row” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Save Saved
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Wine Reception
Ranked #2 of 53 hotels in Monterey
South Pasadena
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“In the heart of Cannery Row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Lovely hotel with fireplace in the room and a balcony overlooking Cannery Row.
Interesting and unique hotel.
Within walking distance of all Cannery Row shops and restaurants.
Valet parking at $21 per night unless you can find street parking.
Excellent starting point for golf and cycling along the coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,053
    228
    53
    27
    21
See reviews for
110
975
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saugus, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I cannot recommend enough the Spindrift Inn.....wonderful location, rooms fabulous and very romantic.....loved loved the big overstuffed chairs in front of the gas fireplace...We felt like we were in a European Boutique hotel......We stayed in the Ocean view King - 4th floor.....loved it...

The inn is in walking distance to the aquarium, lots of places to eat....quaint shops....You won't be disappointed with this wonderful luxury inn.

Room Tip: ask for the king ocean view or deluxe king corner rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a beautiful inn right on the ocean. I mean right, directly on the ocean. We had an "ocean view" room which puts every other "ocean view" room you've ever been in to shame. It wasn't so much an ocean view as it was basically on the beach. When the tide is high it sort of disappears below the windows. Speaking of windows- our room had a lovely window seat over the ocean with very large windows that opened. The decor is bit dramatic and quite feminine- like a classy version of a pre-teen Princess fantasy room- probably what you'd expect from the "most romantic hotel" in the country. The fireplace burns actual wood (I know, weird, huh?) and the room smells like the fresh cut wood when you walk in. The bed is a big, fluffy featherbed. The staff is very kind and accommodating. The location couldn't be better. In the oceanview room we didn't hear any sounds at all from Cannery Row even though there was a huge street party going on. The rooms are expensive in the summer but more affordable in the winter and spring. It's probably not a place I could afford to stay for a full week, but if you can you absolutely should. For me this is a weekend or long weekend place and it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelousas, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I just came back from a week vacation in California, four nights of which were spent in Monterey. Originally, we had booked the Hyatt Regency Resort and Spa which was a complete bust upon arrival. The room resembled a run of the mill $89-$100 hotel, not the $359/night we were paying. After cancelling the rest of our stay inside the first hour, we made reservations at the Spindrift on Cannery Row and we were on our way.
Upon arriving at the Spindrift, we knew our choice was the right one. The staff was genuinely happy to be there and showed interest in their guests. Every aspect of the stay, from the wood burning fireplace, featherbed mattress, breakfast service in room, afternoon wine and cheese,maid service, to the rooftop viewing of the sunset, were all on par with the highest quality hotel stay that we have ever encountered. Oh, by the way, I had a wake up call for 4am for our flight out. We called to have the car brought up for us. I was informed that they were aware of our departure and the car was waiting by the front door for us. Have you ever had that kind of service????
We have traveled the world over and I promise you, this one is a gem. Do not miss it if you are traveling to the Monterey/Carmel area,

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the ocean view. Incredibly quiet and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Spindrift was, without doubt, one of the most romantic evenings imaginable. From check-in through check-out, the staff was first class. The room decor was perfect, and only matched by the view of the water, with seals and otters a stones throw away. Sitting in front of the wood burning fireplace with the cool Bay breezes and the sound of the waves, you couldn't script a more relaxing setting, one we will surely return to for those future special occasions.

Room Tip: Corner water view could not have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a wonderful anniversary trip we had at the Spindrift. The only thing difficult about the stay was choosing whether to hang out in the window-seat and watch the porpoises leaping out in the bay, rest in the easy chairs in front of the real wood fireplace or to burrow into the exquisitely soft bed. Friendly staff and an atmosphere that truly feels like vacation.

Be aware that the parking is challenging and they have a semi-mandatory valet parking fee added to your room. If you prefer to manage your own vehicle there is a limited amount of street parking and a nice garage belonging to another hotel nearer than the one they use, who will let you park for $16 a night if not full.

If you provide your email address when you stay you will receive offers for discounted rooms during their off-season.

Room Tip: Ocean view is mandatory :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Based o a friend's recommendation, we booked two nights here for our 20 year anniversry. the room was great, very relaxing decor, and we loved the wood buring fire place. We booked the corner view room, but it is unnecessary because the one corner view was of old remnants and the El Torito restaurant. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and cheerful. Parking our car for $21 a day was great and we accessed it several times a day. I wish they had cleaned the windows of the room more frequently to really appreciate the views with the binnoculars they give you to use. Also, I suggest tie backs because the drapes keep getting in the way if you want to sit in the corner of the window seat. Breakfast was okay, nothing special, but the silver tray and eating it in our robes in front of the fire with the windows open was what made it special. I would recommend getting an ocean view rather than the cannery row view. Also, the room was very quiet and the wine and cheese was a great touch when we checked in.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra for the corner ocean view rooms because the views of one side are restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.