We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Monterey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Save Saved
You added Spindrift Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Phoenix
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Monterey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel is fantastic. You are right on Cannery Row in the middle of everything going on. The rooms are great with a fireplace, and just unique compared to normal hotel rooms. The service was superb and I would stay there any time I was in Monterey. You can even sit on the roof and drink wine at tables and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,064
    233
    54
    28
    21
See reviews for
112
990
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at the Spindrift Inn and were pleasantly surprised at our room, it was quaint with a fireplace and balcony. The only negative about our experience was the amount of road noise which was not a problem for sleeping, by bedtime the road noise had subsided but during the day and early evening it was a little bit louder. We would stay again without hesitation. We slept with our balcony doors open and had an amazing sea breeze in our room.

We enjoyed the breakfast delivered to our room .. The coffee was EXCELLENT!

The staff were professional and helpful. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was only in Monterey for a night but decided to splurge on this hotel - a great decision! Make sure to get an ocean view room - so worth it . Even though it was mid-June , it was cool enough in the evening and early morning to enjoy a fire. The breakfast was perfect for me, presentation just lovely and icing on the cake was to sit in front of fire enjoying my morning coffee (+ ocean view). Staff are outstanding. A most pleasant stay. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ocean view room offers an outstanding view + nice cool breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

One of the finest hotels we ever stayed at throughout the world. From the exceptional staff to the charming rooms and overall ambience, you can't go wrong !!!

Room Tip: Go for the corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent our honeymoon in this hotel 9 years ago and were impressed with the location and the quality of this hotel. This time it was just for a weekend getaway and we stayed in a room facing the street, rather than facing the ocean. The scene from the balcony was an added attraction, almost like being on Bourbon St. in New Orleans, where we admired the hustle and bustle of tourists going through the shops across the street. Even being on a busy street, once you closed the balcony door, the room was cozy and quiet, and we enjoyed the fireplace on a foggy summer evening. We showed up after lunch and the room was not read for occupancy (4 PM check-in) but the staff was wonderful, in taking our bags and parking the car in the garage (parking is a premium there, and you will have to mind your time or risk getting a ticket if your meter expires while parked on a street), so we were able to take a leasurely walk in the neighborhood. They even called me to let me know when the room was ready, ahead of the 4 PM check-in, and our bags were in the room waiting for us.
We also loved the wine and cheese reception in the afternoon. The breakfast was served in our room just as we requested. The room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. Checkout was also very efficient and the valet had my car ready just as we settled the bill. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I can't begin to describe how amazing our stay was at the Spindrift Inn.
Upon arriving, the staff is so friendly, we felt like we were at home with a glass of wine in our hands upon entry.

We were also immediately impressed with the valet service. They were very quick and efficient, and I loved the fact that they went out of their way to help you. The front desk staff was very courteous, and obviously enjoyed being there. We got a really good feeling that the staff really enjoy their jobs, and can't wait to welcome you in.

We had an ocean view balcony room (#401 from June 13 to 17), which I definitely recommend! The room even has binoculars so you can look out the window to enjoy the amazing view! The beds and pillows are the most luxurious and comfortable, and the design of the room has a romantic Victorian feel to it. We also really enjoyed their turn-down service.

The Rooms: spacious, top notch decor & furnishings, awesome balconies, tremendous views, romantic design with (cedar stocked in the room) for the wood burning (gas) fireplace and amazingly comfortable four-post bed - total luxury. We had our complimentary breakfast each morning with our feet up next to the fire in luxury Victorian-style plush chairs (in our room robes), an ocean breeze from our windows, and sounds of the waves crashing on the shore below.

The staff was friendly, the service was perfect, the food was great, everything was clean and fresh, and the view from our room was spectacular. It was nice being able to go back to your room and still feel like you were out seeing the sites. You could just sit on your balcony and watch the otters and seals play all day.

No doubt the next time we are in Monterey we will be staying at the Spindrift.

Thank you so much for making our wedding weekend such a spectacular experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel was amazing and the staff was great. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spindrift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.