We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic bit clean rooms, good breakfast, kind staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey North

Save Saved
You added Ramada Limited Monterey North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Limited Monterey North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2058 N Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #29 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic bit clean rooms, good breakfast, kind staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Motel is close to the 1 highway but quite. There is free parking,I cluded breakfast with a good variety of pastries,fresh waffles an and cereals, the rooms are clean and the bathroom comfortable and far better than the average toilet in a motel. There is a small swimming pool and a small jacuzzi. Sometimes breakfast is crowded but we waited 10mins max (in any case it's possible to take it away).
The staff is kind and kept a toy that we forgot in the room and picked up later after check out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the clean room, breakfast, and the service. Our staff will appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    137
    87
    21
    16
See reviews for
93
119
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I inspected the room top to bottom, pulling covers off the mattress, lifting toilet seat...etc. I could not find any dirt. I saw other negative reviews, but maybe they stayed in a different part of the of the hotel. We stayed in one the the rooms with one floor toward the front. Liked to see everything we needed like hairdryer, fridge, microwave, ceiling fan & even things we didn't need like a shower cap & iron & ironing board. I could not hear any of our neighbors. The staff was pleasant. The continental breakfast is pretty much just carbs, but included bagels with cream cheese & homemade waffles. I would stay there again, but I got a better rate by reserving more than 1 week in advance (at least $20 cheaper). Was a good hotel for the price.

Room Tip: ask for one of the rooms in the one story building near the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you fully inspected the room to make your self feel comfortable. Our housekeeping staff will be very pleased to know that no cleanliness issues were found. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We liked our stay at the Ramada. The location is within walking distance of several restaurants and easy access to Highway 1. Just minutes to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. Our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are glad you had a comfortable stay at our property and appreciated the cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nights last week. Nasty place! Certainly did not want to walk barefoot on the carpet and the chair was stickly. Ugh! The wafle lady was nice, I agree, and the guy at the front desk was nice. But, the room was nasty. Even had an earwig in the bathtub. I can understand the walls being thin but the people upstairs from us must have been having running and jumping contests. Bottom line is that the place needs new carpet and new bedspreads and a thorough cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip advisor. We apologize you had a less than pleasant experience at our property for three nights. While we try our best to accommodate every guest, we understand that our property may not meet everyones standard. Therefore, if you were extremely dissatisfied after your first night, we would have been glad to help you find alternate accommodations that would meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

By far the most expensive per night stay on our two week touring holiday, not helped by the fact that it is the Moto GP weekend here in Monterey, so naturally all hotels capitalise on demand! This is not the fault of the hotel, neither is the appallingly cold weather, but fundamentally it comes down to value for money and this where this Motel falls well short of the mark.

I have no issue with the actual room, it is plenty large enough, as is the king size bed and it all seems reasonably clean and tidy. However, the walls and ceilings are thin and poorly insulated, so adjoining and rooms above are a source of unwelcome noise, as other guests move about, talk, watch their televisions etc. The fairground across the road added a whole new level of amplified rowdiness on Saturday night!

But then there are all the other really irritating shortcomings, which I think is aptly summarised in the notice in the breakfast "room" forbidding (yes, it is not simply a polite request) paying guests from browsing the Internet at breakfast! The reason for this is simple. The incredibly slow "free WiFi" internet connection would slow down the Motels patrons over breakfast, which would cause even greater congestion in a 7 table breakfast room, which is supposed to accommodate the number of paying guests?

Which brings me onto the "deluxe" continental breakfast, I am assuming that the supply of pastries raises the standard from merely mediocre? For the price and in California of all places, I would expect fresh orange juice. The stuff that comes out of that machine certainly isn't and I suspect it is watered down as well? Otherwise it is the normal budget hotel fare of Bagels, waffles, English muffins etc.

I have already mentioned the WiFi speed. If a facility includes "hi speed" WiFi connection, then, like the breakfast room, it should be able to accommodate a reasonable number of paying guests simultaneously, not grind to a halt as soon as a few people go online.

A car park that seems to small for the number of rooms adds to the overall impression that the owners are trying to squeeze more out of this facility without making the investment in adequate capabilities.

Had I paid half the price, I would have probably been writing a glowing report about this place, as my expectations would have set at an appropriate level. Sadly, instead I leave here disappointed with the definite impression of having been mugged and I will view all Ramada hotels with greater caution in the future.

Room Tip: If you want avoid noise from upstairs rooms select an upstairs room, but no doubt these will also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We always try to price ourselves similar to our competition, but the area can become expensive during large events. We apologize that you feel you didn't receive sufficient value for the price paid and invite you to return during our slower season. Thank you again and please feel welcomed at our property anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for two awful nights. To be fair the place itself was not too bad, although being a Ramada we expected a hotel rather than a motel but we were unfortunate enough to stay here during the motoGP weekend which meant we paid more than twice the usual rate, over $220 a night and because we were paying this price expected something that justified the price. This is really just a down at heel motel, with poor breakfast, not enough parking, paper thin walls. The room was reasonably spacious and clean but the breakfast room was ridiculously small for the amount of residents, there was a sign which said in bold underlined letters 'NO using wifi during breakfast' we are paying customers, why should we be dictated to in this way? A polite request is one thing but an order is another. The worst thing about the whole weekend was the tattoo fair which took place just behind the back fence of the motel. It continued all day Saturday, well into the night and the noise was like no other noise I have ever heard, it couldn't be described as music, but rather someone screaming into a microphone continually for hours on end. I don't blame the Ramada for this but nonetheless it made staying there unbearable. I don't know if this takes place every Saturday or if it is a once a year event, but frankly it was unbelievable and I know in England authorities would not allow this volume of public noise (thank goodness) my last complaint is the pathetic wifi connection (which one is not allowed to utilise at breakfast) it is low and drops off constantly. My advice, don't stay here, for less than this we stayed in a clean top notch hotel in Vegas, not a Nasty, tacky, noisy motel on the side of a main road!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We apologize that you felt you overpaid for your stay at our property. While our rates do fluctuate like every hotel in the area, we try to maintain competitive rates at all times. It is difficult to compare our property to a stay in Las Vegas. The City of Monterey is known for their historic preservations while Las Vegas is known for the large new hotels. In addition, the cost of doing business varies from one geographical location to another. Thank you again and please feel welcomed at our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is pretty old, and as mentioned on Yelp and Trip Advisor, it's not the best. I personally didn't think that it was worth the price we paid for it, but it was one of the lowest in the area. The walls, ceilings are paper thin so we heard everything that was going on all around us. DON'T USE THE BED SPREAD! It was pretty obvious that they don't get cleaned regularly. After seeing the stain on it, as well as finding some gray marks on the sheets, I did not feel it was clean at all. The breakfast was standard, and the kind lady making the waffles was sweet. However, I think they could have more than ONE bottle of syrup for diners.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and we apologize that you experienced cleanliness issues. We will work with our housekeeping staff to ensure the Ramada cleanliness standards are maintained. Thank you again and please feel welcomed at our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Limited Monterey North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Monterey North

Address: 2058 N Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Limited Monterey North 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ramada Limited Monterey North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Monterey Hotel Monterey
Ramada Monterey
Monterey Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Limited Monterey North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.