We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, terrible , terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Limited Monterey North to your Saves list
Ramada Limited Monterey North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2058 N Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Terrible, terrible , terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for two awful nights. To be fair the place itself was not too bad, although being a Ramada we expected a hotel rather than a motel but we were unfortunate enough to stay here during the motoGP weekend which meant we paid more than twice the usual rate, over $220 a night and because we were paying this price expected something that justified the price. This is really just a down at heel motel, with poor breakfast, not enough parking, paper thin walls. The room was reasonably spacious and clean but the breakfast room was ridiculously small for the amount of residents, there was a sign which said in bold underlined letters 'NO using wifi during breakfast' we are paying customers, why should we be dictated to in this way? A polite request is one thing but an order is another. The worst thing about the whole weekend was the tattoo fair which took place just behind the back fence of the motel. It continued all day Saturday, well into the night and the noise was like no other noise I have ever heard, it couldn't be described as music, but rather someone screaming into a microphone continually for hours on end. I don't blame the Ramada for this but nonetheless it made staying there unbearable. I don't know if this takes place every Saturday or if it is a once a year event, but frankly it was unbelievable and I know in England authorities would not allow this volume of public noise (thank goodness) my last complaint is the pathetic wifi connection (which one is not allowed to utilise at breakfast) it is low and drops off constantly. My advice, don't stay here, for less than this we stayed in a clean top notch hotel in Vegas, not a Nasty, tacky, noisy motel on the side of a main road!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We apologize that you felt you overpaid for your stay at our property. While our rates do fluctuate like every hotel in the area, we try to maintain competitive rates at all times. It is difficult to compare our property to a stay in Las Vegas. The City of Monterey is known for their historic preservations while Las Vegas is known for the large new hotels. In addition, the cost of doing business varies from one geographical location to another. Thank you again and please feel welcomed at our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    147
    98
    20
    20
See reviews for
103
131
21
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is pretty old, and as mentioned on Yelp and Trip Advisor, it's not the best. I personally didn't think that it was worth the price we paid for it, but it was one of the lowest in the area. The walls, ceilings are paper thin so we heard everything that was going on all around us. DON'T USE THE BED SPREAD! It was pretty obvious that they don't get cleaned regularly. After seeing the stain on it, as well as finding some gray marks on the sheets, I did not feel it was clean at all. The breakfast was standard, and the kind lady making the waffles was sweet. However, I think they could have more than ONE bottle of syrup for diners.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and we apologize that you experienced cleanliness issues. We will work with our housekeeping staff to ensure the Ramada cleanliness standards are maintained. Thank you again and please feel welcomed at our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We left the Ramada feeling disappointed. It had been the most expensive stop of our trip so far, and we were fully aware that Monterey can be expensive, however, the service we had received and the standard of hotel/ motel we have stayed in since we have arrived in California has been ALOT better than what we got from the Ramada. The rooms were clean but basic. No ' extras' ( no bottled water, which would have been nice seeing we arrived late) The rooms had very thin walls which meant we could hear the people in the room next to us, as well as this, the heater/ toilet system rumbled throughout the night.
Breakfast was ok, it was only served until 9.3 and when we arrived just before half past the worker insisted on tidying everything up, leaving very little for us. I do appreciate we left it late, but we had arrived later the evening before, it would have been nice for her to give us some leeway!
It's a shame, as the hotel/ motel is in a good location in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend to stay here. It was perfect for my family of 5. The pool was the perfect temperature as was the hot hub. Staff was very friendly. The free breakfast was great, the waffle were mouth watering. I will most definatly be staying here again on my next trip to Monterey. It was so worth what I paid for.
P.S. Even though the airport is just a couple blocks away and the roar of the plane engines was so loud with the door and window closed you could hardly even hear a thing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad your enjoyed your stay and the value. Thank you again and we hope to see you real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Limited Monterey North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Monterey North

Address: 2058 N Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Limited Monterey North 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Limited Monterey North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Monterey Hotel Monterey
Ramada Monterey
Monterey Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Limited Monterey North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.