We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Limited Monterey North to your Saves list
Ramada Limited Monterey North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2058 N Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Paris
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

As another traveller said, this is really more of a motel than a hotel. Nothing bad with it,
but there is quite a bit of traffic in the parking lot on which all rooms seem to have a view, so it
does get noisy also with Fremont St - not to mention that it's straight in the axis of the
nearby airport which has however a low jet traffic. The motel is not within real walking
distance of anything interesting, and getting to Monterey takes a solid 30'-40' walk from
there. Not recommended, so stick to the car..

The rooms are standard american motel rooms, with most of the usual amenities as well as the
inevitable stuffy carpet. There is enough stowage with a cabinet, wardrobe and a few drawers
which is nice, a large TV with no premium channels, and a desk which has no easily
accessible power plugs to plug a computer, for which you have to crawl a bit on the floor to find them, which I
deem a rather unsafe way of using them. Same story if you want to connect your appliance
chargers next to the bed: you'll have to disconnect a lamp plug in an unsafe position. There
are many wifi hotspots, so the connectivity is very good, but the wifi speed ranges from
average to frustratingly low - probably depending on the use that's made of it in the motel
- making VoIP calls rather difficult. The bathroom looked well used, and the sink and shower
tub looked worn. The shower head was probably the most recent upgrade, one of those with a
couple of different spray types, but unfortunately the water pressure was too low to make
a good use of it. The shower head is also fixed to the wall in a rather low position, so if you're
above 6' you'll have to bend over to get your head under it. The tub is not lit and at times
a bit slippery, which I didn't like.


Breakfast is in the hotel lobby, on about ten (well cleaned) tables or so. It can get
crowded when 2-3 families drop in simultaneously. The choice is limited to cereal boxes,
slices of bread, bagels, and a waffle machine. Otherwise there's a coffee jar and one of
those Minute Maid orange/apple concentrate juice dispenser. Nothing fresh unfortunately, no
fruit (except for a large dish of lemons), or eggs or ham or something that would make it a
bit healthier or more consistent - something which can/should really be improved. After a few days I skipped breakfast and bought my own one in a store next door.

There is also an outdoor pool right in the parking lot, locked all the time - you probably
have to ask at the desk to have it opened. I never saw anyone in it, and I certainly didn't
feel like walking in a swimsuit across the lot!

While I think I paid a decent price, and since it seems that this might be the best motel
in that area, I'll probably go for a more central place next time even if that adds ten
dollars per night to the bill. So overall, and despite the small issues mentioned here, I'd
recommend to stay here if you're on a budget since the value is probably quite good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We apologize that there were many little things that did not meet your expectations. We are constantly looking for ways to improve, and your feedback is greatly valued. Please feel welcomed at our property for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    147
    98
    20
    20
See reviews for
103
131
21
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brindisi, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very good value for money. I spent one night at the Ramada. The room was tidy, clean and missed nothing. The front office staff was kind and helpful. Only minor drawback was a busy road nearby, which calls for early mornig wake-ups.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed the clean rooms and front desk service. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Based on the exterior my unfavorable expectation was immediately changed when I walked into the room. The decor was much nicer than I thought and the beds were very comfortable. The person at the front desk was very informative and helpful. A nice clean reasonably priced room. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you were satisfied with our property, and our rooms and service met your expectations. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GARDNERVILLE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to Monterey to have a long awaited vacation with my wife, and it was awesome.. Besides the dirt at the bottom of the shower door, everything else was awesome. The service by all exceeded my expectations. The Manager Ritesh was very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again if down that way for sure.
I would like to say that I read a review about some girl that went to her boyfriends room and brought her chiwahwah in just "for a few minutes". Really!!!!! Why cant people leave their dogs at home where they belong. I hate going to stores with fresh food and produce just to have some spoiled person walking around with their dog! Or the large hardware chain (orange) where everyone feels compelled to bring in their dogs. So if I'm allergic to pet dander or dogs in general, I suffer for the dogs? Cool, let the dogs keep that business afloat. It states a no pet policy at the hotel so dont get mad at the manager when he enforces the rules that you think you are special and it doesnt apply. You werent even staying at the room! Some people just want to make life miserable for others working hard in this economy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey North, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your awesome experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed Ritesh's hospitality, and apologize that our housekeeping staff missed a small area. We are constantly looking for ways to improve, and will address this with our staff. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Limited Monterey North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Monterey North

Address: 2058 N Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Limited Monterey North 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Limited Monterey North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Monterey Hotel Monterey
Ramada Monterey
Monterey Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Limited Monterey North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.