We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wedding weekend was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pacific

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pacific to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pacific
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 53 hotels in Monterey
San Jose, California
1 review
“My wedding weekend was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

When my fiance (now husband) and I we were first looking for hotels near our wedding venue at Memory Garden, we were torn between Hotel Pacific and Portola Plaza. But we turned off by the rude staff at Portola Plaza, who didn't acknowledge our request to personally see the rooms. He instead gave us a packet. When asked about pictures, he stated there were pictures within the packet. When we got home after a 1.5hr drive, there were no pictures but instead a list of their rates and conditions for blocking rooms. At Hotel Pacific, we were shown a variety of rooms and allowed to enter them. We were so pleased with the service that we booked 5 rooms for our family. Our friends also booked their rooms here as well. We received nothing but excellent service throughout our stay and all the staff members were friendly, understanding and accommodating. We were also very pleased with the rooms which were all spacious and clean. Each room had a living area, patio and was very spacious overall. Some rooms even had vaulted ceilings! You won't regret booking a room here!!! We had the best wedding weekend ever!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    273
    123
    56
    41
See reviews for
156
321
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We arrived at the Pacific without a reservation having travelled from Yosemite. The staff on reception were very helpful and had a suite available for around $200. We were checked in very quickly and found the suite to be very large and beautifully furnished. The bed was massive and very comfortable. There was a large flat screen TV mounted on the wall above the gas fire, a balcony and large. plush bathroom with a separate bath and shower.
The quality of the room could not be faulted.
However the room overlooked Pacific street and the road noise meant the balcony doors remained closed and did impinge slightly on the quality of sleep. There was also a fee of around $20 to use the hotel car park and a further hidden charge if you wanted to use the Wi-Fi in the room. The was free parking available in the surrounding streets and we choose to take that option.
The breakfast was a continental buffet and there was a wide range of options and very good quality. The location was good with a short walk to a wide selection of restaurants and walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

I needed a place close in to downtown Monterey and Hotel Pacific was just perfect. The rooms are wonderful, spacious, clean and nicely appointed. The fireplace in each room add the perfect amount of warmth to the usually chilly Monterey weather. Though some rooms are near Pacific Street, it's still quiet. The staff are very professional and quite accomodating. As the peak traveling season has now begun, the rates are increasing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edbnmb
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

My stay at the Hotel Pacific was for business but I was able to enjoy the full character and charm of the Hotel.

Jordan, who checked me in was very friendly and accomodating. I had an amazing room with two double beds. I love the comfort and coziness of the property. The room was spacious and quiet. I had a nice balcony which gave me the opportunity to enjoy the fresh Monterey air. Parking was so convenient and the location was perfect to walk in downtown Monterey.

I can't say enough about the staff. From Front Desk to sales they are very helpful.
I highly recommend this hotel for it's intimate appeal.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Not impressed, which is unfortunate because we have stayed here before and don't remember having a bad experience. The beds were uncomfortable and squeaked horribly, the room was filled with sand in the corners - I would expenct that from a hotel on the beach, but Hotel Pacific is not on the beach. The street noise at night was awful, the busses were extremely loud going by, The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about. The Hot Tub was half full and filthy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM_8, General Manager at Hotel Pacific, responded to this review, May 13, 2010
Guest feedback is always welcome and considered to be of significant value to our business. I sincerely apologize to the guest for the cleanliness and maintenance issues they encountered. Their experience is contrary to the high level of service we strive to maintain and their comments have been shared with our Housekeeping and Maintenance Managers for follow-up. Again, we thank the guest for their valuable input.
General Manager
Hotel Pacific
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed here 2 nights on our week long trip and this hotel was our favorite. I asked for a quite room and they gave us room 439, it was quite, beautiful and large. I really liked this hotel, the courtyards, the interior and exterior of the hotel, the bathroom was large with a shower and separate tub, we never used the tub as the shower was super nice, beautiful tile and glass and a big rain shower head. There is a refridgerator to put your food in, not to sell you overpriced drinks. The breakfast was served in a big room with a setting area with a fireplace on one end of the dinning room. The breakfast was very good, bagels, muffins, ceral, boiled eggs, fruit and juice. I could only think of two things that would have improved our stay here....if the trees right off the balcony were trimmed we would have had a better view of the ocean and the mirror in the bathroom was over the sink area, not over the entire vanity. Overall, I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone staying in Monterey.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

The Hotel Pacific is one of the best places I've ever stayed! My daughter and I have stayed there several times. She is 10 now. She loves the little sea animals that are put on the pillows at night. The rooms are large. I love that all rooms have a fireplace and a private patio or balcony! The free breakfast in the morning is wonderful!!! This hotel is close to the Tuesday Farmers market, just a walk away. Close to downtown shops and beach and wharf. Its a place you'll love to stay at!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacific

Address: 300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#20 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pacific 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pacific is a boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Monterey, California just steps away from the Monterey Conference Center and walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and other top area attractions. Hotel Pacific offers luxury all-suite accommodations with fireplaces, free wireless internet access, patios and balconies, microwave ovens, mini-refrigerators, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments, luxurious feather bedding, and unique vacation packages. Hotel Pacific is the perfect hotel choice for your next romantic weekend getaway, vacation or business trip to the Monterey Bay area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.