We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in lovely Monterey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pacific

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pacific to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Pacific
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in lovely Monterey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had spent two nights in the hotel Pacific, the corridors which lead to your room could do with a lick of paint, but do not be put off by this as the hotel rooms are lovely. The hotel room itself was clean and spacious. Breakfast was provided from 7am-11am, the breakfast room was on the small side, but you could take items back up to your room.

Fishermans wharf is just a short stroll away and cannery row will take you around 15mins to walk, both of these places have a good choice of restaurants and shops. If you don't fancy the walk you can catch the free trolley service, which can be picked up at Fishermans Warf. One of my recommendations is that you visit Monterey aquarium, it is well worth a visit and great value for money!

My only reservation on this hotel is parking charges, they charge twenty dollars a night, apart from that if I were ever to visit Monterey I would revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    258
    118
    56
    38
See reviews for
150
305
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had been upgraded to a studio which was excellent - they had even lit the fire in the room to show it off at its best!
2 huge beds, lounge area, big bathrrom with seperate shower and bath areas. Staff were a bit more stuffy than we had been used to and not particularly friendly and I would seriously advise that they don't bother with the complimentary breakfast - it was just not worth the effort.
Easy walk to the pier with nice shops and restarants. A good stopover hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spend our family vacation at Hotel Pacific. Overall we had a very nice stay. The hotel was comfortable and very conveniently located. Hotel Pacific is one of the few "suites" hotels in Monterey. The room had a separate dining area, living room with fireplace, and bedroom area. It also had a kitchenette with a microwave, mini fridge, and coffee maker. However the kitchenette was not well stoked with dishes or silverware. For a suites hotel the breakfast really lacked offering only cold cereals, muffins, and cold hard boiled eggs. The biggest flaw of the hotel is that it is noisy. You can hear every footstep of the room above and people walking by the room. Fortunately I'm a sound sleeper and it did not bother me but for people sensitive to noise, this might not be your Hotel. In-spite of the noise, we did enjoy the hotel and the staff was outstanding and friendly. The grounds of the hotel are nice and private balconies add a nice touch. Being very familiar with Monterey, I can honestly say it is a superior hotel for the area and reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard room - they have a relaxing atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great hotel for an amazing price, the suites are huge and lovely. Looks very newly furnished. I would suggest requesting a high room facing the courtyard its a nice view. Staff are so friendly and so happy to help you. Free bus service from outside the hotel which goes to all the destinations in Monterey however this hotel is in downtown Monterey which is a fab location and only a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf. The only down side is you have to pay $20 a night for parking. There is a free wifi in the hotel too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Fairly recent hotel, spacious, clean and warmly decorated room. Service rather limited and superficial, disappointing breakfast, no real motivation of staff to inform about Monterey, to do's, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel Pacific is centrally located in Monterey just two blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel comprises a dozen or so buildings all linked by private courtyards and an underground parking garage. Our room was a large king suite, which included a large bed (California King?), working gas fireplace, private patio, sitting area with couch, dining area, and large 42" flat screen TV.

The property is nice (4 stars) but the service isn't great. On check-in, after a five hour drive from Santa Barbara, my wife and I walked into the lobby with our bags and dog (a small corgi). The front desk staff quickly said, "hello but pets are not allowed in the lobby, she will need to leave" as a first greeting. They suggested that my wife could stand outside in the parking garage or take the dog back to our car. I found this to be absurd since (a) Hotel Pacific claims to be pet friendly, (b) the lobby had no other guests in it, and (c) the lobby floor is all tile so a moment of shedding or even an accident would not have caused any damage. A true luxury hotel puts the guests first and would never demand that a guest leave the lobby before check-in. In addition, as we went through the check-in process, the clerk informed me that I hadn't booked one of their "pet rooms" and they may not have one available - which I guess would have left me stranded without a hotel room at 11 PM! Apparently you have to book directly with the hotel if you have a pet, even though they advertise themselves as pet friendly through all third-party channels (e.g., Expedia, Orbitz, Kayak, etc.). Hotel Pacific claims to be pet friendly but in reality it is just pet tolerant.

There were other examples of service imperfections. The (very limited) continental breakfast ends at 10 AM. I observed another guest ask for juice around 10:05 AM (they had started eating before 10 AM) and the dining area staff refused to give them any. Yes, breakfast ends at 10 AM, but most of the many hotels I've experienced around the world actually end service 15 minutes after the stated time, and they always put the guest first.

There were instances of service delights, too. The cleaning and maintenance staff always greeted us in the hallway with a smile and "how are you?". We had a good experience renting bikes from the hotel for a day trip; we weren't surcharged when we returned the bikes a bit late. And when we returned to the parking garage late one evening to find no spaces available, one of the employees offered to move their truck out of the garage for us.

Hotel Pacific is a fine choice for lodging in Monterey. This review judges it critically as a four-star pet-friendly property; your expectations, needs, and experience may vary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I loved this hotel - we had a King Suite room and it was so lovely I was sorry we were only in town one night! It had it's own kitchen area, a sitting room with an open fireplace, a large bathroom and a four poster bed. Definitely somewhere you could come for a romantic weekend away!

The location is also great; just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and pier and similar from the main part of town.

Breakfast was complimentary and considering that, there was a good selection of cereals, muffins, fruit and so on. The dining room gets busy but they also provide trays for you to take breakfast back to your room or sit outside in the gardens.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacific

Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Monterey
Address: 300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
#20 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pacific 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pacific is a boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Monterey, California just steps away from the Monterey Conference Center and walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and other top area attractions. Hotel Pacific offers luxury all-suite accommodations with fireplaces, free wireless internet access, patios and balconies, microwave ovens, mini-refrigerators, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments, luxurious feather bedding, and unique vacation packages. Hotel Pacific is the perfect hotel choice for your next romantic weekend getaway, vacation or business trip to the Monterey Bay area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.