We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pacific

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pacific to your Saves list
Hotel Pacific
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
San Jose
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The room was large and very well-decorated. Our family of four stayed for one night and there was plenty of room for all of us. My only complaint was that is was noisy. Our room was toward the front of the hotel and we heard all the cars in the morning. We were also by the hot tub and could hear hot tub conversations with our windows and doors closed. We could also very clearly hear conversations of people passing by. I've stayed there several timse and do recommend it. This was the first time I remember noise to be an issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not close to the street or by a hot tub. Less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    290
    142
    59
    43
See reviews for
178
356
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rep of ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Did find staff friendly especially man on reception. Rooms are noisy as its paper thin walls and floors.

$19 is way to much to charge for overnight parking n Monterey.

Would not go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Two girlfriends and I stayed at the Hotel Pacific in January. I was worried that the room might not be large enough for three adults but it was perfect. For the price, $135 and $19. per day for parking, we all agreed that the accommodations were lovely and comfortable. Two queen beds, a huge bathroom with two showers, a sitting area with a fireplace, small couch and two chairs, and another eating area with a round glass table, two dining chairs, small fridge, micro, and coffee maker. There was also a small balcony with two chairs. Our room, 425, was on the fourth floor facing away from any busy streets so it was very quiet. The vaulted ceiling made the space very attractive and since our room was the last one, we had a window on the end side of the building making our room very sunny and cheerful. The only negative about our room was that we were right above the area where the garbage truck turned around every morning. But it wasn't an early event and was over very quickly.
Breakfast is included and the room was very pretty but oftentimes full so we asked for trays and then brought our meal back to the room. This actually worked well because then we had plenty of plates and extras to add to the food we brought with us for our lunch. We had beautiful walks every day along the coast promenade to Pacific Grove and back and then would have a light lunch in our room before heading out for the rest of the day and delightful dinners at the local restaurants. This saved a great deal of money!
I really can't find much to complain about and would happily stay here again. They had all the things I like in a hotel: large cheerful room, small fridge and microwave, balcony. If you want room service, restaurants, pools etc, this isn't the place for you. They do have two small hot tubs, not attractive settings but clean and relaxing after our walks. The grounds are attractive with some nice courtyards with chairs that are probably very pleasant in warmer months.
The property itself is well situated and we rarely used the car, preferring to walk to the close by downtown area and the coastal walkway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Some designer did not skimp on the decor! Jumbo room, with hardwood floors, wool area rugs, massive fireplace with Mexican tile hearth- very easy to opperate. Huge bathroom with expensive fixtures and faucets, marble tub and separate marble shower with frameless glass enclosures. Furniture very expensive and well chosen- massive bed with puffy duvet and featherbed, living room area with sofa and wonderful lounge chairs- (everything just smelled wonderful- the upholstery, the carpet). The dining area had refrig and microwave, large terrace with lounge chairs and table with ocean view and the sound of birds and waterfalls. Parking charge the lowest of any on our 16 day California trip- and in downtown Monterey. Staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. It was a comfortable and cozy place in the best location for walking everywhere.

Room Tip: We slept to late for breakfast, but they say it was amazing- I'll set the alarm next time.Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great location in Monterey, nice room. We took our tiny dog, and reserved the "dog room". Nothing was said on the web site or in our confirmation email about dog restrictions in this "per friendly" hotel. We were immediately shooed out of the lobby ("No dogs allowed in the lobby!") upon arrival for check-in, although I was carrying him in my arms, and admonished in no uncertain terms that he was to be crated at all times in the room.

Both mornings we awoke to discover that there had been a partial power outage sometime during the night, and only a few of our outlets were working. So no TV, no bathroom power for hair dryer, etc., and the alarm clock had not sounded. The front desk person said he was alone and couldn't help, and didn't know where the fuse box was anyway. It had been fixed by the time we returned to the room late afternoon.

The flat screen TV was mounted on the wall over the fireplace, way too high to comfortably watch from the sofa or chairs, and not at all from the bed.

Overall, not a repeat for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Not sure what to think of this hotel - it has a great location, near the pier, waterfront and main street. When we arrived the two gentlemen on the reception were devoid of expression, android like. Don't get me wrong the carried out their job well but that welcomming feeling was missing. The receptionists on the desk, when we were leaving were the complete opposite, friendly, chattly and a much better experience. It's an odd hotel, probably needs a bit of a face lift. Our room was big and clean and quiet, again very quirky. Having a kitchenette was a plus. Yeah, overall it was okay but could be a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice hotel, unusual style but clean and tidy. Room was a good size, almost like an apartment, with kitchen area and couch to watch TV from. Staff were friendly and breakfast was good if you got there before it all got eaten! Good location, only a short walk to the wharf and Cannery Row.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacific

Address: 300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pacific 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pacific is a boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Monterey, California just steps away from the Monterey Conference Center and walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and other top area attractions. Hotel Pacific offers luxury all-suite accommodations with fireplaces, free wireless internet access, patios and balconies, microwave ovens, mini-refrigerators, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments, luxurious feather bedding, and unique vacation packages. Hotel Pacific is the perfect hotel choice for your next romantic weekend getaway, vacation or business trip to the Monterey Bay area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.