We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great for a Romantic Weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pacific

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pacific to your Saves list
Hotel Pacific
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
West Hollywood
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Could be great for a Romantic Weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was on a business trip to Monterey and my Director recommended the Hotel Pacific. I could see that if you were on a romantic weekend with a loved one this may be the place to stay but it was a little too much for just me alone on a business trip.
There was a working gas fireplace, hardwood floors, a balcony, a breakfast nook, a double-bath (shower and tub), and a lot of extra space in the unit.
The complaint, don’t stay on the street side it is very noisy. Weird in a very quiet town how loud the street noise can be where there isn’t any other noise and the windows did not keep out any of the sound. Given the floors were hard wood and the walls all empty plaster - the stomping from above and the elevator was deafening. I can’t sleep with banging above me. I recommend staying away from the elevator and on the upper level if possible.
If you’re a fanatic about spotless furniture you may want to pick another place. The furniture has been used. It wasn’t dirty, just stained and… well, used.
I rarely say discouraging things about a place, I just don’t rate them… but this place has good things about it. I wouldn’t discourage you from staying; just tell you what to expect… it appears even my colleagues agree with my observations.

Room Tip: Upper level, away from the street and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    290
    142
    59
    43
See reviews for
178
355
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed there for one night, and the room was so cozy and inviting I didn't want to go out again. Has the spanish hacienda feel down perfectly. I stayed in a king suite, and outside my room, 235, was a spacious, wonderful courtyard. There were fountains in a courtyad that you would find in a grand hotel, and gave me the inclination to sit, relax and enjoy a glass of wine. (By the way, there was a corkscrew and wine glasses in the room)
The continental breakfast was so, so, but nice to have none the less.
Completely recommed this hotel, it does cost to park here. $19, but thats not bad compared to a local garage.
It's an easy walk to the downtown area, where we were luck enough to run into a local street fair.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I consider the Hotel Pacific a 1st class hotel. This is like staying home away from home, the rooms are spacious and cozey. The beds are big and comfy having the feather beds. Good breakfast, something for everyone.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the Hotel Pacific many times over the past twenty five years and our stay has alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This downtown Monterey boutique hotel feels like a classic Spanish colonial building you can spend the night in! We stayed in 2 courtyard rooms 227 and 228) with a HUGE patio surrounded by adobe walls. Fountains provide white noise. Spacious room offers seating for 4, fireplace, lovely king bed, 2 showers! Way romantic. I used miles to pay, but off-season rates were less than other nice area hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight here with my spouse whilst exploring Monterey and Carmel. We used Expedia to book and wanted a hotel on Cannery row but none available so settled for this due to proximity to Fishermans Wharf n Cannery area.. The hotel is lacking on service and my husband and I had quite a haul with our luggage getting it to our room, via an elevator from the parking area. Rooms are spacious, comfortable suites with kitchenettes and sitting room. The breakfast room was small, very crammed and service very poor. Overall this hotel was otherwise ok for location and room size but I would look at other options in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very nice, clean, unique. Main thing we didn't like was paying to park in the hotels garage. Seems tacky to charge for that. It's quick walk to the pier and many nice restaurants nearby. Continental breakfast is good. Rooms very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My stay at the Hotel Pacific was disappointing and painful. I will not recommend it; I will warn friends using wheelchairs to avoid it.

The person making my reservation explained that I use a wheelchair. When I checked in I was using my wheelchair and my travel bag was hung on it.

The room - a junior suite- was under lit and included an empty fireplace. I had to pass between the bathroom door and closet doors twice; once to open the bathroom door, a second time to open the small closet. I asked for – and received- extra hangers for my clothes in the small closet.

The bathroom included stone tile floors and a shower set up inside a bathtub. The shower was not wheelchair accessible.

I have limited mobility outside my wheelchair. Wednesday morning, September 19, I parked my wheelchair near the bathtub and tried to swing my legs in. After five minutes I got one leg in.
I noticed that there was no soap dish or ledge inside the shower area. Instead of a safety mat inside the tub, there was a faint pattern on the bottom that was not slip resistant. I started my shower straddled across one side of the tub.

My balance wavered, so I took another five minutes to get my other leg into the tub. I showered carefully, leaning against the grab bar of the inaccessible shower area.

After rinsing off, I tried to get my legs over and out of the tub, one at a time. I was not successful. The phone in the bathroom was too far away to use.

So I crawled over the wall of the tub onto the cold floor. I crawled on the floor to my wheelchair and then pulled myself upright. The parts of my body that were on the floor hurt later Wednesday and were still painful Thursday.

The room was difficult to maneuver in a wheelchair. The bathroom and shower were not accessible.

If a no step or roll in shower were available in another room, I should have been offered another room when I checked in. If my room is considered wheelchair accessible, please understand that it is not wheelchair accessible.

Room Tip: Ask for what you need: If you need an accessible - no step or roll in - shower insist on it. You wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacific

Address: 300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pacific 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pacific is a boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Monterey, California just steps away from the Monterey Conference Center and walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and other top area attractions. Hotel Pacific offers luxury all-suite accommodations with fireplaces, free wireless internet access, patios and balconies, microwave ovens, mini-refrigerators, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments, luxurious feather bedding, and unique vacation packages. Hotel Pacific is the perfect hotel choice for your next romantic weekend getaway, vacation or business trip to the Monterey Bay area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.