We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on the Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Bay Inn to your Saves list
Monterey Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Ocean View w/Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
“Great Hotel on the Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Stayed in a really nice room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the bay and the park. The view from the balcony was beautiful. The room was very comfortable and the bathrooom is gorgeous.

The hotel is a short walk away from the Cannery Rown shops and restaurants. It's a short distance (by car) to 17-Mile Drive/Pebble Beach - that was amazing.

The only detraction was the parking. The parking garage is under the hotel, which is good because the weather does not matter, but the parking is very tight and it is tough to maneuver a larger vehicle in and out of some of the parking spaces.

I was only there one night and wish I had more time for my stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    335
    84
    31
    16
See reviews for
174
803
44
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Not as fancy as the other hotels on Cannery Row, but it is elegant and definitely the best bang for the buck. That's not to say that it is inexpensive, but you're not going to do any better and still wake up next to Monterey Bay. Staff is polite and caring, the rooms are very comfortable without all the pretension. I've been here three times now and will stay here whenever I go down to Monterey.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I got our room pretty cheap on expedia, however that was because that particular room faces a parking garage so rather early in the morning you get to hear a loud, intrusive noise of the garage opening. So make sure and request a room on the ocean/bay side of the hotel (which it is right on the bay!).

I'm a bed snob, but this bed exceeded my expectations. The mattress was ultra firm, but soft so sliding into it was heaven after a long day. The bedding was luxurious and clearly high thread count. Even better, the pillows were in different levels of fluffiness so you could have just the right one or combination to fit your pillow desires. Our continental breakfast was delivered right on time with the bagels still warm from the toaster. The bathroom's multi-head shower was amazing.

Best of all, the staff was incredibly friendly and happy to answer any questions or help us out even though we arrived at quarter til midnight without any notice that it would be a late arrival.

The place also has in-room and at-spa spa services at a reasonable rate ($85 for an hour massage).

We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We had a room with a view of the Monterey Bay. It doesn't get any better than that. We slept in the comfy featherbed with the sliding door open. The sounds of the waves cascading over the rocks lulled us to sleep. We woke to beautiful sunrises and enjoyed the continental breakfasts that were served to us by the very friendly staff.

We would definitely stay here again!

Regarding other comments about the $13 parking fee - all of the public lots were $10-15 a day, so to have a place where our car was secure was well worth the fee. We parked our car Friday night and didn't use it again until we left to come home on Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I was staying in the area for a wedding, but the Monterrey Bay Inn made it an extraordinarily experience. Great facial and massage at The Santuary at the hotel -- the hot towel treatment is fabulous! Room and bath were elegant, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast in one's room was great. I preferred the bagels to the muffin but both were good, as was the fresh fruit and coffee. I had a full ocean view -- the water was so close, it was almost as if I were on a boat. Sunrise over the Bay (yes, part of it looks East!) was marvelous. The service was excellent. I needed help with directions -- Julianne at the front desk was particularly helpful in giving directions. The location is perfect -- on Cannery Row and just steps away from a little beach with tidal pools.

All and all, a splendid place to stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

Long overdue review of a lovely hotel. One of the best locations in Monterey. Splurge for the full view room, and ask for a higher floor. (Those sea lions can be noisy!) Don't overlook the rooftop spa. (Go early or late and stake out your spot. It's small, popular, and can get crowded, but patience will reward you with a romantic experience and nice view.) Really nice place with competitive rates. Friendly and accommodating staff, who I promised a good review on tripadvisor. Here it is! We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKLAND
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

seeing all hotels looked nicer, but way too expensive for the ocean view we got!!!! decided to stay here!!!!..very nice,m clean room , very nice bathroom!!! , AND HAD A BALCONY RIGHT NEXT TO THE OCEAN!!!! perfect setting for a great romantic stay!!! I ALSO RECOMMEND "ROMANTICROOMDESIGNS.COM" AS THEY MADE A ROMANTIC SETTING FOR ME, BEFORE WE CHECKED IN, ROSE PEATLS, CANDLES, MUSIC, DIMMED LIGHTS, HERSHEY KISSES, ETC.... it was perfect!!! i give this place 5 stars!!!! oh yeah, they even bring you breakfast to your room!!!! perfect!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.