We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel if you get the right price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Bay Inn to your Saves list
Monterey Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
dubai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel if you get the right price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The staff is very nice, the hotel is a bit old, however they have a great location on the water, and they try to do their best with what they have.

The lobby is average, you feel that the hotel needs renovation, and it gives a maximum feel of a 4 star property.

We had the PANORAMIC OCEANFRONT room. Wow, what a view, with a nice balcony and lots of space. However it has a loud annoying AC right next to the bed! The room rate was very high for what the hotel had to offer ($530+tax). I understand that the view is fantastic, but I believe that the rest is worth $300 max.

Room Tip: - The PANORAMIC OCEANFRONT room is simply breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are couldn’t agree more, our Panoramic Oceanfront Rooms are simply breathtaking. These newly renovated rooms are truly spectacular with the most amazing views and we were so happy to hear that you experienced the “wow” factor. However, we were disappointed that our boutique property fell short of your expectations and that you did not find value in your stay. While summer months and weekends do command higher rates during our peak season, we do offer very attractive promotions and package offerings the rest of the year in the hopes that everyone has the chance to experience the Monterey Bay Inn.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    317
    79
    29
    16
See reviews for
159
761
41
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lovely hotel with excellent standard of rooms. Rooms with sea views give an opportunity to see the amazing array of wildlife. The hotel thoughtfully provides binoculars to assist. Very helpful reception staff who seamlessly sorted out a problem with our booking. Complimentary continental style breakfast served to the room if requested.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 7 day California trip, and my favorite memory of the entire trip is the accommodations we had at the Monterey Bay Inn. Spend the extra money and request an ocean view room--during the evening and night you can hear the waves crashing on the rocks, the seals, and watch the fishing boats from your room. It was absolutely perfect. The accommodations were very comfortable and clean, the rooftop hot tub was an awesome experience, watching the fishing boats at night from inside the hot tub was very special. The fron desk staff was very nice, and answered questions if you asked, but they didn't volunteer too much, and not as friendly and welcoming as the other 2 places we stayed. Not really a negative, but not a plus either. The rooms were cleaned up promptly and well, and the turn down service with chocolate was awesome. I wouldn't even look at different accommodations if we went back, this one was absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: If you love the sound of the water, choose ocean view, the balcony and room were always filled with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your amazing review. We were all pleased that the Monterey Bay Inn was the best experience you had during your recent travels to California. Our ocean view rooms are something that we hope everyone gets to experience, as nothing quite compares to hearing the ocean waves right outside of your window. Regarding our service staff, we were pleased that you found everyone to be friendly, but were disappointed that we fell short of providing you with a personal and attentive guest experience, which we hope to share with all our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to not only provide you with excellent accommodations, but also with world class service.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed in an oceanfront room (complete with binoculars to watch the charming sea otters) and it was lovely. The location was excellent as well. The scenic walkway is right outside the main door which made it easy to walk to the piers without worrying about traffic. The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were all very friendly; they even make it easy to purchase two pillows from the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Staying here at moment leave 7/28 location good, room clean, TV a nightmare to use and breakfast is poor. I'd say this hotel is good for $200 a night only because of the location but don't be duped as I was about the online description because it certainly isn't a $300-400 a night hotel, it's a cleaned up Holiday Inn

Room Tip: Don't pay anymore than $200 a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you did not find value in your recent stay with us, as we always try to create value for our guests with our Cannery Row location, ocean views, accommodations, amenities and services we offer. Being a 49 room boutique property we do offer a more intimate environment for those guests seeking personalized and attentive service. Pricing does reflect demand and seasonality on the Monterey Peninsula. Other months of the year we do offer many different pricing options, as we want everyone to be able to experience the Monterey Bay Inn.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. The location was nice - on the beach- but be aware that it is at the end of Cannery Row so it is a bit of a walk to restaurants and shopping. Our room faced the water and had a nice balcony and we could see Fisherman's Wharf. The room was clean and well appointed. The room didn't have air conditioning and it was unseasonably hot but there was a large portable fan in the room. We left the patio door open one night and could hear the waves which was nice. Breakfast was included everyday and it was nice. The desk staff were very helpful. They had 2 hot tubs which we didn't use but looked nice. Be aware that the parking lot is tight so it could be a challenge if you have a truck or suv. They had cold lemon water in the lobby all the time and cookies in the afternoon. They also had a book in the lobby with menus from all the local restaurants. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were booked into this hotel by our initial hotel that had a booking issue. The location is great and there are very good restaurants locally. The staff were helpful and friendly unfortunately the lift was out of action when we arrived but fixed in the morning. The sounds of seals outside was a novelty. Downside was that they decided to some maintenence at 8am on a Saturday morning which involved drilling and banging which is not how you wish to be awoken on your holiday. The room was pleasant and served our needs and the breakfast is served in your room which is nice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.