We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Monterey Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ocean View King w/balcony
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bakersfield, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have stayed at this small hotel many times and have never been disappointed. It's a short walk to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and many fine restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and having breakfast delivered to our room is delightful.

Room Tip: We prefer the fourth floor rooms on the side rather than on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    302
    77
    29
    15
See reviews for
154
725
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

the Montery Bay Inn does have it all...great rooms - large and nicely decorated, very large bathrooms, balconies with fabulous ocean/shoreline views. To add the icing to the cake - breakfast delivered to the room! We've stayed in several hotels in Monterey both close to the conference centre and to Cannery Row. This was our first stay at the Montery Bay Inn and we'll be sure to choose this one for our next trip. Its close to the aquarium, great restaurants and a nice walk from the conference centre.

Room Tip: ocean/city view rooms offer view of the shoreline. more interesting than "ocean front" and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Monterey Bay Inn was the perfect location for our Anniversary weekend getaway. It is 1/2 mile to the Aquarium, passing Cannery Row along the way and 1/2 mile the other direction to Fisherman's Wharf. Everything we needed was in walking distance, including grocery just beyond the Aquarium. Don't miss LouLou's for breakfast, a cute/quaint little place with great atmosphere!

There is a fountain in the park that runs, which we thought would hinder our ability to hear the ocean waves coming in and out. However; it is turned off at 8pm-8am, so we were okay with that. The entry doors are heavy and slam often if not guided closed, that was the only fault we found.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a higher number, the higher the number the higher the floor and closer distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Monterey Bay Inn was a delightful location and great view of the Bay. Could hear the seals and sea lions barking in the early morning hours along with the surf. Con- no restaurant, business center, or exercise room in the property. Front desk staff were fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I live in Northern California and a trip to the Monterey Area is always an opportunity to just chill and relax. We stayed at the Monterey Bay Inn because of an internet ad they sent us. I was so pleasantly surprised by the lovely room for the price. The bathroom is HUGE. The view of the Bay and the balcony is just so lovely and inviting. The staff is most certainly a pleasant asset. It is obvious that they have been chosen and trained to do their job with a focus on customer service. The front desk staff was polite and helpful when we arrived, during our stay and when we departed. Will stay here agin in the future.

Room Tip: Room 309 had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Oh- the location, view, sea birds, otters, an actual living plant on the balcony, nice Continental breakfast with homemade banana bread, great service, clean clean room and bathroom, nicely decorated, oh yeah, I'm going back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with wrought iron balcony railing instead of solid stucco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to stay in Monterey for our 10 year anniversary. I did a lot of research and comparison on the four hotels located on cannery row that offer up close views of the bay. For the price the Monterey Bay Inn seemed to be the best choice for us. We were very happy and impressed with our stay there. We stayed in room 208 and had an awesome view of the bay and harbor. The continental breakfast was great. We even had a complimentary bottle of wine sent up to us to celebrate our anniversary along with a small box of chocolates and a signed card from the staff. Loved that special touch. The balcony was super cool to do a little people watching of the San Carlos beach with the beautiful city park lined with the unique and well groomed trees and several scluptures. So much to look at. The walls are a little thin but that didn't bother us too much. The hot tubs on the 2nd and 4th floor were a nice relaxing way to end the evenings. We even made an early morning visit to the 4th floor hot tub and the view is amazing. Do bring an old bathing suit becauses I'm thinking they use a lot of chlorine and it wore thin spots through my tankini top where I was siting up against the jets. I did have to just throw it away in the hotel garbage can but I can't complain since I did read a previuos review on that happening to someone else and chose not to bring an old suit. It was also nice to be out of the tourist filled area but not too far to walk to. They say it's about a half a mile from the aquarium but there is so much to look at along the way it only feels like a couple of blocks. We are very happy we chose the Monterey Bay Inn because for almost double the price at one of the 3 other water front cannery row hotels you would feel like you wasted some money. I liked that you can park your own car conveniently under the hotel and not have to do valet. It seems pricey to have to pay $15.00 a day but worth it to know it's safe there and the last day you checkout you may leave it there until around 4:00. The large bathroom was very nice with the double sinks and a separate toilet room. We loved the granite and beautiful cherry dark wood style furnishings. Also, having a fridge was nice too and knowing this in advance I was able to bring some snacks that would require refrigeration. There isn't a microwave but we found so many nice restaurants to indulge in some seafood meals we didn't need a microwave. We brought our two children ages 6 and 11. If you bring your children to this hotel you can only stay on the 2nd floor. All of the rooms are 1 bed king size bed rooms with two cusion style chairs but the 2nd floor rooms have a king size bed with a pull out couch. The pull out chouch is a full size with a pretty thin mattress. They didn't complain about it not being comfortable but did end up in our bed with us early each morning. I was sad at first that we didn't have the opportunity to stay on floors 3 or 4 but floor 2 was an amazing view as well. You won't be disappointed. We saved $100.00 a night by choosing the harbor view and loved it. There is a small coffee pot in the room so I brought a couple filter and some of our regular coffee we usually like to enjoy and our own creamer to store in the refrigerator. We also brought a few disposable coffee cups so we could make our coffee and take it to go. We loved our stay and did not want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.