We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best room ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monterey Bay Inn to your Saves list
Monterey Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Ocean View King w/balcony
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Modesto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best room ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a great experience. The room was great, spacious, clean, quiet, and the view was incredible. We ordered room service and it was as good as the surrounding restaurants. The staff was very helpful and friendly. All the shops and restaurants were right outside our door, but while we were in the room, we felt a million miles away.This was the perfect getaway. We'll be back.

Room Tip: try to score a western view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    309
    78
    29
    16
See reviews for
158
740
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loomis, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Celebrating our 35 wedding anniversary opting for the upgraded Panoramic view rooms. Wow! the bay was right outside our windows with a great view of both the open bay and San Carlos Beach views. Amazing and well worth it. Much more cost effective than other hotels for that experience.
The room is spacious with a nice sitting area and large bathroom. You can sit in the tub and look out to the coast.
The balcony is on the leeward side of the building which made for a pleasant spot to kick back, enjoy the sun which we were lucky enough to have all week.
It's great to be able to park your car and have an easy walk around cannery row as well as fisherman's wharf.
This hotel is now on the top of our list for a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family spent one night at the Monterey Inn. I wanted to stay-- a month! This is a great hotel! Clean, accessible and simple. No valet waiting, no grand entrance with hundreds of others. Yet it is on the water and opens next to a gorgeous state park with beach and walking trails. We walked .5 miles up to Fisherman's wharf one direction and less than .5 mile to the Monterey Aquarium the other. Breakfast, delivered to our room was part of the tarrif. Simple again, but good. Our balcony opened to the water where we saw sea otters, seals and scuba divers. The ocean waves ( they're small bay waves) crashed for sound effect and a harbor seal or two barked ( a long distance away) if you do it like the sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep I suppose you could turn on the fan for some white noise, but then why not stay inland at some other place where you don't feel like you're part of the bay? I can't wait I go back here and next time I'll book a massage, as the Sanctuary looked inviting and relaxing. Bring your swim suit for a jacuzzi.
What I really appreciated more than anything was that the Inn was up to date with their Internet posting in that they let me know before I booked the room that they were having the elevator repaired and it would not be working, it people would hel with the luggage up a flight of stairs. I didn't need the help, but really appreciated that they were up front, honest and candid about their own limitations for the time we were there.

Room Tip: They have rooms facing the park and beach ( which is great if your kids are old enough to wonder dow...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had been on a road trip since 12/24 traveling to Yosemite, Sacramento, Guerneville, Sonoma until we hit Monterey. We had stayed at different hotels along the way, some of which, were far more expensive than Monterey Bay Inn. We finally got here, and was amazingly pleased with the room, balcony and views. It was worth the money, and I highly recommend staying here over the other property down Cannery Row that charges more, and offers less. In any case, I finally had a good nights' sleep with the comfortable bed unlike many hotels. It is a perfect place for couples, and the service was wonderful. Monterey Bay Inn is definitely our hotel of choice whenever we go back to Monterey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Monterey Peninsula is one of the most beautiful places on earth. We stay here because of the great views of the Bay and its convenient location. We have always been able to see otters and sea birds from our room (full ocean view). The room itself is comfortable and clean and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I like that it is at the quiet end of Cannery Row. My goodness, it is only a short walk to more activity, if that is what you like. We prefer the quiet end and the tranquility of the location. There are two jacuzzis. I like the one on the roof because of the views and privacy. We have stayed here for Christmas the past several years and love our tradition. It is also cheaper at Christmas. It has gotten pricier over time, which is the biggest negative.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I came here roughly 10 years ago and remembered what a nice hotel it was so on a recent trip to Monterey I stopped in again and things haven't changed. It's in a great location close to the wharf and the rooms are extremely comfortable and updated. It's nice that you can quickly walk to Cannery Row and to the Wharf and downtown. This is a great find!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Wharf if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have been visiting this hotel for many years, and I keep coming back because it is so tranquil and in such a beautiful location. Someone else complained that the hotel was at the "quiet end" of Cannery Row: to me that is a big plus, not a minus. On one side of the hotel are a small park and a nice little beach; on the other side are the remaining remnants of the commercial buildings left over from the Cannery days. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious. Though they are more pricey, the "ocean view" rooms at the far end of the hotel have balconies that face the bay, with the waves breaking below you, and views of otters, seals, cormorants and pelicans in among the kelp. I thought the staff very friendly and efficient. Free wi-fi is good, I wish this were standard in all hotels. On the negative side, considering the high cost of rooms, the charge for parking is a bit mean, and other than the (free but limited) breakfast choices, there is no food or drink sold in the place. It would be really nice if they had a bar there, especially one with a good view! Sound proofing between floors is not great, and you can hear the people above you just walking around. Maybe ask for the top floor rooms if you can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.