We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's hard to improve perfection, but...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Monterey Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ocean View King w/balcony
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco Bay Area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“It's hard to improve perfection, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

they did! The rooms now have wide-screen TVs! Not that you need it with the amazing views from every room! This hotel is very beautiful, very comfortable, very quiet, and very clean......and in a perfect location on Cannery Row (next to a park and beach). It's our favorite hotel in the Monterey area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    303
    77
    29
    15
See reviews for
154
725
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We traveled to Monterey Bay for the Half Marathon and stayed at our favorite hotel, the Monterey Bay Inn. This was the first time we went with our toddlers and they loved as much as we did. The balcony that overlooks the water and beach area was their favorite place to be to watch birds, boats and the waves on the ocean. Can't wait to take them back when they are older and can notice the seals and otters in the water!!

Room Tip: There are rooms that have a partial view of the bay and the beach, but there are more expensive room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed 2 nts. Very good location overlooking the bay and close to the Cannery and Fishermans pier. Check in quick and efficient. Room very good with great views over the bay from the balcony. Very comfortable beds and sitting area plus a smart functional bathroom. Staff very friendly and you get your continental breakfast delivered to your room at the time you requested. Choice of breakfast is small but very tasty. Other plus points are the free wifi, biscuits etc in the lobby throughout the day. Only niggle was the expensive car parking. Its still a highly recommend though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn. We were only there one night and would have liked more. We watched seals and otters from our window and I enjoyed an early morning walk in the adjacent park. I also enjoyed the healthy breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is one of my favorite places to stay. The beautiful views of the bay, the hot tub on the roof, the friendly staff and superb location are some of the terrific reasons to stay at the Monterey Bay Inn, but the deal closer that keeps bringing me back is the breakfast that is delivered to my room each morning! There's nothing better than enjoying a fresh breakfast on my balcony while watching the seagulls and listening to the gentle waves of the bay. Many excellent restaurants are within walking distance as is the Monterey Bay Aquarium. A five minute stroll takes you to the Old Fisherman's Wharf where you can go out whale watching aboard one of two beautiful vessels at Princess Monterey Whale Watching. Excellent trips always! The peaceful setting of the Inn, heaps of things to see and do, and plentiful eateries make the Monterey Bay Inn a fantastic place to stay while in Monterey.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, choose a bay or ocean view room. The view in the morning and the peaceful sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here twice & will be back for future visits to Monterey! Our room was impeccable, & the continental breakfast is yummy & delivered to our room. The hotel staff has been amazing to work with. So helpful & professional.
My personal opinion: This is a romantic place to stay, not ideal if u have kids.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband booked this room for a special anniversary get-away weekend. It was everything that had been promised and more. The room was large, luxuriously appointed, clean and comfortable. The bed was fantastic with a feather bed topper over a good mattress, down comforter and incredibly comfortable. We loved the ocean side balcony! The ocean was literally 15' away with gorgeous views of Monterey Bay. We can't promise you'll see as many sea otters, sea lions, myriad birds and beautiful boats as we did from the balcony but you'll see your share. The breakfast that's delivered to your room every morning was very nice. The hot tubs were honestly hot, very private and clean. The staff was very, very nice and the location was perfect; walking distance to the Aquarium, Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. We're totally satisfied and looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Corner balcony rooms on the 2nd, 3rd & 4th floors are quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
#15 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.