We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Monterey Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a romantic get away. Staff was very friendly. I loved the room. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was perfect. Only bad thing was the guests above us were very noisy and clomped around ALL night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    697
    298
    76
    28
    15
See reviews for
151
712
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elverta, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I booked an oceanfront room with private balcony for my birthday. It was so amazing! The room was right on the ocean. It was so relaxing to be able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the sounds and view of the ocean. The staff was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with the private balcony on the ocean. Next time I would probably ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wifi not working properly (the hotel admitted that in certain areas there was no coverage), breakfast served in the room but very poor, noisy banging doors. It's a shame because the room and location are great but the service spoils the experience

BTW Going back I would choose to spend the night in Carmel rather than Monterey, only 10 miles away but much nicer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Most importantly, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their feedback regarding their recent stay. Feedback from our guests is our most valuable asset, as it provides our best opportunity to make improvements. I want to thank this guest, as well, for their high ranking and kind words regarding our location on the Bay and our spacious guest rooms; the view from our rooms is truly amazing, and I am glad that it was such a well remembered part of their stay.

That said, please know that we have an upgrade-project slated for our wifi service, which should have our coverage and quality of coverage vastly improved by the end of the year. That some travelers want to stay connected while traveling is understandable, and we hope that these improvements will provide just the sort of service such guests are looking for.

Regarding this reviewer’s comment on Monterey itself; the city of Monterey is an interesting mix of dynamic and restful, and the Cannery Row area of the city fully embodies both aspects. As a mix of iconically historic and playfully modern, we know that this energy may not be for everyone, and we regret that the city itself had any kind of negative impact on this guest’s stay. Though we would love the opportunity to welcome back this reviewer, so that we might demonstrate how truly dedicated we are to providing excellent service, regardless of a return we wish them the very best on their future travels.

Again, I want to thank this reviewer for their time and comments. Should anyone have a question or concern that they would like to speak about directly with one of our managers, please don’t hesitate to give us a call. We welcome all opportunities to speak with both our guests and our future guests.

Thank you,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We only stayed here for 1 night but wished it had been longer. Rooms are a good size and nicely decorated. We had a nice view of the ocean and what a view in the morning, it was gorgeous. Staff were friendly and provided us with a map of the area. We had to change the time of our breakfast being delivered and this was no problem at all. Breakfast was good and we ate it on the balcony and enjoyed the view. Take a walk along to see the sea lions there were so many of them and fun to watch. We also seen 2 otters sharing a huge crab. We wished we had more time to explore the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is one great hotel. We stayed at the best room in the hotel and what a stay it was. Very elegantly decorated with a gas powered fireplace. This room is positioned on the top floor and at the corner. To your left is the Monterey bay and to your right you can get a glimpse of the city, The staff were amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Having said all of that, the only thing that does not make it a PERFECT choice is the price, a bit too high

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved our stay at Monterey Bay Inn. The room was spacious, well decorated and supplied with many extras. The water view was spectacular with a private patio. The room service breakfast was outstanding. The bed was luxurious and the bathroom was nice and spacious. Check-in clerk was nice and helpful with any tourist questions and maps that we needed. Room was very clean. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

When you pay in excess of US$350 for a room in a small town, you do expect something stunning. In all fairness, Monterey is a tourist town and we were a family of 4 in that room. But even considering that, there is something that rings substantially untrue about the website and some of the rave reviews. The rooms are nicely appointed, everything is neat and clean, you do get a view of the ocean. The so called sumptuous breakfast is quite frugal and resembles a typical complimentary continental breakfast served in a budget hotel. The only difference was that it was brought up to the room. The television was an old small screen. But I guess we were not a couple of newlyweds gazing dreamily into each others eyes, so we had to ask "Nice, but 350$?" For that much money, we expected something luxurious, which this hotel clearly is not.

It helps that the Monterey bay area is an absolutely gorgeous place and we quickly overcame our disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I want to thank this reviewer for their time and comments. Feedback from our guests is extremely valuable to us, as it provides our best opportunity to make improvements. We are grateful, as well, for the high rating for our housekeeping staff and for the cleanliness of the rooms; our staff’s hard work is a large part of what makes our hotel unique, and I am very happy to share this feedback.

We actually have a number of exciting improvements being made to the hotel, one of the largest of which is the recent installation of new 47” flat screen TVs throughout the hotel. We will be further improving this with HD Channel programming soon, and we welcome all of our past guests (and our future guests) to stay with us soon so that they can experience these and many other improvements for themselves.

Regarding this reviewer’s comments about their rate; even at our busiest times, such as over weekends and holidays, our mission is to provide an authentic Monterey get-away, with an environment dedicated to personal and attentive service. Through this we hope to create an experience that our guests feel is valuable. We all regret that this guest felt our efforts fell short of our intentions and their expectations.
I hope that this guest, as well as others, will take a moment to visit our website. There, we offer specials and packages year round, allowing people to experience our property in unique and cost-effective ways.

Thank you again. Should any guest wish to speak with one of our managers directly, please don’t hesitate to let us know; we are always happy to speak with our guests and future guests.

Thank you,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, T4B, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.