We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly service in a great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Bay Inn to your Saves list
Monterey Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly service in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for four days in mid-September as part of a coastal California trip. We arrived on our anniversary. Checking in was fast with a very helpful and friendly Manager, Stacey. We grabbed our bags and headed to our 4th floor room overlooking the Ocean. Imagine our surprise when we saw a bottle of wine on ice and an anniversary card signed by the entire staff!

The room was nicely appointed with a king size bed, two chairs, a table and a desk. There was plenty of room for all our luggage and belongings. Sliding plantation shutter blinds opened up to the sliding glass doors and a wonderful view directly out over the ocean. The bathroom was large with two sinks, and well stocked with towels and Aveda bath products.

There is a card in the room to hang on your door to check your selections for breakfast, and the time you would like it delivered. The quality of the breakfast was excellent and arrived on time every morning. The housekeeping service was very good, and they also offered turn down service at night.

Down the hall out on the rooftop was the 4th floor hot tub, which we enjoyed one late afternoon with a bottle of wine. Their is another hot tub and fire-pit on the second floor. The location of this inn is perfect. It is very easy to get to or leave by car. There is ample parking in the garage under the facility (although there is a nightly charge). It is next to a park and harbor, and just a very short walk to the busier sections of Cannery Row. One afternoon we took a 3 hour sea kayak guided tour of the entire waterfront area from Montery Bay Kayaks. We got up close and personal with the sea lions, seals and sea otters. It was a lot of fun, as well as very safe and interesting. I would highly recommend it for an excursion.

My tip for this inn is to bring earplugs to counter the sounds of the sea lions and shore birds, as they don't understand we need quiet at night to sleep.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay at an excellent, well run inn. Kudos to the entire staff for making our Monterey stay enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    333
    84
    31
    16
See reviews for
171
799
44
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The Monterey Bay Inn provided us a lovely room with a great view of the bay. The loveseat in the room was particularly welcome, since so many hotel rooms now just have a single upholstered chair. The room was very clean and the decor was nice. The service from all members of the staff was terrific, and the front desk clerk and housekeeping staff even sent me the items I had accidentally left in the room safe.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, comfortable place to stay in the Monterey area.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, and the view was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Spent 5 nights in this wonderful property at the end of Cannery Row. Peaceful, quiet, overlooks San Carlos Beach. Beautiful room (#220) corner panoramic with outrageous view of Monterey Bay. Saw orcas, otters, and sea lions while sipping wine on the balcony. The other big hotels on Cannery Row are all packed in beside each other. Unless you're facing the water, you're looking at buildings. But Monterey Bay Inn is at the far end of San Carlos Beach. If you're a diver like me, this is THE PLACE to dive, so you're nice and close. Service is top notch and they really make an effort to stay out of your way. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Go for a corner panoramic room. There are only 2, Room 220 and, I'm guessing, Room 320 above it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night on our Honeymoon trip as we drove from LA to San Fran. We could not have had a more wonderful experience. The staff was fantastic. When they learned that it was our Honeymoon, they upgraded our room for a small fee so that we had an ocean view room. The room was fabulous from the very comfortable king size bed to the modern bathroom. This was by far the cleanest hotel in which we stayed our entire trip. Every interaction with hotel staff was very pleasant and they went out of their way to be friendly and hospitable. We will definitely stay at the Monterey Bay Inn again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here for one night and have no complaints.
Comfortable bed, large boutique bathroom and balcony to enjoy the view. Room was very comfortable and well appointed.
We enjoyed sitting by the fire later in the evening and several people enjoyed the outdoor hot tubs.
Only downside is that it is at the far end of Cannery Row, fine for us but not so convenient if you aren't willing or able to walk distances.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed 1 night in the Bay Inn and had a wonderful room looking out over the Bay, watched otters swimming outside the room! Would definately choose the bay view to the sea view, much more to see. Clean comfortable and quiet room (except for the seals calling out and Western Gulls but then again that is why Monterey is so wonderful). Close to Cannery Row with plenty of great restaurants. Only 1 downside was the bed, in 5 weeks this was the only incredibly soft bed and we both ended up with sore necks and backs. Still would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The location was nice and rooms really nice. It was surprising the television was so old and not a flat screen which really didn't matter.

Room Tip: We were in room 301 which has a park view but right over the entrance door. Smokers like to congreg...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.