We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Marriott to your Saves list
Monterey Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Davis CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ok, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

Had a business meeting at the property. Stayed three nights. The biggest drawback with the rooms is that the sink area of the bathroom cannot be closed off. If someone needs to get ready early they most likely will wakeup the other person. The top floor banquet room has a great view. The staff was very pleasant. The wait staff at the Three Flags Cafe were a bit overwhelmed on Sunday at breakfast. Very convenient location to the Aquarium and Wharf. You can get the free trolley 1/2 block away. After having stayed in NY at the Marriott two weeks ago, I had that property to compare this to. This just wasn't as good.

  • Liked — Top floor banquet facility
  • Disliked — Bathroom setup
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    313
    128
    45
    16
See reviews for
175
239
25
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

Just returned from a 3 night stay. I was initially impressed with the upgraded rooms and linens. Our front desk person was very helpful in checking us in and made sure we were in one of the "quietest "rooms. As my visit progressed I found the help to be unbearable. The kitchen staff was rude and unhelpful. The last night of our stay at 1 am a party (with a least 10 or so guests in the room next door) began. It was so loud that neither my husband nor myself could sleep. Ringing doorbells, screaming guests asking where the booze was, etc. The hotel staff promised to ask the offending group to stop and they claimed they asked them to leave but upon further discussion( and 4 phone calls to the front desk) we discovered that they felt we were overreacting. At 2 am they promised they would "try" again and they were just doing "Their best". No manager available and no real concern for paying guests whose reason for being there was to SLEEP. After the fourth call the front desk offered me a free breakfast.. how about giving me my well-needed sleep back? Apparently the policy is to ask noisy guests to quiet down but not really enforce a quiet policy. I would NEVER stay here again. The management needs a serious overhaul.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

We went to Monterey to celebrate our 26 wedding anniversary. I have to say I was very impressed with the staff. We checked in and we were surprised with an upgrade to a junior suite. I was so excited. I couldn't wait to see the room. WOW! I was very disappointed. It was at the front of the hotel with NO view. We had a huge patio but it was full of seagull droppings and Seagulls. Our view was the top of the building across the street. Not what I invisioned for a catagory 6 Marriott. The room was very old and outdated. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I know catagory 7 is Marriott's top catagory so I expected a much classier looking property. This should have been rated a 3 or 4. Especially for the price we paid. The staff was very helpful. From the concierge to the door man to the check in staff to the houskeeping all were very professional and had wonderful personalites. Unfortunately the hotel needs some major TLC to bring it up to the Marriott standards.

  • Disliked — very old and outdated
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

On April 20, 2007 my parents and I stayed in the Monterey Marriott in an "elite" two double bed room. The nicely appointed garden view room overlooked the interior courtyard, spa and pool area.

I am a fanatic about cleanliness and was most appreciative to find that the room, bedding, bathroom, and vanity/dressing area were clean and fresh. The tub and toilet were separated from the vanity/dressing area by a sliding door, which was a little challenging, but allowed for more room in the dressing area. The bathroom and vanity/dressing area were well lit and even had a separate lighted make-up mirror. The beds were very comfortable. My only disappointment was with the air conditioning; it did not cool as I wanted.

The in-house restaurant presented excellent service, and breakfast was absolutely delicious. There was so much food; the presentation was very appealing. The prices were most reasonable for the amount and variety of breakfast foods. A menu was available, but we enjoyed the large self service buffet. It held hot scrambled eggs, breakfast meats and potatoes, a variety of "continental" items, i.e.sweet and toast breads, fruits, hot and cold cereals, yogurts, as well as a two-cook station with cooked-to-order eggs, waffles and crepes. Again, delicious!

Overall, I believe the facility and services provided were excellent. I will definitely return. Kudos to the Management and staff!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We loved the Monterey Marriott. The staff was friendly and attentive. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The beds were very comfortable. I loved the shampoo and body wash they use. We had a small balcony on the 8th floor where we could see the bay. God blessed us with a full moon to watch rise every night over the bay. It was awesome. The hotel is perfectly located. The Monterey Conference Center is across the street, and if you walk a few steps further, you will be at Fisherman's Wharf.

We rented a surrey that was by the conference center, and the kids all took a turn driving. But mostly they wanted to enjoy the hotel. The pool was perfect, and the hot tub was just right. Decent size exercize room.

The best part is there is a little beach within walking distance. Perfect for the younger kids and for launching a kayak or canoe.

There is a parking fee at the hotel. There is one at a lot of the hotels near the Cannery and Wharf. I think that last time I paid something over $20 a day, at the Marriott it was only $16.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton, california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

Not worth the money.

Positive - location is close to the wharf, just a few miles to the aquarium. The check-in staff was great. The breakfast buffet was very good. The fitness room and pool are decent.

Minus - parking is valet parking only at $18/day and not very convenient for coming and going ( they delivered cars quickly when you could get through to them on the phone). The rooms 'mostly' clean but dated. Bay view rooms are noisy.
The staff doesn't pay attention to details, eg, extra towels were delivered one day but gone after maid service the next day (and yes, we always leave the maid a very nice tip). The full service restaurant at the top of the hotel is closed.
Could not get through to the front desk on the phone at 11 am, went down there and there was the front desk manager and another clerk standing there talking.

  • Liked — breakfast and the sports bar
  • Disliked — not enough attention to details
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

Perhaps we were a little spoiled by our first few nights in Monterey when we stayed at the Old Monterey Inn (Fabulous!), but we were very disappointed in this hotel and will not stay here again. Paid over $300/night and got: tiny ants in the bathroom; beat up furniture; expensive parking. Upon returning to our room our second day, we walked into what smelled like marijuana smoke in the room. Called the front desk; security came up and immediately said "yep, there's a problem here". They moved us to another room and after negotiations gave us a discount (not nearly enough to compensate for the inconvenience). Long story short-never again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#18 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.